We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tree Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Green Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Green Tree Lodge
2015 Kombe Drive, Livingstone 100000, Zambia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The service was amazing! Andrew went above & beyond! I can't wait to go back! The food was the best I have had, out of any other place I have been:) The room was wonderful, cosy, comfortable. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
58
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family spent 3 nights here during early August. We really enjoyed our stay. Andrew is the best! He made reservations for us at various activities and was very helpful. The lodge is located is close to Livingstone. We were able to walk to town in less than 15 minutes. The chalet that we stayed was comfortable and the water was hot. The food was wonderful and cooked to order. This is a small hotel and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a small inn in a quiet part of town. I was thrilled that they had wireless internet. I sat under the shade of an orange tree and stitched my needlepoint while watching the Guinea fowl run around the garden. I think there were 10 different kinds of fruit bearing trees. The breakfast was nice. The service was great. The rooms were small, but clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Green Tree Lodge and we couldn't complain. Andrew was very helpful throughout our stay and helped make our trip to Livingstone a memorable one. This meant complimentary airport transfers, advising us on what activities we could do, accommodating to our various requests and best of all, great cooked meals. It is certainly a value for money, must go option for anyone planning a vacation to Livingstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family and I stayed here in Aug 2013. There were 5 of us but Andrew picked us up at the airport anyway (he arranged for a taxi to pick up 2 of us) as part of the service at the B&B.

Even though it was winter the facility was just as it looked on their website. Lush and green with all sorts of flowering shrubbery. The chalets were clean and well maintained. I loved having a fridge and the ability to make or coffee in my room. The food was excellent and freshly cooked. The dinner menu is extensive, with something for everyone.

My kids LOVED the WIFI and being able to stay connected with friends. I liked being able to check in with the office easily.

Andrew and Victoria were delightful hosts. Andrew went out of his way to arrange for some FREE transportation for us for an activity when our tour planner had completely dropped the ball. We used the taxi service Andrew recommended extensively and his prices were consistently lower than when we jumped into a taxi on the street.

The walk into town felt safe but it was closer to 20 minutes (not 10 as Andrew mentioned) but we tend to amble along so perhaps a brisk walker would do it in 10. Once in town there were many things to do- shop at the grocery store/bakery. Check out curios shops. Visit the museum. Grab lunch...or dinner.

Room Tip: I really liked the individual chalets. They have an ensuite bathroom, the ability to make tea/coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Green Tree Lodge in July 2013. Andrew and Victoria provided us all the comforts of home away from home and treated us like family! I'd highly recommend Green Tree to anyone visiting Livingstone.

Right from the time when I made the call from the USA to speak to Andrew to make the reservation, we felt that Andrew would take care of us well.

The rooms are somewhat small, but they have all the basic amenities. Clean, cozy, and comfortable. In our rooms (we had 2 rooms), the bathrooms were remodeled and looked very new. The entire property itself gave us the feeling security and comfort with a lot of room to walk around, plenty of trees, and a small vegetable garden in the back.

Food! Andrew is a chef and he proved it!. Our son is a VERY picky eater, and he ate almost nothing for a week prior in Zambia. When we arrived, Andrew said he could make anything we want. From then on, every night he would make a variety of dishes: naan, raita, mango chutney, pasta, you name it, Andrew would get us that. To the extent that our son (picky, remember?) carried Andrew's naans and samosas in the plane ride back. Just ask Andrew what you want to eat, or, better yet, ask him to surprise you!

He also arranged all our activities around Livingstone and the Chobe trip was memorable. Though bit pricey (added cost for us due to re-entry visa cost from Botswana to Zambia), but it was well worth it. Tip: Get a multiple entry visa on first arrival into Zambia.

In general, our visit to Livingstone was made extra memorable with Andrew & Victoria's hospitality and check it out for yourselves. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in Green Tree lodge as from the photos I expected somewhere more spacious. Most of the B&B's that I have stayed in in Livingstone give me a slightly claustrophobic feeling and I was hoping for something different here - but alas not to be! Having said that the rooms were clean and the food was fine but please do something about those tame guinea fowls that disturbed me for much of the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tree Lodge

Address: 2015 Kombe Drive, Livingstone 100000, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Tree Lodge is located on the outskirts of town, only 10 minutes from the Victoria Falls and 3 minutes drive from the town centre.FREE airport and Bus transfers are available on request. The lodge consists of en-suite, detached, air conditioned chalets in a peaceful, shady grove of tropical fruit trees. B&B room rates include a full breakfast, with other meals to order. The bar and pool is for the exclusive use of residents, ensuring privacy and security.There is 24 hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Green Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.