We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Leaf

Golden Leaf
1174- Mosi-oa- Tunya Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
321266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Cuisines: Indian, Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Greven, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a change from the hotel restaurant and this indian place was recommended to us. Very good food, extremely nice people and good service. At the end of the dinner the hostess came to our table and ask if everything was to our satisfaction. Yes, it definitely was!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    43
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice Indian restaurant located next to the main mosi-o-tunya road. The menu is large with a variety of curries.We ordered two chicken dishes and one fish dish. We requested the fish mild but it came extra hot. Food was tasty but we waited a very very long time almost over an hour. Service was okey, no apologies for the long wait. Restaurant was not busy at all.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to eat in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Finding good food in the Livingstone area proved quite difficult. We were recommended this place by someone staying in the hotel. We went there twice and my partner loved it. We ordered Chicken Tikka Massala and Jelfrazy. I was disappointed by the Jelfazy (too tomatoey and not hot enough) but the Chicken Tikka was good. Even went back a second time and avoided the Jelfrazy. Generally I would strongly recommend. I do agree with the comments that its pricey but a lot of the restaurants around here are similarly priced. We spent 170 Kwacha for 2 Chicken Tikkas, 2 Pilau Rice and 2 drinks so you be the judge of the price. Anyway - go, staff are friendly and it seems it's all freshly cooked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine, slightly pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of four and ordered a mix of starters - fried chicken wings, samosa and tandoori chicken and a mix of starters -various curries. You can choose the level if spiciness - I went for the most spicy and it was. Service was rather slow especially the tandoori chicken - more than 30 minutes but to be fair we were warned beforehand. Overall satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kafue National Park, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate here on a recent trip that we made (business not pleasure). I have to say that this restaurant is the tops. We finally have found a reason to look forward to eating out when passing through Livingstone. The staff was good, I would recommend eating on the terrace (nicer than the inside). All in all a great experience. Very friendly owner too. Better value than Lusaka's best Indian offerings too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Leaf also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Golden Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.