We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up, Up and Away in very windy conditions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batoka Sky

Batoka Sky
Livingstone, Zambia
+260 21 3320058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Activities in Livingstone
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Batoka Sky has been active in the aviation industry since 1993 and is the only aviation operator in Zambia that is licensed to operate helicopter, fixed wing and micro lights. Due to the close proximity of Maramba Aerodrome to the Victoria Falls, our aircraft are within half-a-minute reach of the Zambezi river. The surrounding National Parks ensure a host of exciting game sightings, and shortly after take off you can be enjoying breathtaking views as you circle over the magnificent Victoria Falls. Our flights can be combined with many of the other adventure activities in Livingstone, offering good value for money.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Up, Up and Away in very windy conditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Yet again we went up in the Microlight at Batoka Sky in Livingstone. This time we were whisked away as soon as we arrived as the weather was 'brewing' and they wanted to get our flight done before they had to cancel as storms were coming.
We chose morning again as it is the best time - afternoon has more updrafts especially over the Victoria Falls! As it was the Wet season and the rains had started the river was not so clear to see the hippos and crocodiles below. There were elephants and other animals to see though. My only complaint would be that with the 'new' money in Zambia all attractions are much dearer and this particular one was up 40% so it will be the last trip. The pilots and staff are wonderful and the CD of photos is well worth the small amount asked for it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livmargaret, marketing consultant at Batoka Sky, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you so much for flying with us & for speaking so good about the pilots & staff. We are glad you found the CD of the photos well worth the small amount asked for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    7
    6
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Feel The Freedom.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

a breath taking trip, feels the Breeze coming from the waterfalls like a brid flying freely.
sees the Hipos, elephants, crocs from above,The View of the waterfall from the top is fantastic
Pilots were frndly and provided us with alot of info about the area. Enjoy :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My two teenagers and I had a fantastic flight over the falls! Our tour manager (Mambo Tourism) worked with the company to ensure that we were in the smallest of their helicopters....for 3 passengers and the pilot. This provided for such great views all over and no one had to lean over anyone. The pilot was very good and provided information, answered questions and a great tour.
We've done several helo flights over various places and this is one of the best, and at a reasonable cost. The company is very safe, organized and accommodating. I would highly recommend them.
We plan to return and do the microlight flight soon.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ultra light flight over Victoria Falls, truly Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I recently visited Victoria Falls. We stayed on the Zimbabwe side and were interested in flying ultralights over the Falls. Some recommended choppers, but I am glad we took the extra hassle to cross the Zambia border (we had to get a double entry Visa to Zimbabwe, but the expense was worth it and the transfers timely and great facilitators at the border). I don't particularly like heights, but was really looking forward to this activity. We went via Batoka Sky and we can't speak more highly of them. Both the pilots my wife and I had were professional and informative. This activity was truly the highlight of the trip. We went on the elephant back safari the next morning which we enjoyed, but we almost dropped it to repeat the ultra lights it was that fun!

They don't let you take a camera, but for another $20 they gave us a CD with over 100 photos from our flight which were outstanding. Getting the aerial view of the falls gave us a much better perspective of everything as we walked around the falls later on foot. I can't recommend this activity more!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Microlight flight was terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The short microlight flight over Victoria Falls and the national park surrounding the Royal Livingstone Hotel was just right. A must-do for anyone wanting to see Victoria Falls. The CD is well worth it, too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batoka Sky also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Batoka Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batoka Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.