We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for fish lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Mosi O Tunya Square | Mosi O Tunya Road,217 Area, Livingstone, Zambia
21 321274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 restaurants in Livingstone
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A must for fish lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Whilst on a very short stay in Livingstone I was recommended the Ocean Basket restaurant by my taxi driver. I am glad I took his recommendation as the food and the service was just what I needed on this very hot humid day. The Manager was very welcoming and helped find a good quiet table close to a Collins fan, the waiter (Henry) was very efficient and engaging. I had the grilled halloumi cheese followed by an excellent fillet of Kingklip, both dishes being served rather uniquely in a frying pan! I also tried the local lager, Mosi, which was perfect on such a day with such a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    22
    23
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
American Canyon, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food from a restaurant chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you have eaten at an Ocean Basket restaurant than you know what to expect. The location is on the main road in Livingstone, Zambia. An option to dine after a day in Victoria Falls. The seafood was prepared well, no complaints in our party. Preparation takes awhile so if you are in a hurry this may not be the place for you. Outdoor and indoor dining is available. The location is next to a shopping center however the location of Ocean Basket is not in the area of all the traffic. Service was OK and as mentioned there was a long wait for your food. All in all, we enjoyed our dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Situated in a shopping area Ocean Basket has fresh produce and good service.Their platters are value for money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always pleasant (sea) food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Excellent sea food. The best calamari I have ever eaten. Excellent scrimps and nice fish, absolutely recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seafood finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Living in these part of the world and missing sea food very much. I've been to Livingstone and when I saw this restaurant together with my friends we just jump on it .Each of us ordered a plate for two person. They brought us a big plate with mussels, prawns, calamari, a fillet (don't know which fish).perfectly fried. Very good....after long time. We took also a nice starter and the manager offered us some Sushi (yes they also prepare sushi).
P.S. Don't go there in the evening if you want to spend the night around .It become difficult to walk and dance having such meal in the stomach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.