We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Livingstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Livingstone to your Saves list
Royal Livingstone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Royal African Experience
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

An opulent 5 star resort hotel. The grounds have roaming zebras, giraffes, impalas and monkeys. Staff are obliging and helpful. Each room comes with a butler. Breakfast was outstanding, dinner buffet at sister hotel next door buffet was disappointing. Victoria Falls as awe inspiring.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay you get taken around with a shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    225
    88
    48
    20
See reviews for
182
492
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was an unbelievable experience. Everything is perfect. location, view, on site activities, ambiance. We did have 1 problem with a worker who make an advance on an 11year old in our group. Management acted quickly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this lovely Hotel. The Hotel itself is stunning, you arrive and greeted by Edward in his lovely colourful outfit (Rooi Rokie as he called the red one as we left) he was the best employee there, athough the rest are vert helpful and friendly, he always went that 1 step more. On arrival, we checked in, whcih did take some time and very confusing, although they did give a complimentary hand maasage to the ladies whislt waiting. The food was very good, although a little limited if you eat there every night, some of our group did, we went to the hotel next door for a change. Stay away from the slow roasted duck, it is dreadful :-( The breakfast is great, with a cold buffet or a hot or even both, included in the price, which I found very reassonable. What was expensive was the drinks and food, a watch out, a 10% service charger is included in everything!

The views from all the rooms was of the Zambezi, very near to the falls, in fact you could walk there very easily, the spray visible from the hotel. There are animals walking around the property, the only pain was the monkey's, don't leave the balcony door open, even if you are in the room, I went to the bathroom, only to come out to find 4 monkey feasting on the Rusks and chocolates in the room, and shreading my tissues all around, quite a shock.

Check out took some time too, as only 2 people on the desk and a whole conference was checking out at the same time.

All in all a lovely stay, but could be quite costly on the extras.

The airport is extremely hot and limited in seating.

Room Tip: Left hand side or=f the resort, close to the path to the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spot well chosen for celebrating an anniversary, very romantic, peaceful and beautiful location.
Though everything is very costly at this hotel, every meal and drink comes with an usual steep charge, it is worth spending a couple of nights there as the service is good, the rooms are nice, the gardens are very well looked after, many activities are available.
Just the fact of being able to walk to the Falls is a pleasure, have a drink by the Zambezi is a treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be close to nature and the Victoria Falls this is the place. As we lounged by the pool, overlooking the Zambesi river, a couple of wild zebras just ambled past, stopping from time to time to munch the grass by our lounger. They were quickly followed by a giraffe lolloping along the river bank right by us. I timed the walk to the entrance of the falls at exactly 10 minutes, not quite believing the hotel info, and then experienced the sheer power of the falls at close proximity together with getting completely soaked walking across a rope bridge! The hotel itself has a colonial feel to it even though it no more than about 10 years old. The rooms are luxurious and the restaurant very good. It is one of the few places we would consider returning to, it was that good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the best choice to walk to the falls at all times. We were so happy being that close and went in different times to take pictures, walked up till the end of one trail, down to the river and and across the bridge getting all wet and even went to the market and bought very inexpensive souvenirs.
The Hotel is very expensive considering that we were in Zambia. Even more expensive than boutique hotels in South Africa...interesting. The restaurants were good but also very pricey...unbelievable! The staff was very nice and friendly but found some rough people too. The piano player at the beautiful bar was awesome. Loved the Zebras and Giraffes in the the grounds!! The Zambezi River is gorgeous and the bar next to the river is a must. But be there earlier for sunset because it gets packed.
They had a very nice host called Edward that was always with a warm and humble smile welcoming people. The live music also was very good with two gorgeous female singers and three musicians. Although we'd have loved to hear more local music than international...
The buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choices!
Overall it was perfect for us that wanted to enjoy the Falls :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Livingstone for 2 nights in April which was the end of the rainy season so the Zambezi river was at capacity, the falls were raging and the grounds were extremely green. The weather was in the mid-80's and sunny. This is a lovely oasis in Zambia, it is hard to believe that one is in Africa. Our room was nice, not very large, but manageable. The bathroom was a nice size and both were very clean. We had a screened in porch which we did not take advantage of because we did not spend that much time in the room. Although the hotel has wi-fi, the signal in our room was too weak to connect so we had to use our ipads in the hotel reception area (great signal there). If you are going to stay at this hotel, you need to make dinner reservations when you arrive because vacationers from the 3-star sister property (Zambezi Sun) also like to dine at this hotel which means the only reservations availabe may be at 6pm or 8:30pm if you wait until the last minute. The restaurant is of decent quality when you consider that you are in Africa. We took a day trip to Chobe National Park in Botswana to see some animals. It take approximately one hour to get there. It is well worth it - we went on a game cruise in the morning and a game drive in the afternoon and saw hippos, giraffes, elephants, alligators, sprinkbok, wild boars, water buffalo, baboons and a male and female lion. Our tour was arranged by Wildlife Horizons in Livingstone and the service provided was impeccable (they did airport pickups, the trip to Botswana and the tour of Victoria Falls). We would also recommend a private tour of the falls. If you go in the wet season prepare to get drenched (even wearing rain gear) and wear teva rubber sandals because at certain places the water is rushing past you 6 inches deep.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at this hotel. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Livingstone

Address: Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livingstone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Livingstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Livingstone 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia will appeal to the traveller in search of luxury, extravagance and sheer indulgence. It is set in the lush riverine belt on the banks of the Zambezi River with the dramatic torrent of the Victoria Falls a 10 minute walk away. In the cool lounges and shaded verandas of the Royal Livingstone Hotel, you will encounter the elegance and luxury of an earlier time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and South African Hotels so you can book your Royal Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Livingstone Hotel Livingstone
Royal Hotel Livingstone
Livingstone Royal Hotel
Royal Livingstone Zambia
Royal Livingstone Hotel Zambia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Livingstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.