We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unforeseen (pleasant) second stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma to your Saves list
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“an unforeseen (pleasant) second stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We initially wanted to do our last night camping in Livingstone (coming out of Kafue and after a long boring 5 hour drive), we first went to see Maramba campsite (they told us themselves that they needed to redo the campsite, which is true!) and then went to see the waterfront campsite, which was full of overlanders, so not really what we were looking for as a last night camping ..

So we decided, based on nostalgia, to go and check out Sussi&Chuma (as we stayed in this place when visiting a few years ago for the first time Zambia). Once arrived we asked for a walk-in rate for 1 night and they had a room available (later on, there was some misunderstanding on the agreed rate, but this was handled smoothly by the very friendly lodge managers.)

By coincidence we got exactely the same room as last time, still having an amazing view on the Zambezi river,. The room itself has every luxury you can imagine ..

As being late in the afternoon, we quickly went for a dip in their pool (what a view !) and then went for a boat trip, nice, dinner was excellent, really very good kitchen and everything is done to make you feel special (eg wines are served out of bottles, not the usual 'boxes'), the atmosphere in the evening is magical !

A bit odd is that staff in the evening is on the walkways to make sure you don't have a sudden encouter with some nightly visitors.. we came in from camping, so this felt a bit weird (you're on wooden walkways at least 2m from ground level ..?) Also, if to give one remark is that staff is doing so much their best, it becomes sometimes a bit of 'too much'..

Early morning breakfast is again a real treat, we went to see the falls, quite dry at this time of the year, (last time we came by, we saw the opposite) , only remark is that we didn't really needed a guide for this as he was no real added value .

Anyway, great (short) stay again, if you're looking for a real top luxury lodge with all the frills and things in Livingstone (and ready to pay the price), we can for sure recommend this one .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
73
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff at Sussi & Chuma are exceptional. They made us feel special from the moment we arrived. Our guide, Elijah was wonderful. We enjoyed every minute with him. We saw many, many animals, more than we had expected. The food was superb, with the staff singing birthday wishes to several guests. One afternoon we were surprised with a special lunch on a nearby island. Lezinah, the lodge manager, was great. Anything we wanted was done for us. One night we returned to our rooms to find a bubble bath waiting for us. The next night the bubble bath had rosé petals too. Sussi & Chuma deserves more than 5 stars.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Two nights here jam packed with activity! Of course it's also a great place to relax and enjoy the pool and day spa if that's what your body is telling you to do. On our arrival at the sanctuary we were met by a large herd of elephants, from big mommas to tiny babies just walking peacefully around and so close by - we were instantly blown away!! After our briefing we were shown to our room and already were seeing monkeys, birds and two gorgeous little bush bucks right beside us, couldn't believe it! We chose to do a boat tour of the river after lunch and headed downstream through pods of hippos, beautiful rapids, gorgeous river scenery and were even able to wet a fishing line (albeit unsuccessfully!) while we watched large cruise boats meander along the river sightseeing and, best of all, half a dozen elephants munching their way through riverside foliage and paying very little attention to us although they were in very close photo range - we were already in heaven. After seeing lots more activity on the river we raced home playing in the rapids to take sundowners beside the beautiful river watching 'Henry Hippo' (named by one of the guests during our stay) strutting his stuff up close and quite personal!!! We were so entranced with the sunset and Henry that we left ourselves no time to clean up for dinner. Dinner was a delicious candlelit affair and the delight of celebrating another guest's birthday with the whole staff singing marvellous Zambian rhythms with much enthusiasm and appreciation from the diners was totally unexpected and delightful. We slept really well after a great introduction to Sussi & Chuma.
Next morning we were off on a game drive after an early breakfast (still managing to fit in some delicious bacon and eggs as well as scoffing down cereal and yummy muffins fresh from the oven) and were thrilled to see zebra, baboons, giraffe, marvellous birdlife and enjoying more of the magnificent sights and history of the river. We returned and decided to relax by the pool when one of the guides said he wanted to show us a hippo giving birth - how could we refuse?? We rushed into the boat and headed to a nearby island where we found the staff waiting for us with a magnificent lunch eaten under the trees with the starched white cloth, silver service and of course icy cold beer and wine - yes we were totally tricked and very happy to have been!! By the time we got back from a leisurely lunch it was time to clean up and watch another glorious red sunset and decide what we could possibly fit in our bulging tummies for dinner! Next morning it was off to beautiful Vic Falls with our well informed guide, and we really enjoyed the walk to the various viewing spots. We had to leave the falls so we wouldn't be late to catch our boat to Livingstone Island. We really didn't know what to expect here, but had been told to bring our swimmers, and towels would be provided if we wanted to swim. Of course we did!! With a Scottish couple and our guides we explored the top of the Falls after changing into our bathers (good look - bush boots and cossies!!) then we were given a few ground rules and into the water we walked and swam and remained in single file so we wouldn't fall over the edge and reached the Devil's Pool. It looked a bit scary but we were almost there so why not? Four of us and our guides were sitting on the very edge of Victoria Falls in a small pool with the water flowing by us and into the river below! We could wave to the tourists on the other side of the river in Zimbabwe, we were such show-offs! But the guides were the brave ones - they were walking on the edge taking our photos so that we would be believed when we got home. We all safely made it back to the island and were rewarded with a welcome bacon and egg breakfast and coffee. Then it was back for the boat to take us to our guide for the trip back to the Sanctuary. Later that afternoon we went on a drive to see the white rhinos which we actually found six of and were so delighted. What a fabulous few days for our introduction to the wonders of Zambia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are strategically placed to be ideal for the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I love staying in tree houses! This was one of our lodges in our Kensington Tour Package. Note that the setting is right in the National Park. An escort is provided to walk you back to your room after dark because there often is wildlife right there. We were fortunate to see a hippo grazing on grass real close by the walkway. We stayed in house #6. Your deck door opens to nice deck and view of river.Watched baboons in a.m in tree and on our roof. I think because of proximity to river there are quite a bit of mosquitos so be prepared. They do provide you with spray and room spray and will spray room for you. Mosquito net in our room did not quite touch the floor(~ 1" off). Hopefully that will be improved as we commented on that. Also, the windows overlooking the deck were not clean, but those are the only complaints. Overall, it is a wonderful place to stay if you like to be in nature setting. There even is a small infinity pool overlooking the river which is quite refreshing as it was very hot! The excursions they offer are wonderful. You get to pick up to 2 per day and then they can assist you with any outside of your package. We did 2 game drives(1 in am and 1 in afternoon) even tho we had been to Maasai Mara. We still saw animals we hadn't seen and they were more up close. Herd of elephants with some running behind our jeep very close and Fishing eagle which is the bird of Zambia.
Another highlight was doing a hike to see the White Rhinos. We saw 5 including a baby. We also did the guided tour of Victoria Falls on Zam side, but due to dry season was a bit disappointing so they arranged for outside tour on Zim side we was wonderful.
The staff is great and you will feel well taken care of. Simon is an amazing chef and always checks to make sure your meal is just right!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms more on the wider part of the river if you wanted to inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent two nights at Sussi & Chuma Lodge on an all inclusive basis. This also includes two activities per day and for us included a guided tour of Victoria Falls, the bridge and Livingston Museum. The lodge also shuttled back and forth to non included activies such as the helicopter tour and walking with the cheetahs. Drinks on waterfront terrace watching the sun set over the Zambesi River was fabulous. Rooms, meals, staff were all great. Hindsight is always 20/20, should have stayed another night to take in more the sights and activities in the area.

One heads up, the lodge supports a school in the village nearby - which is a good thing. It was suggested we buy some school supplies and treats for the kids. Turned out to be a bit of a gong show. The lodge is working to improve things, e.g. the school supplies should go to the teacher to dole out rather than a scrum with the kids. An interesting experience, just suggest you ask and be prepared before you go. It is certainly a very worthy undertaking on the part of the lodge to give back to the community.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are looking for lots of big game this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking to have privacy and relaxation with excellent service you should definitely consider Santuary Sussi & Chuma. Our goal was to see the falls and although it is a 15 minute drive from the lodge they provided us with an excellent guide. They even arranged for us to see the falls on the Zimbabwe side. The staff was attentive, the food great, and you never felt rushed or on a schedule. From the moment we arrived until the day we left we had an amazing time. They are located in the national park and we did take a game drive - but it it was not like the bigger more remote parks. The boat cruise on the Zambezi River (which our room overlooked) was a highlight of our stay. Among the elephants, hippos and sunset it is hard to say which was our favorite.

Room Tip: We found that being closer to the common areas was good for us. If it is more privacy you want go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Sussi & Chuma is, simply put, amazing. Wonderful. Stunning. What else can I say? The chalets are located above the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, connected by a walkway, and there couldn't be more unique accommodation, anywhere. The "rooms" were spotless, and we really enjoyed sitting on our deck with sundowners. Also, the staff was friendly, overly helpful, and our welcome to the hotel was one of the best coordinated I've seen in Africa. The food was excellent, and we shared dinner with a number of other guests at the hotel, which made the experience even better. I really can't say anything further. Stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They're all perfect. For large families, the standalone homes look like a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma

Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, Livingstone 0100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma is named after explorer David Livingstone's two faithful companions who carried his body all the way back to England from where he died in Zambia. The lodge itself is an exclusive haven in the heart of Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park, which in addition to the mighty roar of the Victoria Falls, also boasts a wide variety of game as well as countless opportunities for adventure. The main lodge is built on two levels, perched in giant ebony trees overlooking the Zambezi. Guests can relax in the swimming pool or the treatment room, or enjoy a drink in the elevated bar. In terms of accommodation there are twelve air-conditioned tree houses, connected by wooden walkways. Each tree house enjoys superb views over the river and is an open plan room with shower, bathtub, vanity area and private toilet. In addition, there are two private houses available, each with two bedrooms, their own dining areas and decks with plunge pools, and their own chefs and house staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Sussi And Chuma
Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Sussi & Chuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.