We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you dare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Pool

Devil's Pool
Victoria Falls, Livingstone, Zambia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Livingstone
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is very little information about this attraction, and it has been listed as an internet hoax, but it is a genuine attraction and it is accessible through the company 'Tongabezi' at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A must if you dare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

its the best thing if you are a adrenaline junkie, best watch a few youtube video before you decide. You are going across from the Livingstone Hotel and you can only do it when the water is running low

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    51
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Once in a life-time experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a fantastic half-day trip from Livingstone. The team at Tongabezi are brilliant and really look after you. I was really worried about getting to the pool (I'm not a great swimmer and very unadventurous!) but its really no more than a paddle and the guides completely look after you - checking if you are ok, telling you where to step etc. Just do as you are told, you're in very safe hands!

The team were also great at taking exceptional photographs and filming you and the surrounding area (you just give them your camera and there's no extra charge for this or dodgy attempts to sell you their own footage). They take your camera at the beginning of the trip so you don't have to worry about trying to carry it to the pool with you etc. When you get back to dry land they provide towels and a meal (which was also lovely).

We have some brilliant memories and photos all thanks to Tongabezi team, I can't recommend it enough.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed viewing the falls from the Livingstone Island but was very scared of the water, it was too deep during this time of the year. I think the best time to visit this area is between July and November.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“life time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

wow! Off the charts experience. If you love unique activities this is worth your time . While it is hard to get to the pool make if you can.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun but scary and maybe not safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I loved the view and I loved that this is off the bucket list. But we went when the water was high and it felt very unsafe. I think it would have been great if the tide was lower.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Pool also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Devil's Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.