We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay at The Islands of Siankaba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islands of Siankaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Islands of Siankaba to your Saves list
Islands of Siankaba
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical stay at The Islands of Siankaba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I have been in a fortunate position of being able to stay twice at The Islands of Siankaba and both times had a magical stay. Each bedroom was beautifully furnished and has its own deck overlooking the Zambezi River.
All the staff were friendly and attentive to all our needs and the food was excellent.
I also had the privilege of walking through the village and was welcomed by all the villagers. This walk culminated in the Sundowner Cruise where drinks were served before undertaking a canoe trip to watch a most wonderful sunset, the like I had never seen before.
In all a most wonderful place which I would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
101
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The amazingly well-trained staff were most attentive, well turned-out and all had a most pleasant demeanour.
The food can be described as nouveau cuizine, exceptionally well-presented utilising a creative combination of flavours. A memorably stylish picnic luncheon was served at a beautifully set table on an adjacent island.
The relaxation areas near the bar were well-appointed, allowing for small or larger groups to gather. The lounge furniture was comfortable and book cases interesting.
The bedrooms were expertly designed and stylishly furnished. Privacy and luxury are hallmarks, and the setting is spendid. Each bedroom has its own deck overlooking the Zambezi River. At night, the sounds of the hippos was especially exciting, so loud that we thought they were below our verandah!
The lodge is accessed by a short dirt road off the main tarred road south of Livingstone. We chose to stay at the lodge and enjoy the peaceful surroundings but if one wishes to see the Victoria Falls etc., the lodge will make arrangements for you.
The mokoro rides were most enjoyable, and we enjoyed the company of other guests from the UK, Spain and Ireland.
At the Islands of Siankaba, we found nothing we did not like!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I have to say the food is some of the best I've ever had. The rooms are beautiful, you are surrounded by luxury and nature at the same time. The open tents are a one of a kind experience, the bathtub was very romantic with old fashion touches and the turn down service was a perfect way to end a perfect day!!! Wonderful service, can't say enough good things, a trip of a lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinberg, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Just spent a magical 3 days at Siankaba. What a wonderful place. Excellent management, great attention to detail and outstanding food. The chef really went out of his way to prepare delicious and unusual dishes and our fellow travellers raved about the meals.
Rooms were great and in keeping with the overall ambiance of being on the Zambezi river. The lodge is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Victoria Falls, yet close enough to enjoy a half day visit to the Falls.
All in all - an excellent Zambia option.

  • Liked — ambiance and service
  • Disliked — other guests!
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I stayed at the Islands of Siankaba and was bitterly disappointed by this lodge. First of all, it is far away from Livingston and takes +/- 40 minutes to get to the lodge over bumpy, dusty and a potholded road. The welcome drink was a waterey over-sugared drink and there was no explanation of the facilities. The pool, when I found it, was full of leaves and the water was cloudy - too dirty to swim in. My room was spartan and there were beatles all over the bed and canopy covering the bed. Lighting is poor in the evening. The food was awful. I am a vegetarian so my dinner consisted of macaroni shells covered in a creamed cheese sauce, broccoli covered in a creamed cheese sauce, pizza covered with cheese. Dessert was a chocolate layer cake had a fatty buttercream filled layer and the same on top of the cake. The entire dinner was 'heart attack on a plate'. Totally inedible. My thoughts are that they should hire another cook. How about some steamed vegetables, how about something healthy?
There were very few lounges (3 to be exact) and were hard, wooden lounges without any cushions. The staff was nice but I had to wait quite a while for service for anything.
I would not recommend this establishment to anyone. It wasn't cheap and wasn't worth it. To travel to Victoria Falls took about 1/2 hour by bumpy road and much too far away for a sub-optimal resort. The internet is very, very slow.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siankaba, owner at Islands of Siankaba, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Feedback of any sort is always welcomed and actioned. It is most unfortunate that we were unable to please our guest on this occassion. It should be noted however that this person was part of a group of 7 other travellers all of whom absolutely loved the lodge. I am so happy that our service was rated highly becuase obviously food is a very subjective subject!
It should also be noted that the lodge is connected to Livingstone via a five mile dust road and then 28 miles of recently constructed tarmac road. It should be further noted that we have a large number of loungers all of which are upholstered.
As the lodge is located on ISLANDS in the Zambezi river, internet conection is via a satelite link and obviously is somewhat slower than first world connections. However most guests staying at our lodge look forward to the serenity of the river rather than surfing the internet.
The Islands of Siankaba STRIVE to satisfy ALL of out guests by giving them fabulous service in a very pristine riverine environment. Strangely, we have received excellent feedback particularly on our food prior to this and we believe that we did all humanly possible to satisfy the author of this report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

It was only 3 days but we had the most wonderful experience at this marvellous lodge by the edge of the Zambesi river. Our newly refurbished lodge was magnificant and very in keeping with the surrounds. All the staff were great - so caring and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I visited this hotel with my daughter and 2 friends. It really was the most amazing hotel. The location was fantastic, right on the Zambezi river, and the whole hotel was trully wonderful. I loved the individual chalets and the views are inspiring. I had to keep pinching myself to remind me where I was!! This hotel is excellent for a short stay, especially for a romantic getaway, with easy access to Livingston and the amazing helicopter rides over the falls.

Loved it!!

  • Liked — The chalets in the trees
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islands of Siankaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands of Siankaba

Address: Kazungula Rd, Livingstone 60845, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Islands of Siankaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islands of Siankaba is a luxurious lodge, exclusively sleeping just fourteen guests. The principle guest amenities (dining room, lounge, bar and swimming pool) are located on one island whilst the seven guest tree suites are situated on the smaller island overlooking the river towards the game reserve on the southern bank. The two islands are linked by a series of suspension bridges and overhead walkways in the tree canopy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Islands of Siankaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Of Siankaba Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islands of Siankaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.