We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cheap and awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A must try in Livingstone. Went with friends one night and we ended up returning two more times. The crocodile bites are delicious, and we also tried the Mopani worms which werent bad at all. Everything in the menu was good, in fact. I ordered fish and it was slightly overcooked, and when the waitress came to check on our food and i mentioned it to her, she took it without hesitation and brought me a delicious replacement. The staff is attentive and pleasant, and the setting is enjoyable and fresh (not overly touristy). Very recommendable

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    120
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a delicious chicken pizza here!
I had it as takeaway, but the staff were really friendly and it didn't take too long for my pizza to be ready!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Such a brilliant vibe in this restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and always have a recommendation on the menu. So amazing local and other dishes, a personal favourite being the Crocodile Ribs (yes really!!) and the Peri Peri chicken. Thank you for countless great meals

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great taste of African food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

the café is easy to locate. the food is very good. we had 10 in our party for dinner and everyone was satisfied. Most had more than they could finish. the outdoor seating in the back is the best. there is an adjacent courtyard where they have music/shows that is a must-see. do ask at the Café Zambezi when the shows are available and go during those dates/times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Delicious Halloumi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to cafe Zambezi on a Friday at about 5pm and it wasn't busy at all. We waited about 30 min for our starters (Halloumi... Omg so so so delicious!!! And garlic bread) and then another 30-40 min for peri peri chicken and masala chicken. The chicken was all on the bones, so it would be nice if they could provide a wet wipe. The water in the bathrooms wasn't running at all, so washing hands wasn't an option. I do understand that running water is unpredictable in this area, so I don't blame the restaurant for that at all, but wet wipes after messy food you eat with hands would be a nice touch. We felt it was a little pricy considering where we are, but the food was all very delicious and we did enjoy eating there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.