We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Such a brilliant vibe in this restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and always have a recommendation on the menu. So amazing local and other dishes, a personal favourite being the Crocodile Ribs (yes really!!) and the Peri Peri chicken. Thank you for countless great meals

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    101
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great taste of African food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

the café is easy to locate. the food is very good. we had 10 in our party for dinner and everyone was satisfied. Most had more than they could finish. the outdoor seating in the back is the best. there is an adjacent courtyard where they have music/shows that is a must-see. do ask at the Café Zambezi when the shows are available and go during those dates/times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Delicious Halloumi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to cafe Zambezi on a Friday at about 5pm and it wasn't busy at all. We waited about 30 min for our starters (Halloumi... Omg so so so delicious!!! And garlic bread) and then another 30-40 min for peri peri chicken and masala chicken. The chicken was all on the bones, so it would be nice if they could provide a wet wipe. The water in the bathrooms wasn't running at all, so washing hands wasn't an option. I do understand that running water is unpredictable in this area, so I don't blame the restaurant for that at all, but wet wipes after messy food you eat with hands would be a nice touch. We felt it was a little pricy considering where we are, but the food was all very delicious and we did enjoy eating there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, nice back yard, absolutely reccomended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Outside looks empty but there is nice garden behind.
This is of the few restaurants I would trust the quality of their food. The service and the atmosphere are excellent. They offer range of Zambian and different African food so it is a place to enjoy the tastes of Africa, also some international food such is pizza, salads etc.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
“Best Restaurant in Zambia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Ive been voulneteering in zambia for 2 months now and havent found a better place then zambezi cafe. The food is very good . Have tried almost everything from crocodile, goat curry, masala chicken. They also have live music nights on Sunday which is good . The atmosphere is very upbeat. I voulenteer in Lusaka but always visit Livingstone and Cafe Zambezi . Highly recomended, dont miss out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.