We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zambezi Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zambezi Sun to your Saves list
Zambezi Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Essential River Package
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is very handy for the Victoria Falls - you can walk there in a few minutes. The rooms are clean and spacious, the food is excellent, the swimming pool and gardens are well kept - it manages to feel both safe and exotic - the staff are polite and helpful, but there are zebra strolling through the grounds and monkeys up in the trees. There is a good bar by the pool, and the insects were not too troublesome even at dawn and dusk.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    374
    155
    31
    15
See reviews for
170
325
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

First of all, none of the hotels in Zambia can have a better location for Vic Falls, on the other hand there might be other choices in terms of the hotel facility.

Rooms are not superb. Old, if you have a room looking back side you'll have zillions of bugs on your window (yes some of them inside) and it's not an excellent experience to sleep with presence of them if you are not used to African experience or if you're a tourist. Livingstone lodge gives a much better experience regarding rooms and hotel facility.

Regarding location you just get out of your room and just follow the thunder noise outside. In 4-5 min you'll see the magnificent Vic Falls. If you stay in Livingstone it's 15 min walk or continuous electricity vans or normal vans making a ring.

Breakfast or food are not bad but if I compare with Livingstone Lodge it's bad. Zambezi sun has a swimming pool and tourists refresh day time but nothing compares to the bar of Livingstone on the Zambezi river.

Regarding prices, Zambezi Sun is expensive but very cheap compared to Livingstone Lodge.

If you are a tourist and have much time for Vic Falls, you can have many other choices and visit Vic Falls and do some safari in Zambia. If you are staying for 1-2 nights and want to see Vic Falls in limited time, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I appreciate your review posted to Trip Advisor. Your input helps make us a better operation. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

As most reviews mention, this is a good hotel, very well located to view the Victoria Falls, or even hop over to the Royal Livingstone to enjoy the sunset (transfer is free between the hotels).
There is little to fault this hotel on, the rooms are pleasant, the bathrooms clean and functional. You can see the animals roaming around the garden from your window, or as you enjoy a drink (Malawi shandy is my favorite) at the bar. Its a great experience. They even have a nurse on site which treated my ear infection and to which i owe a great gratitude. The meals are ok (not excellent, but not bad as some reviews mention) with plenty of selection and medium quality. The overall value for money is adequate.
My only problem (more of a recommendation for travellers) with Zambezi Sun is that it is more of a hotel for slightly older travellers and families. As a group of friends in their early 30s, we felt out of place here (the hotel was selected by an agent), and could do just as well with a more backpacky place at a fraction of the cost...just something to note if you're considering accommodation options in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future. As suggested by review, we are more expensive than lodges/backpackers but we have the following to offer which is not available in Zambia/Zimbabwe:
•Closest hotel to Victoria Falls
•Complimentary access to Victoria Falls from 6am until 6pm. Currently, the entrance fee is US$30 per person per visit
•Hotel is located Mosi - Oa - Tunya nature reserve where Zebras, Giraffes, Impalas and monkeys roam free
•On site water purification plant
•24 hour access to clinic on site

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family of 6 adults stayed at Zambezi Sun hotel from 14 December 2014 to 18 December 2014. We paid $59 for dinner per person per night. The quality of the food was terrible. Same menu and very bad quality food every day. Waited all evening to speak to management. No one came. Locks in toilets donor work. Lights on grounds donor work. Tripped on the way to my room. Urgent need for maintenance although this Hotel is not that old.The lady at the reception
Could not confirm our flights or hire us an airport shuttle. Very,very incompetent. All staff need training. Disappointed with poor Sun International standard. No value. Shano. Durban. Kwazulu -Natal. South Africa.

Room Tip: Carry umbrellas to your room. Rain intermittent. Lighting very poor on grounds. Many lights donor wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered at the Zambezi Sun. It is through guest comments such as yours that we are able to improve our hotel and the level of guest service. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Can you please contact me directly on my email address in order for me to investigate the matter further? My email address is nisha.macdougall@zm.suninternational.com

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and staff. Rooms are gorgeous, pool amazing with live music in the evening , and friendly efficent bar staff. Breakfast was awesome with so much to choose from. The evening buffet is not worth the money with a salad for starter and a few choices of main, deserts complete let down. There is a another restaurant on site and that is excellent and you can pick a starter or main and is a lot better quality. You can walk to the falls which we did everyday of our stay but as it was very dry there whas little water so we took a helicopter ride. Which you can book from reception.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you again for your comments and suggestions and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A great location for viewing the fall. So close that you walk to them in about 10 minutes. Unfortunately for us when we visited there was very little water in the falls, but that enabled us to see the depth that the cataract. The hotel is set in a nature reserve with wild animals roaming freely around. It was great to sit in the pool bar restaurant and watch the Zebra, but beware these are wild animals and while we were there some people were kicked by them. The food was good, the accomodation basic but comfortable and clean. We spent quite a bit of time just sitting and relaxing watching the weaver birds making their nests.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Just remember to keep windows closed at all times because of the monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, General Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is valuable to our staff and future guests to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to Zambezi Sun in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good Hotel but the staff not the most helpful, we had problems with one of our trips ( already paid for) because the staff had got our names wrong on the drivers information sheets.
We were able to get it sorted in the end but no apology from staff or hotel management, very
unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NishaMacD, General Manager at Zambezi Sun, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us, and please be assured that your survey will be discussed with the staff to correct your valid concerns.

Kind Regards

Nisha MacDougall
Hotel Manager Zambezi Sun
nisha.macdougall@suninternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zambezi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zambezi Sun

Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Family Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zambezi Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zambezi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambezi Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.