We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evoking a bygone era” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Livingstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Livingstone to your Saves list
Royal Livingstone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Royal African Experience
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Evoking a bygone era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Royal Livingstone brings back the glories of British Colonial Africa, thankfully without the snobbery, racism and oppression. The Royal Livingstone is an elegant grand dame, nicely refurbished with lush grounds, a beautiful pool area, an authentic throwback bar and first class indoor and outdoor dining. The Zambezi River flows by the hotel which adds to the view. And a wire fence keeps the tourists in and the crocodiles out. On our evening stroll, encountered the occasional stray zebra or giraffe, but fortunately, no carnivores were on the grounds If you are visiting Victoria Falls, this is THE place to stay. Luxuriate in the past, and enjoy the natural beauties of modern and enlightened Zambia.

Room Tip: A bungalow closer to the main hotel restaurant and lobby is preferable. But frequent golf cart servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    224
    88
    48
    20
See reviews for
182
492
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Zambia is not a cheap place to stay after South Africa, but then it does have the magnificent Victoria Falls on it's doorstep. This hotel is within a very easy walk to the Falls which means you can easily choose to visit whenever you like rather than arranging transfers. It was just awesome to see the animals walking around the property and you could stand very close to Zebra in particular that are unconcerned. Giraffe were also great to see.

The hotel itself is excellent quality with exceptional breakfasts and dinners. The costs to eat and drink are similar to Australian prices though. There is another hotel with dining facilities next door (closer to the Falls) that have charge back provisions so it gave some options as it was a bit cheaper. But there is no getting over having a couple of drinks on the terrace on the River overlooking the top of the falls - just an awesome experience.

Rooms were very decadent and we were certainly well looked after by the butlers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is simply the best place to visit the falls and be right on the river. Staff are extremely friendly, service is great.
Sundowners on the deck overlooking the falls and river keep you captured. Within walking distance to the falls and the launch area to Livingstone Island, which is a must, is right by the hotel. Rooms are great, clean & comfortable.
Breakfast is brilliant but the high tea is not as good as the Victoria Falls hotel in Zimbabwe. Dinner is under the night sky but must say food is not what you would expect from a five star hotel.
25 min drive from the airport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka Province, Zambia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic ambiance. Great room, attentive staff all managed by Guillaume Durand, who runs a truly remarkable ship. It was a sensational experience. The breakfast was splendid and the high tea is a must have. Every penny was well worth the stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Me and my husband decided to stay at this ''luxury'' hotel on one of our trips to Livingstone. What a big mistake!!! They make it out as 5 star, but how little do they actually know about 5 star hotels. Their staff was EXTREMELY rude, with snotty comments towards us, especially at the reception. Food was very average, and to top it all off, our morning started with experiencing some cruelty from the guards. The hotel itself is built in a National park,so there are always some animals around, including some sweet little monkeys. We were having our breakfast, and the monkeys were having their on one of the trees growing nearby (note - AT LEAST 100m away!). But one of the guards felt very bored, so he took a catapult with stones (or whatever it was), and started shooting, deliberately aiming for poor animals. One of them had a broken leg already! We felt sick and made a fast exit.

My advice to everyone - do not waste your time and money, and do not support this hotel. There are far better places to stay in Livingstone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Whilst we didn't stay at the Royal Livingstone, we were very keen to spend an afternoon there for their very famous High Tea. What an experience - amazing service fabulous food, and the most delicious teas. We loved the Ceylon Leopard - so much so we sourced the Cape Town distributor. The location is just awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Livingstone for two nights in February. A wonderful welcome from the magnificent Edward followed by a complimentary hand massage for the ladies in our party. Rooms were wonderful and we had our own butler assigned to us. Facilities are excellent and every member of staff treated us as VIP's. All meals, from breakfast through to evening meal, were of a very high standard. It was amazing to eat under the stars with zebra and impalas wandering close by. We will certainly return but will need to make it a longer stay. Two nights was just too short and left you wanting more.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Livingstone

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia will appeal to the traveller in search of luxury, extravagance and sheer indulgence. It is set in the lush riverine belt on the banks of the Zambezi River with the dramatic torrent of the Victoria Falls a 10 minute walk away. In the cool lounges and shaded verandas of the Royal Livingstone Hotel, you will encounter the elegance and luxury of an earlier time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Royal Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Livingstone Hotel Livingstone
Royal Hotel Livingstone
Livingstone Royal Hotel
Royal Livingstone Zambia
Royal Livingstone Hotel Zambia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Livingstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.