We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food. Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Livingstone
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Caribbean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good local food. Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

You can eat local, or not here. Plenty on the menu.
Had a nice Beef dish with Nshima. Good value as the portion was big.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    125
    58
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Seating is either inside which looks more formal, or outside in a large enclosed area on picnic tables. There is a bar in the front and the crowd is friendly and noisy! Nice menu, tasty food. A fun place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great delays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The food was great. The food was generous but it came after more than 30 minutes waiting. The toilets are just next to the eating area and a lady vomiting in there took away all my appetite (yucks!!). Great and friendly staff too. They also had traditional heating system (imbawula) for the night was cold and the place partly is open roofed. Cool place, great food...a walking distance from The Fawlty Towers

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaGoodall, Manager at Cafe Zambezi, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am glad that you liked our food, appreciated our generous portion size and friendly service. In regards to your 30min wait, our food is prepared fresh to order so that we can provide you with the best quality food with the best flavours possible, a wait of about 30 mins is expected for main meals during busy periods. In the evenings this time of year our restaurant is packed each night and we run out of tables four or five nights a week. We strive to push food out as fast as possible while keeping food fresh and of a high quality.
In regards to the bathroom incident, we do place our seating as far from the bathrooms as possible, and they are cleaned regularly throughout the night, unfortunately we cannot control how other guests use the facilities. They are no longer in the corner due to the extension of the restaurant twice since opening but they are not close to the majority of the seating, we are in the process of extending again which will mean the bathrooms are being re-done and tables will be further from them.
We hope to see you back in the future so you can see our exciting new extensions, including our funky new colour scheme, semi private comfy booth seating and the new cultural theatre!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choma, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent food, lovely garden with lots of candlelight and braziers provided to keep you warm in the cold season. Service not the speediest in the world, but ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge portions and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The restaurant may not look like much when you first walk in, but as soon as you pass by the grills and the smell of food cooking on the braai hits your nostrils you know you have come to the right place! There is a great mixture of Zambian, pan-African, Caribbean, and pizza options on the menu. Everything we ordered was excellent, especially the croc bites. The portions are very large so even though there are a bunch of mouth-watering desserts on the menu we didn't have room. They even have multiple options for vegetarians and those, like myself, who are gluten free!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.