We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hotel in a unique setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Livingstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Livingstone to your Saves list
Royal Livingstone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Royal African Experience
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“World class hotel in a unique setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose The Royal Livingstone as our base during our recent trip to Victoria Falls and the Chobe after extensive research. We were slightly nervous after seeing reading some of the negative reviews. However, our experience was of a fabulous hotel with unique location and excellent service.

Location, location, location. That's a cliche, but the only accurate way of describing where The Royal Livingstone is. Almost on top of the Falls, with an incredible view over the Zambezi. The grounds are immaculate, and very special to be able to see zebra, giraffe, monkeys etc... right up close. The situation of the swimming pool is fantastic - looking straight out at the river. Our 3 rooms were situated close to the main buildings, so good for getting about.

The common areas are very well laid out, decorated in classically elegant colonial style.

The rooms are well appointed. We particularly liked the bathrooms - separate bath and shower and very spacious. Molton Brown toiletries. The view out to the river, especially at sunset, was sublime. Each building of 8 rooms has a dedicated butler - ours was extremely helpful.

We had all of our meals at the main hotel restaurant. Breakfast brunch was world-class - a vast array of tempting fresh and cooked options. The staff remembered which was our favourite table as well as our names. Dinner choices were varied and very tasty,
Particularly enjoyable was relaxing in the outdoor lounge patio after dinner enjoying the view and ambience.

Our experience of staff was very positive. Universally friendly, professional and eager to please.

This is absolutely the best hotel option on either the Zambian or Zimbabwean sides of the Falls.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    251
    98
    51
    23
See reviews for
202
560
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Yes the setting is perfect, the rooms well equipped and comfortable, it's just a short stroll to the falls, BUT, the service is rubbish, you wait ages for everything, usually having to ask at least twice, and don't expect a smile because you won't get one!
Most of the staff looked down their noses at my wife and I at we felt they were doing us a big favour every time we asked for anything, and the reason? We think it's because 10% is added to everything so they really aren't bothered!
Oh and by the way, the power went off all evening as did the water, and you might expect a knock on you door with candles, no not at the Royal Livingstone, my view is it's overrated, expensive and it's not 5 star!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you can't afford the rooms at up to $900 per night, try high tea on the patio!
The food is excellent, the price is reasonable (under $20) and you can enjoy the grounds for the afternoon.
The hotel is a short cab ride from the Falls, $10 from Livingstone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The service was "over the top" for my. I don't like that much attention. The grounds were lovely and the bar at the river is a great place to watch the sunset and the Falls! Entrance to the Falls park is just a short walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is one of the best hotels that we stayed in.

The location and position of this hotel is breathtaking. Having a sundowner on the deck over looking the sunset by the Zambezi is incredible.

it was hot, we relaxed by the the pool and had lunch by the pool.

The rooms were very comfortable all though a little distance from the main hotel however there was a constant shuttle and a butler outside each block who were more then eager to help.
In the evenings the food served was superb and delicious.

it was lovely to see the animals walking around the gardens the Zebras the Giraffes and not forgetting the monkeys.

The staff were at all times very professional and friendly.

The spa facilities and hair dresser were great.

The hotel assisted with tours too. We made friends whilst staying there and would highly recommend it.
Look forward to visit again very soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Royal Livingstone brings back the glories of British Colonial Africa, thankfully without the snobbery, racism and oppression. The Royal Livingstone is an elegant grand dame, nicely refurbished with lush grounds, a beautiful pool area, an authentic throwback bar and first class indoor and outdoor dining. The Zambezi River flows by the hotel which adds to the view. And a wire fence keeps the tourists in and the crocodiles out. On our evening stroll, encountered the occasional stray zebra or giraffe, but fortunately, no carnivores were on the grounds If you are visiting Victoria Falls, this is THE place to stay. Luxuriate in the past, and enjoy the natural beauties of modern and enlightened Zambia.

Room Tip: A bungalow closer to the main hotel restaurant and lobby is preferable. But frequent golf cart servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Zambia is not a cheap place to stay after South Africa, but then it does have the magnificent Victoria Falls on it's doorstep. This hotel is within a very easy walk to the Falls which means you can easily choose to visit whenever you like rather than arranging transfers. It was just awesome to see the animals walking around the property and you could stand very close to Zebra in particular that are unconcerned. Giraffe were also great to see.

The hotel itself is excellent quality with exceptional breakfasts and dinners. The costs to eat and drink are similar to Australian prices though. There is another hotel with dining facilities next door (closer to the Falls) that have charge back provisions so it gave some options as it was a bit cheaper. But there is no getting over having a couple of drinks on the terrace on the River overlooking the top of the falls - just an awesome experience.

Rooms were very decadent and we were certainly well looked after by the butlers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Livingstone

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia will appeal to the traveller in search of luxury, extravagance and sheer indulgence. It is set in the lush riverine belt on the banks of the Zambezi River with the dramatic torrent of the Victoria Falls a 10 minute walk away. In the cool lounges and shaded verandas of the Royal Livingstone Hotel, you will encounter the elegance and luxury of an earlier time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Livingstone Hotel Livingstone
Royal Hotel Livingstone
Livingstone Royal Hotel
Royal Livingstone Zambia
Royal Livingstone Hotel Zambia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Livingstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.