We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent journey in Chundukwa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chundukwa River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chundukwa River Lodge to your Saves list
Chundukwa River Lodge
Simonga, Livingstone 60060, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent journey in Chundukwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the family cottage in Chundukwa River Lodge. The team was just great at every level, welcoming, cooks, organisation of our day trips. We did not know anything about the Zambian. We felt very welcomed and could have some very interesting conversations with all the people we met.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have so many fond memories of our time at Chundukwa. Lizanne and John were so accommodating, helpful, and just plain fun! Pascal was wonderfully attentive and kind in his service and even made us some special local food. We loved the al fresco dining on our balcony! We totally enjoyed Levy and his narration through the village and as our boat captain. The people here really make this a wonderful destination.

The lodge rooms themselves are rustic but comfortable. They are very open air with just some canvas flaps keeping the world outside. You should feel comfortable with the outdoors if you are staying here. The rooms could use a freshen up and some more reinvestment in the property but overall the stay was quite wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just arrived home after spending some time in Zambia to see the magnificent Victoria Falls and feel completely rejuvenated after our few days at Chindukwa Lodge. Lisanne and John gave us such a lovely welcome as did all of their staff - especially so Pascal and Levy. Sleeping and waking to the sounds of hippos and birds - just magical. Our wishes of game viewing into Botswana to visit Chobe and trips to Livingstone were organised seemingly effortlessly. Evening boat rides with sundowners and Levy's knowledge of the river, nature and wildlife just magical. We saw this area during the rainy season, but lovely warm rain interspersed with hot sunshine and the falls at their best. Elephants cross at Chindukwa in the dry season and stay a while in the grounds. We were happy with the bird life and the crocs, hippos and impala. Would recommend this to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

An incredible little lodge in an amazing setting. From our collection at Livingstone Airport to the end of our 3 day stay my daughter and I had 5 star service from incredibly friendly, efficient staff. We were the only guests and that made it all the more special. I cannot fault any aspect of it, excellent food, wonderful river cruise, super accommodation - nothing too much trouble for any member of the staff. Lizanne organised our helicopter flight over the Falls, as well as the day tour there, riding with the elephants and transfer through the border to Zimbabwe early on our final day. And it's a short hop from Jo'burg!

Room Tip: We stayed in Honey Guide chalet, with it's own little verandah right over the Zambezi River and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our honeymoon began with Livingstone and 4 nights at Chundukwa River Lodge. We LOVED it! It was relaxing, quiet and charming. Lizanne, John and the rest of the team were very gracious and we felt they really went above and beyond to make our stay perfect- I have some dietary restrictions and not only were they able to accommodate me but the food was fantastic! I can't say enough good things about this lodge or the staff, I would return in a heartbeat! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked 4 nights at Chundukwa River Lodge and were very pleased with our stay. Although the Lodge is remote from town ( about 25-30 min) That's also a plus. There was no hustle or bustle from the city or the relentless sound of helicopters overhead. At night, we fell asleep to the sounds of hippos asserting their territory in the river below us, or the occasional dog barking in the distance. They say some elephants trek through the grounds at times, although we never saw them, but we did get visits from the local donkeys. :-) The Lodge has a fantasticly laid back vibe.

We loved our little chalet, on stilts overlooking the river... no glass windows, just canvas roll down shades for inclement weather or cold. (we enjoyed perfect sleeping weather with them up) The mosquito netting was not only part of the ambience but also practical, however, we didn't find any problem with unwelcome bugs! We also had a lovely ensuite bathroom with rain shower head. Beds were comfortable and the chalet was spotlessly clean. We also had a little deck with chairs ideal for just chilling.

The Lodge was all inclusive for us, including laundry service, which we really appreciated, as this was at the end of our African trip. Meals were good and served al fresco on the patio and every attempt was made to accommodate any dietary restrictions. We enjoyed being able to meet fellow travelers and compare notes. At night, a little fire was lit on the patio of the lodge, which was appreciated as nights cooled down. There is also a pretty little pool, but is really just a dipping pool. Relaxing though after a busy day... or not.

The staff is always on hand, professional and ready to help. Also included was a sunset boat ride on the Zambezi which we adored. Our driver and guide had a keen eye to the wildlife in and around the river and got us as close as was safe to it. The sunset was simply magical.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this unpretentious, comfortable and laid back Lodge. I would gladly recommend it.

As a side note, Zambia is not a wealthy nation. The Lodge accepts clothing donations for the staff's village and fairly distributes it.. It was win-win...We were able to lighten our load and make room for our souvenirs, while helping out the staff that had worked so hard for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Following a safari in Botswana decided to visit Victoria Falls on way to Mauritius. Our agent recommended Chundukwa Lodge and what an idyllic place it turned out to be. About 25K from the Falls this only has 5 lodges but they are all beautifully clean and well equipped. There is cerainly no need for TV as all the Lodges are on stilts on the bank of the Zambezi River. They have a completely open aspect over the river for ever changing views.
Food is taken next to the small swimming pool again overlooking the river and is very well prepared and of high quality.
Lizanne and John, the management team, really do go the extra mile to ensure you get the maximum from your stay and were very willing to organise our Falls Trips, Tour of Livingstone and a very special visit round the local village.
All in all a great place to stay for a visit to the Falls.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge 1 but I think they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chundukwa River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundukwa River Lodge

Address: Simonga, Livingstone 60060, Zambia (Formerly Chundukwa Tree Lodge)
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chundukwa River Lodge is beautifully situated on the banks of the Zambezi River upstream from Victoria Falls on the Zambian side and is the perfect getaway from the daily hustle and bustle of life. The private cottage, situated on a secluded spot on the Zambezi River. This home boasts two double/twin en-suite bedrooms, one child's bedroom, a lounge, private dining, deck, rock splash pool. The cottage comes fully staffed with a personal chef and waiter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chundukwa River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chundukwa River Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chundukwa River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.