We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've eaten at in Zambia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've eaten at in Zambia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Cafe Zambezi was excellent. Despite them having a power cut when we first went they produced excellent food (including crocodile and caterpillars), cocktails and a great atmosphere.

We ate there multiple times and never left disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    120
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohakune, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, decent prices, good atmospher!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited 3 times, each time satisfied. Large menu with many local choices. Good beer selection, servers were friendly and very willing to help. A few misunderstandings, mostly language barriers but no big deal. Recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing food, great cocktails, fun shows during dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I LOVE the food there! Everything I tried - the Groundnut Stew, Jollof Rice, the African/Carribean platter, the Braai Platter, and the passionfruit mojito - was amazing! You can tell that my friends and I went back there time and again during our stay in Livingstone! Go there - you won't regret it! :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We'd heard good things about Cafe Zambezi and it lived up to expectations. No frills, just a lively buzz, a mix of local, Jamaican and European dishes, well cooked and served promptly with Zambian smiles.
Prices are reasonable and the quality is good. Two filling courses, a bottle of good South African Pinotage and coffee set 2 of us back the equivalent of about $50 and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Located on the main street of Livingstone. Excellent menu, very reasonably priced: approx. 50 kwatcha for a main course, beer is 8 K and delicious cocktails are 30 K. They have a good range of local food, like crocodile, caterpillar and goat bbq and also pizza and burgers. The staff that served me were very friendly and fast. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.