We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Leaf

Golden Leaf
1174- Mosi-oa- Tunya Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
321266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Continental
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good quality food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had dinner at the Golden Leaf on a Saturday evening when nearly all the tables were in use and had no problem with the service. The menu offers a good selection of Indian, local and Western dishes and as fans of Indian cooking, that's what we ordered.
Our meal was served within 20 minutes and the quality, quantity and flavour was excellent. The waitress was professional and friendly and we enjoyed a very pleasant evening at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Indian food, outside of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited Golden Leaf on the advice of owner of our guesthouse and we are indeed very grateful to him for this recommendation. We were into the final 3 days of our 3 week trip to S.Africa and Zambia and longing for Indian food (we rarely try Indian food outside of India as all our past experience has been very poor).

We dined here for 3 out of the possible 4 turns (2 lunches and 2 dinners) as we enjoyed the authentic Indian cuisine. The tandoor unfortunately is operational only for dinners. Besides, the tandoor dishes require a waiting time of about 30 minutes. But all the dishes we ordered were made with the right amount of spice (you can choose the spice levels). The naans and the parathas were perfectly done. The slight disappointment was that no raita was served with the biryani.

Thoroughly recommended !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Service Could be Better. Over Ranked.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Enjoyed the food very much. Had a variety of curries (meat, chicken and veg). All very good. Unfortunately the service was slow and lacking for supposedly the best ranked place to eat in Livingston. Having had tried other places in Livingston there are many better places for the money, food and service. I would not go back unless I was craving Indian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Of the five or so restaurants we went to in Livingstone, this was by far our favorite. The atmosphere is very nice, the staff friendly, the cuisine authentic Indian. We dined there twice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You have to try the Marcala and Naan bread :-) for sure. Its amazingly good. Went twice :-) A must do !!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Leaf also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Golden Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.