We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cross Cultural.Represents the the locals,excellent pizza,lekker talent viewing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Shop 214, 217 area, mosi-o-tunya rd., Livingstone, Zambia
+260 97 8978578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Lusaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cross Cultural.Represents the the locals,excellent pizza,lekker talent viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service needs some fine tuning.The order & delivery time needs a bit of help.It gets quite busy for the staff to handle the orders sometimes.Order a span of dopes at such times to tide you over such busy times.They will get the hang of it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    120
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place to eat and have a good night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here one night while in living stone it has a wide menu to suit all tastes and the food is really tasty. There is a really nice atmosphere also especially at night time in the outdoor section at the back. Best place in living stone to eat. Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GET THE BANANAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

as tourists from down under, we absolutly loved the food, staff and atmosphere of cafe zambezi. we came twice in a row and as we were in a group of 18 ordered just about everything on the menu. Peri-peri croc bites very scumptious, and thats an aussie talking. But the best is definatly the cinnamon bananas :) the entertainment provided a nice atmosphere. VERY highly recommend this restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food is very good the and there is plenty of choice. My recommendation is for the Kenyan steak . However the best part about Cafe Zambezi is the staff they go out of their way to make you comfortable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Group of 18”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were a group of 18 school kids from Melbourne (16-18 yo and three adults) who went there for dinner one night and loved it so much we came back the next. A great mix of local food and western stuff; I had wood fired pizza one night (the best pizza I've had in a long time!) and Kenyan steak the other. Both were a good size and left me full (but not to full for dessert). I also tried peri-peri crocodile and fried bugs and loved them both. As for dessert I can highly recommend the caramalised bananas in cinnamon. On a budget of about USD$15 per person most people were ale to have a drink, mains and either staters or dessert but if you're just after mains then you'll be fine on a lot less. The service was surprisingly fast for a large group and everyone was really friendly. Furthermore, there was live music there the last night, an added bonus. On the whole; good food, good service, friendly atmosphere and if I return to livingstone I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zambezi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.