We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croco-yumyum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Livingstone
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Croco-yumyum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I read about the bbq crocodile and just had to go for it, although my friends went for burger, goat and chicken and they all seemed pretty happy. Its not budget (50-60k for a main) but I'd say its good value for the quality and portion of the food. I chose croc-spare ribs and got 3 large chunks. Other than being slightly burnt in parts it was very tasty with the sweet chili sauce. For an African food experience beyond the awful omnipresence of nshimas this is as good as it gets. Finally the ambiance in the backyard outside sitting was pretty cosy as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    100
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Zambian Platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Ask the waitress to talk to the chef and make you up a special "Zambian Food Platter" We had the most amazing food - crocodile meat - cooked to perfection in a piri piri kind of sauce, Shima with village chicken and goat meat. Roasted veggies fried caterpillars and Zambian sausages. Yummy food and they give u heaps!!! was an exciting culinary adventure.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ventured out of the hotel to try something local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

And was not disappointed. Nice ambiance, exotic food, friendly service and no tourists in sight, only locals. When you get bored at the hotel or want to venture outside, give zambesi cafe a try

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Croc!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The Croc skewers were DELICIOUS!! Highly recommend! I went for lunch and we were one of three tables BUT the food was great and I could tell it would be happening at dinner time!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cool African vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place looks like its popular with the tourists and the locals. It has all the favourites (burgers etc) but also some traditional local meals and game meets. It's a great place to go after adventuring around the falls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.