We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chobe is a Must... Day Trip is Awesome and Easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour

Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour
131 Mos-O-Tunya Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
+260 213 323726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 activities in Livingstone
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Boston
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Chobe is a Must... Day Trip is Awesome and Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I originally was going to spend 2 nights in Vic Falls and then move on to Chobe, but flights and other logistics didn't make it easy... then I realized it's not that far so booked a day trip... no packing, unpacking, etc. and I was glad I did. They run this very well. I booked the tour through the tour desk at my hotel (Victoria Falls Safari Club). We had no problems waiting at the border on the way there... or on the way back. I think those who go for a half day find a long wait around mid day... we went through around 430pm.

We did a private tour (need 6 people)... which was great as we didn't get teamed up with anyone else. Boat trip in the morning for 3 hours... then lunch at the Chobe Safari Lodge... then a Landcruiser thru the park in the afternoon.

Saw lots of animals in larger herds than we saw in Thornybush Kruger area. Like 100+ elephants.... 50+ giraffes.... 50+ hippos and the like.

Guide was very knowledgable and friendly... we loved it. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The boat trip is the highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took the day trip from Zambia, the border crossing was complicated and time consuming, but it's worth going through it because the boat trip is absolutely brilliant.
During the morning cruise on the river we saw some amazing wildlife, elephants crossing the river, hippos and crocs galore, huge variety of birds, and lots of other stuff, just stunning.
The lunch was buffet style, at the Chobe River Lodge and fine.
After lunch we went on a game drive and didn't see a lot more, there were quite a lot of vehicles about and I'm guessing if you want to see the more timid creatures you have to go a bit further off the beaten track. We saw no cats
Coming back you have to get across the border before it shuts and so it all seemed a bit rushed.
Overall if you're not getting the chance to spend more time in a game area then I would definitely recommend it, it was perfect for us. You do feel like you're being shunted from one person to the next - driver, border, boat, driver, border, driver, welcome, boat, welcome, driver, border, boat, border, driver - wouldn't have recognised any of them if I'd met them again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Quick Trip through a much larger Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A Chobe Day Trip will only allow you to see a small portion of Chobe Park BUT if you leave early in the morning (We got to the crossing at 8am), you can minimize the time spent at crossing. Leaving Botswana to get back into ZIm will take time as most tour end at 4pm and everyone is trying to cross at once. The tour itself is amazing. Morning is spent riding a boat through the delta that sits between Zambia and Botswana. The islands are littered with elephants, cape buffalo, water buck, nyalas, impalas, and HIPPOS everywhere! I have one pic that shows 8 different species of animals in one shot! After lunch, a game drive is provided with more sightings of the same animals and lots and lots of giraffe. The density of animals in Chobe is amazing. We even got treated to a mongoose sighting as we were leaving. Lines exist at every border in Africa ~ a double entry visa will help spend you through in Zim.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too much waiting and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We crossed the border from Zambia for a day trip to Chobe National Park in Botswana. Summary is that the trip was too expensive and a lot of waiting times at the border crossings, boat docks, and river crossings.

If anyone wants to do this trip, my recommendation is;
- Get a multiple entry visa to Zambia. Avoid the re-entry fee back to Zambia.
- Plan for overnight stay in Chobe, that way you can see the animals during their active times (morning or evening).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This experience is great value for money. We had a great boat trip, with lots of elephants crossing the river, crocodiles, hippos, buffalo... great lunch at the lodge and a fun game drive, sadly no cats for us but after seeing so much and such sightings, there's no room for disappointment. Just be prepared (camera charged, sun block, kleenex, jacket if it's cold in the morning...)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chobe Day Trip - Day Tour to your Saves list