We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stress Reliever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zambezi Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zambezi Sun to your Saves list
Zambezi Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Essential River Package
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Lusaka, Zambia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A stress Reliever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Zambezi Sun is a perfect getaway, when one wants to kick some stress. It has an awesome pool which makes it fun for the family as the kids won't bother you once they have had a fill of the great breakfast. I have visited this Hotel at least once every year and it makes me feel like home each time. A make over though would go a long way in revitelising the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    374
    155
    31
    15
See reviews for
170
325
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September with my wife. As an intro to a 3 week holiday in Africa it could not be faulted. From the animated welcome by the "warriors" to our departure with reception staff going that extra mile to help with cards etc we were delighted. The Falls are of course the main attraction, but the large pool, excellent restaurants, friendly staff and grazing zebras, made for a magical stay. My wife had to make use of the on-site clinic, with a very helpful doctor, charging modest fees. A short shuttle ride to the Royal Livingstone to watch the sun go down with a large cocktail to hand, hippos snorting in the river and a lazy croc nearby will stay long in the memory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this resort. The service is good, although sometime you would like to see more staff smile...the experience of staying within the national park with walking distance from the beautiful Victoria Falls, and surrounded by wildlife was priceless. Watching monkeys playing in the grounds from our room, and observing zebras graciously walk past our window was amazing. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast and fresh waffles every morning and dinner at the steakhouse was great too...would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2011 and absolutely loved it!
The Zambezi Sun 4* has the same territory with 5* hotel of the same Sun International hotel chain. You can walk or use hotel transport to get to each of the hotels. I would recommend to walk at least once, because you'll have a chance to see giraffes and take photos almost next to them. Besides, there are zebras on the territory and gazelles, but you can see zebras on Zambezi Sun territory during day and even late evening.
The 4* hotel has direct access to the Victoria falls. This is the most exciting thing, because you shoukd visit the Falls at different time during a day, so that to see different picturesque views. If you go early in the morning before breakfast (7-8 am) you'll be able to see how unimaginable rainbow appears and becomes brighter with every minute. You'll be able to take great photos with the rainbow! During a daytime it is not so bright as in the morning. In the evening (5-6 pm) you'll see a very beauteful sunset on the Zambezi river. But you have to be back to the hotel by 6 pm. When you walk to the Falls at any time take an umbrella with with, because at some point of your route there will be rainy because of the waterfall!))
The hotel has ethnic, unusual design. Rooms are very clean, bathrooms are bright and have everything you need - shampoos, etc. Always close balcony doors when you're out, so that monkeys don't get inside your room. Breakfast is very good. There are several restaurants on the territory where you can have lunch and dinner. The food is cooked in a very good way. All dishes are delicious. Don't be afraid to taste crocodile's meat! It's like chicken's meat)).
There is free Internet cafe, and several shops, where you can buy essential you need. We forgot to buy repellent creme in advance, but easily bought a really good one here.
The personnel is so friendly and polite that you can feel a huge difference with the personnel of hotels in South African Republic! Zambian people have good sense of humour as well! People are excellent! Besides, I should mention an usual Zambezian style greeting you receive when arrive to the hotel. There is a national dance performed by artists and a welcome drink. Everything is just perfect!
If you visit Zambia in August-September, then you'll be able to to the most terrific excursion to the Livingstone island, which takes place from the territory of the 5* hotel. We loved the picturesque views and took photos right on the very edge of the Victoria falls, because during these months there is less water in Zambezi river, and you can visit the island. Besides, we had brunch onthe island, and it was very-very good! On your way to the island on a little boat you'll be able to see hipppos very close! And if you are not afraid, and if water level lets fo that, you can swim in a devil's pool - a place right next to the edge of the Falls, where water doesn't take you down with the falls. This is a great place!
I was inthe hotel with my Mum, but I saw many families with little children (3-4 years old), and they injoyed the hotel and the trip. I would definitely recommend to stay here for everyone! Also you should definitely go to safari in Botswana. It's a 1-day trip from Zambezi Sun. It's the best ever safari in Africa, which consists of 2 parts: on water and on land. We were able to see even how elephants swim over the dangerous river full of croocodiles to the island with green grass. This was terrific! Besides, we saw many hippos very close, crocodiles, different African birds, etc. Our tour guides in Zambia and Botswana were excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and could have stayed forever. The hotel is amazing, it looks like a lost Aztec Palace set in the heart of Africa. It takes 5 minutes to walk to Victoria Falls and Zebra, Vervet Monkeys, Baboons and Giraffes roam the area. The room was well appointed having a beautiful bathroom with separate shower and bath. Staff are friendly and anxious to please.
Great place to visit Chobe, take an elephant safari and engage in some hair raising activities.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and really enjoyed the location right by the falls. We visited several times, and the location is really hard to beat, barely five minutes walk from the entrance to the park - hotel guests can come and go as many times as they like during their stay. You do get wet going the the falls, even in the dry season, but the hotel does provide oilskins free of charge.

The rooms (we had two adjacent rooms, each with two double beds) are on the small side, but perfectly adequate, with comfortable beds, TVs, and fresh, bright decor. Bathrooms are also bright and well-appointed. Our rooms were on the side of the hotel facing the river, and we could hear the falls and see the mist rising above them from our windows.

The centrally located pool is huge and cold, but beautiful and welcome. The pool bar does ok food for lunch, but inexplicably is not open for dinner. We did not want an expensive buffet dinner at the restaurant, so opted for room service, which was fine, if not spectacular. Breakfast is a huge buffet in the restaurant, and was amongst the best we had in Africa.

There is a business centre with free access to the internet via their pcs (you could get wifi for a fee), great for checking email.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted at reception, but then spent well over an hour sorting out our rooms (only one was ready, as the hotel thought we were all staying in one room, even though we had booked two). As it was the weekend, this took a while to clarify with our local agent, but the staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, and apologetic for the misunderstanding. It did rather take some of the gloss of our stay though.

This hotel is probably only just above average in terms of service and facilities, but its location is spectacular, and we would probably go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September 2012. The hotel is about 20 mins from the Livingstone airport and if you truly want to be close to the Victoria falls, this is the place to stay. The falls are barely 5 mins walk from the hotel and one can visit them as many times as wished. We could actually hear the falls from the hotel - it was so close.
There are many rooms, but the property is well laid out around the swimming pool and garden, each room with a view of the pool or the garden. Rooms are well sized with separate bath area and bath tub. The rooms are beautifully painted, have TV and airconditioning. They , however, do not have mosquito nets and you need to put on mosquito repellents before sleep.
Buffet breakfast is good and has a large spread. Dinner can either be buffet (has decent spread, but , slightly expensive) or room service.
Staff at the checkin counters are very polite and eager to help , with any information that's being requested for. The hotel also provides free shuttle services to the adjacent Royal Livingstone Hotel and watching the sunset on Zambezi river by the sundeck at Royal Livingstone is truly memorable.
Surely worth a stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zambezi Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zambezi Sun

Address: Mosi-oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zambezi Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zambezi Sun, located on the edge of the eastern cataract of the Victoria Falls, reflects the richness and diversity of the country’s heritage; capturing the very soul of Africa – unpretentious, fun and welcoming. With its warm, earthy architecture, inspired by an African walled village and simple finishes highlighted in bright mosaics and fabrics as well as intoxicating Zambian artworks and accessories, the Zambezi Sun is set to turn your stay into a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zambezi Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zambezi Sun Livingstone
Zambezi Sun Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambezi Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.