We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, a bit expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zambezi Sun

Save Saved
You added Zambezi Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zambezi Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Livingstone
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special, a bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is the nearest hotel to Victoria Falls. It's less than 5 mins walking to the falls. Guests here can enter Victoria Falls for free during normal opening hours (from 6am-6pm). Visitting during the night is not possible, except on lunar rainbow days. (You have to pay 25 USD for the entrance).

Before I came, I had little problem of reservation. I reserved a room online on the official website of sun international. I gave details of my credit card. It was confirmed. The next day I recieved a mail from this hotel to inform that I needed to deposit money to their account. I felt it was strange, so I sent them an email. The reservation department director answered me and told me that they didnt get details of my credit card when I reserved from sun international website. I had to give my credit card number again to guarantee my booking again. I dont understand why a big company like sun international doesnt aware of this problem.

About the hotel, it's a normal 3 stars hotel. Staffs here do not have much service mind compare to the sister hotel, Royal Livingstone. Everything here is expensive. They dont give complimentary water either. (For the price,I think I should have minibar in my room with complimentary water). However, it was a good experience staying beside the falls and saw zebra on the ground of hotel in the morning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    291
    133
    27
    15
See reviews for
128
266
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is OK if you can deal win all the noise. Since all of the floors are concrete, everything echoes making it loud all of he time. The rooms are clean, but very small and the food is way overpriced. Our first night there the Mexican Buffet was $43/person! Good hotel for college kids on Spring Break.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Zambezi Sun and loved every minute! We could walk to Victoria Falls to enjoy the spectacular views and then return to the hotel for fantastic food and incredibly friendly service. There are zebras and giraffe, impala and monkeys to watch right on the property and they are beautiful! We had dinner one evening at the Royal Livingstone Hotel, just a short shuttle ride away, and had a fantastic dinner. While we absolutely loved the Royal Livingstone, we were very happy to be staying at the Zambezi Sun for it's fun and relaxed atmosphere, not to mention it's colorful decor. Thanks to everyone on staff who made our stay so memorable, especially Joan and Perry, who spoke to us each day during our meals and while walking around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well positioned right next to Victoria falls, the rooms are very well appointed in an African style,the best part was waking up every morning to see what would be outside our bedroom window,zebra,giraffe,impala & vervet monkeys all wandered past during our stay,the staff were extremely friendly & helpful & the breakfast buffet was excellent offering everything you could possibly want

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely colourful room, with a great bathroom! Delicious breakfast with lots to choose from, even for our fussy 7 yr old. Very friednly staff. Really enjoyed our stay, and walked around Victoria Falls each day of our 3 days there. Also walked across bridge to Zimbabwe side (no problem crossing border as a day trip) for more breath taking views. The activities staff were great too, and organised a fab boat tour to Livingston Island and a Helicopter flight over the Falls. Expensive but very worth it!
Saved so much by not having to rely on taxis and entrance fees. Accomodation includes free access to the Falls.

Room Tip: Room closest to Falls was nice and quiet and very handy. Also had a nice view of garden and visiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is great, however it seems the property is not being maintained well. Some of the rooms in our group had ill maintained bathrooms and little water pressure. Sheets had stains. These are the basics. Staff at the breakfast area were ok. Some had attitudes like they didn't really care about service. Otherwise, the help desk staff were courteous and helpful even after their shift had ended. The surroundings were kept clean.

My biggest issue is signing F&B to your room. Upon checkout, it took what seemed like ages to get our statement. In addition to this, we were charged a 10% service fee on all F&B charged to our room. Im not aware if this is a general practice but i think its a little much for a simple luxury. Save some money, settle your bills cash while you are there as it will save you 10% and make your check out faster. Infact pay for everything on the spot. I hope this helps. The last thing one wants to do on vacation is wait...

Other than these few issues, the hotel is a pleasant and well designed premisis.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at the zambezi Sun in June. Location of of Hotel was great with access to the falls as many times as want. Location wise you couldnt go wrong. Rooms are in need of a update and are a bit worn out, Negative aspects were there were no irons in the room and after travelling this was an annoying aspect when getting ready for dinner. There was also no mini fridge. These were the only two negative comments as per room. The food in the Main restaraunt was a good choice for breakfast, we did not have dinner here as the prices were very high. We ate at squires where we had the best steak, plenty of choice and great service. The pool side bar also had great food with more resonable prices. We also ate at the livingston next door. The food, staff, location were all very good at the livingston and if i return would stay there. Staying at the Zambezi sun one has access to the livingston hotel next door via free shuttle service. staff were reasonably friendly especially at reception. The animals wondering in the gardens and the dance crew at reception were a special touch. Pity they do not offer a culture show or dance or boma at the hotel. This would have been a good experience as a tourist visiting zambia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zambezi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zambezi Sun

Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zambezi Sun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Zambezi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambezi Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.