We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Amazing food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Cafe Zambezi beat all of my expectations. After a great night there learning salsa and eating a delicious local meal I decided to try and get through the whole menu during my 2 week stay! I enjoyed every single meal (athough the caterpillars probably aren't my new favourite food - but it was exciting trying them), and there is so much variety, including great vegetarian options, wood fired pizzas, local options and a great bbq menu! If only there was a Cafe Zambezi in Australia near my house!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    120
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food and atmosphere in Livingstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate at cafe zambezi almost every night. The cafe offers a huge variety in terms of food, drink and entertainment . The wood fire pizzas are amazing. We enjoyed the salsa lessons and the staff are very friendly. The nights we were there were very busy so orders took a bit longer. Definately worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good location, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place looks the part, got a decent menu and when we went most things were available but we waited ages - even for African standards for things to turn up. Food eventually was nice enough but not great when considering the price. Ended up getting groceries from the Spar and cooking up in hostel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
1 review
“Its a nice bar and restaurant and the service is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I lke the place its within town every thing u whant u can find it ATM filling station is near and super markets

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best of Livingstone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Café Zambezi. It’s a place like no other in Livingstone. Truly, it has all the qualities of a restaurant that you choose when looking for a place to enjoy a nice meal, catch up with friends over a glass of wine, listen to a bit of music (and dance if you feel!), and just simply enjoy the time. On top of this atmosphere, there is a wonderful variety of food and the staff are attentive. They are always aiming to please the customers. While living here, it has become my second home. Thank you Amit and Xana for making this place beyond special.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.