We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting in the African Bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma to your Saves list
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical setting in the African Bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

At Sussi and Chuma you take hospitality to a very high and impressive level which we greatly enjoyed during our recent stay. In addition we loved the variety of activities and thanks to Elijah for his skill on the river and his patience escorting us to other activities, including getting us transferred to a fellow guide so that we could visit the Victoria Falls Hotel - a place with evocative memories for us. This Safari holiday was to mark our Golden Wedding anniversary and at Sussi and Chuma you came up with the perfect and touching surprise - a memorable lunch on a boat for the two of us eaten on an island in the Zambezi. How thoughtful and much appreciated. A total surprise and you even got us to the jetty without us realizing what you were up to. Your general friendliness, kind co-operation with providing us with soothing cream to calm our insect bites, and helping out with laundry on our last day etc etc was all much appreciated and made a great impression. You made our stay so homely and we did enjoy the many well informed chats with many members of staff. Great to meet staff from Bulawayo too. We have taken away most favourable memories, and think often of the delicious meals, lovely accommodation and the magnificent setting. The elephant safari was enormous fun too. Well done and congratulations to everyone. Jenny and Alan Forbes, Beaconsfield, England

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Another great review from Jenny and Alan Forbes, thank you so much!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma as well! Thank you for all your kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed the “anniversary surprises"

We loved hosting you both and we do hope that you will come back and visit us soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Sussi and Chuma by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Sussi and Chuma in Chuma House 2. It is unprepossessing on arrival. Brooms and mops were leaning on a wall near the front door. There were 3 staff (cook, housekeeper, and waitress) and a manager to greet us. None of them seemed to know what they were doing and were extremely awkward. This was the case for our entire stay. Nothing was ever offered or suggested, everything seemed to be done fairly grudgingly and with ill grace. The tv in the lounge room was turned on to what the staff seemed to want to watch in the afternoon, while we had to try and keep out of their way. There is one phone in the lounge and we would answer it and then go and find the staff member who the call was for.
The food was very pleasant and the rooms were large and comfortable. Although it is all fairly dated and could do with some modernisation. There are only outside showers. Not particularly inviting when it's a bit cool. The lights went off and on - it seemed due to doubtful wiring. Our package included certain activities but we were still charged for park entrance fees that were meant to be included. It is at least a 30 minute drive to the Falls.
Overall it was just disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mrs Davies,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely disappointed to learn that you did not experience good customer service. Our aim is to delight our guests and your experience is not representative of the standards we set ourselves in looking after our guests, past feedback from guests and reviews on Tripadvisor are testimony to this.

The issue highlighted in your feedback has been addressed with our Lodge Manager as well as the House-Keeping team, who have assured us that this will not happen again.

We are terribly sorry that your stay with us was disappointing, but we are actively working to improve our standards and your feedback has proved valuable.

We hope you will give us another try in the future so we may show you a truly great Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma experience.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 wonderful days and nights. It was totally amazing! Our guide, Luckson, was brilliant - he took us on game drives and river trips, including a couple of attempts to fish for our supper, and over to Vic Falls. He knew all about all the wildlife and was so helpful. The welcome was superb - it was a special anniversary trip and Arnauld the manager had left us a complementary bottle of chilled sparkling wine in our chalet when we arrived. The room was beautifully appointed and our housekeeper Florence kept it spotless. All the staff were great, they really made us feel special. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and delightfully served. We had so many sightings of wonderful animals, with elephants wandering through the camp one afternoon, and hippos grazing in the bush just beyond the walkway on the way back from our last night's dinner. Wonderful location, wonderful lodge and above all, the wonderful people who work there. Truly superb customer service. We would love to return!

Room Tip: We were in the end chalet - no 12, which is the furthest one out, on one side there is nothing but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us and thank you for all your kind comments. We shared your feedback with the rest of the team they were all very happy with your comments, especially Luckson and Florence.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon, perhaps your next anniversary?

Thanks again and we would love for you to follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Sussi and Chuma by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our first stop in our tour of Africa was Sussi & Chuma lodge. After taking 16+ hours door to door, we finally arrived at Livingstone airport. The airport building at the moment harks back to the 1970s. It is one long, depth-wise building. We spotted a baggage handler near the luggage carousel with our names printed on it and he brought us out to our Ranger and Driver, Junior.

The drive from the airport, into town and past many of the local shops was certainly an eye-opener. This was our first glimpse of Africa after all. As we headed further out of town, we were struck by the simpleness of life here.

In stark contrast to all that we saw was Sussi and Chuma. In a national park, and built right against a river tributary, our lodge came into view as we drove on the dirt road in the hotel grounds.

We were booked into Chuma-2. This was a 2 bedroom lodge, away from the "Sussi Tree Houses" and main guest areas. Our bedrooms had mosquito net canopy covering the beds, a large bathroom area with bathtub and 'his & hers' sinks, coupled with a separate area for the toilet and an outdoor shower area. The second bedroom, across the living & dining area, could fit 3 kids comfortably, and was a carbon copy of the master bedroom. The shower and sink area were well stocked with amenities.

As we went in winter, showering the outdoors can be a cold affair. Best to shower in the early evening. However, I enjoyed rejuvenating showers mornings too!

The living room had a flat screen TV with cable channels and comfortable couches. WiFi was piped in throughout the house. There is a large deck at the back with a swimming pool, cabana, and open air dining area. There is also an in-room safe in the bedroom cupboard.

We ate exclusively at our lodge for all three meals. The food was of a very high quality. Most meals were western style with some African dishes. The local dishes were very delicious and my wife often went back for more. We could have also gone to the main guest dining area as well, but the food here was so good, we never ventured out for our meals!

Our laundry was done for us and this was a real bonus as our bottom half was soaked after seeing the Victoria Falls. They even dried out our shoes and had it back in time for our departure the next day!

Junior took us out on a sunset cruise in the lodge's boat. This was an excellent opportunity to see the wildlife along the river. We spotted lots of hippos, and even some giraffe and deer on land. This was certainly one of the highlights of our trip.

On our first afternoon, Junior grabbed my son and I as he had spotted a herd of elephants near our lodge. We hopped into a safari vehicle and drove very close to them. We sat there and watched as the herd grazed. This was the start of unique experiences for my son - being on safari.

The service, warmth and hospitality of the Chuma-2 crew was second to none. They were all attentive, and worked hard to ensure that our short stay was memorable. There was always someone around the house when we were out, and we never locked the door during the day! We loved every minute here and it was a pity we only stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed review, of your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma.

Thank you for all your kind comments regarding the Chuma House, food and laundry service. We are delighted that you enjoyed the sunset cruise and that it was one of the highlights for you.

We have shared this feedback with the rest of the team who were glad to read your remarks, especially Junior, he loved being your guide and is very happy that you appreciated his efforts.

We do hope to welcome you back one day soon for a longer stay...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Sussi and Chuma by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned from our three night stay in the larger Chuma houses. We have younger children, so the two bedrooms made our stay very comfortable. We didn't realize we would have a private chef make every meal for us served on the deck overlooking the river! We enjoyed our time on and off the river, listening to hippos, seeing Victoria Falls, and getting full service from the wonderful staff. The highlight for us was our guide, Luckson. His knowledge and daily excursions were a treat for us. Everything was seamless. We had Luckson each day, all to ourselves. We not only learned about the natural beauty of the land and animals, but we got to visit a local village, which had a huge impact on our children. Thank you Sussi and Chuma.

Room Tip: Request the Chuma houses if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

After making our way up the Delta in Botswana, this was our final stay and our fifth Sanctuary property - it didnt disappoint. All the properties are different - all having different distinguishing highlights. Here you have a 'tree-house' over looking the Zambezi river. All the 'houses' are linked by timber walk-ways to the main area where you find a huge lounge area with magnificent views of the river. Downstairs is the dining area and from here you walk down to the pool area plus the bar/sundowners deck situated along the river. Oh, and there is a Spa, overlooking the river.
The main highlight staying here is of course the Vic. Falls. We did the walk on the Zamb. side then Sussi also arranged a helicopter flight over the Falls...the 30 min flight is the better value, you see more. The walking safari was pretty easy and we were lucky enough to see 4 rhino. Came across numerous hippo on several boat trips - even went fishing!!! How many people can say "went fishing on the Zambezi"...didnt catch anything, but that doesnt matter. We were wanting to go over to the Zimb. side and have lunch at the Vic. Falls Hotel (a bit of nostalgia), mentioned it to our guide Bilwa who had it organized with Wilderness Tours. Also walked along the Falls on the Zimb. side - would thoroughly recommend if you have the time...but dont forget to check visa requirements
Nothing was a problem with staff going out of their way to assist. And the little 'surprises' - quite romantic - I think that they had as much fun arranging these as what we had in participating...wont spoil the surprise!!
If ever we come back to Vic Falls - this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the last stop of our African trip. We stayed in Botswana at Baines, Chiefs, Chobe Chilwero. The room was very nice, it was a treehouse with views of the Zambezi.
The food was not as good as the other camps, our first lunch was a disappointment, wet salad, raw hamburger, but things improved after that. Unlike Botswana, breakfast never seemed to be ready when we came down. Staff was for the most part friendly, but didn't seem as welcoming as in Botswana.
The highlight here is definitely Victoria Falls. We did micro light flight which was fantastic. They arranged that for us when we arrived. The walk to the falls was also nice, they provide raincoats, but bring some flip flops because you will get wet!
As far as wildlife, there doesn't seem to be much here. Maybe since we saw so much in Botswana. We went on "walking safari", we walked for 5 minutes to see the white rhinos with some armed guards that kept saying we weren't suppose to be there. We saw the rhinos, but we were not told we had to tip these guards. On all game drives, we never carried any money. The rest of this walking safari was in the vehicle, just saw few animals from a distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma is named after explorer David Livingstone's two faithful companions who carried his body all the way back to England from where he died in Zambia. The lodge itself is an exclusive haven in the heart of Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, which in addition to the mighty roar of the Victoria Falls, also boasts a wide variety of game as well as countless opportunities for adventure. The main lodge is built on two levels, perched in giant ebony trees overlooking the Zambezi. Guests can relax in the swimming pool or the treatment room, or enjoy a drink in the elevated bar. In terms of accommodation there are twelve air-conditioned tree houses, connected by wooden walkways. Each tree house enjoys superb views over the river and is an open plan room with shower, bathtub, vanity area and private toilet. In addition, there are two private houses available, each with two bedrooms, their own dining areas and decks with plunge pools, and their own chefs and house staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma Hotel Livingstone
Sanctuary Sussi And Chuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.