We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterberry Zambezi Lodge to your Saves list
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Waterberry Lodge at the end of a 2 week tour of South Africa and Zambia. It was a total delight from start to finish - food is good, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable and the view is simply breath taking. We had the family cottage with a double and adjoining twin room - which is great for families. The Lodge is small enough to be pleasantly intimate whilst being quietly well run by friendly, helpful staff. Our package involved a selection of activities that could be done each day which was really good - some free and some ( like bungi jumping off Livingstone bridge) which you need to pay for. The Lodge staff organize it all though, so there is no hassle. I would recommend a trip to the traditional village, where some of the staff live, as you get to meet the kids who are fab and all want their photos taken! The Lodge sponsors the pre and primary school in the village too, which is really interesting.
The lodge is on the banks on the Zambezi and you can hear the hippos call and see them ( and crocs) in the river. They sometimes come up for a wander as do elephants apparently, although thankfully they were all in the water when we saw them! There are Kingfishers galore including pied ones - that I'd never come across before, still beautiful to behold though.
I would definitely recommend Waterberry Lodge to anyone - it is a lovely place and a piece of magic in the Zambian countryside.

Room Tip: Livingstone Airport is a nightmare - long queues to get visa in and chaos getting out again. Take wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
100
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London W4
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The lodge is lovely but we were lucky enough to stay in the new farmhouse: a really fantastic experience being looked after so well in a stunning location. The staff were all great and it was good to have the chance to chat with the management team over a drink by the fire in the evening. Really helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the activities on offer - the village walk with Webby was a real insight into life in rural Zambia. And getting to see a leopard on our sunset cruise was the icing on the cake. A great place either to chill and relax or to make a base for an activity holiday in Livingstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just returned home after a 2 week adventure to Botswana and Zambia, and what a fantastic adventure it was. We were lucky enough to spend the last few days at Waterberry, chilling, relaxing and experiencing a little of Zambia. Waterberry is an amazing place with friendly, helpful and enthusiastic staff, whom nothing was too much trouble for, Moses the chef even went out of his way to type out a recipe for me (the food was delicious). The accommodation was beyond our expectations - we had a little thatched cottage right on the banks of the Zambezi. There were plenty of activities to choose from, guests can do as much or as little as they would like. I can not think of a more perfect way or a more perfect place in which to end a safari. congratulations and thanks to everybody at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

In contrast to a recent review we felt the staff made our stay. They were genuine, interested and very helpful. The setting for the lodge was magnificent, views over the zambezie without parallel. The food was delicious, yes choice was limited but I am sure that alternatives would have been found had we not liked a particular dish. We too found the sunset cruise wonderful and our visit to the falls magical. The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful. My only criticism would be our room, jacinda, which was a little dark and lacking in some creature comforts. On one day our towels and mats were not changed. On the whole though a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The larger rooms and the farmhouse much brighter and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After a six day walking safari in the South Luangwa National Park, we headed down to Livingstone for some R&R and to take in the beauty of Victoria Falls before returning to the UK. Our expectations of Waterberry Lodge were surpassed on all fronts; fantastic location, luxurious accommodation, high quality food, together with warm and friendly staff “who went the extra mile”, ensured our stay was a memorable one. We thoroughly recommend Waterberry Lodge to anybody visiting the area.

Room Tip: The sunset cruise is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived late having had a scary experience with our aircraft (the engine had caught fire), we found our lift somewhere in the airport... On arrival at the Lodge, the only concern seemed to be for "schedules" which were regimentally arranged via clip board touting staff. There was no offer of a snack to replace our missed lunch, and it had been a long and exhausting day. The service was slow, scheduled around the staff, and although there were smiles, the atmosphere was not welcoming. The guide to Victoria Falls could not have been more disinterested or bored. For example, when asked about the giraffe by the roadside the guide did not know what type of giraffe it was (one I did not see elsewhere) and just said "I dunno", with no offer or enthusiasm to find out about it - this attitude was displayed throughout our day. The setting is magic and the grounds are very beautiful with a lovely swimming pool and a watering hole. The sunset river cruise guide was excellent, and the trip enjoyable (if a little crowded). The food was disappointing. The flexible meal times was a bonus, as this was the only thing that seemed flexible. It is a long way from Victoria Falls, which was the purpose of our visit. Perhaps this more visited and commercial part of Zambia is just that, and the enthusiastic friendliness of Zambian hospitality is being lost. We were fortunate to stay in some fantastic and outstanding safari lodges in Zambia, perhaps this is why this place felt very ordinary and slightly unfriendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maddox49, Owner at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We remember these guests well because of their horrible experience with the plane catching fire which really shook up the entire family. We're disappointed with their review because of two things - we knew in advance of their stay that they had requested a lot of activities and we tried very hard to reassure them about their return travel to Lusaka. They found the driver in the airport rather than at the appointed meeting place because he was trying to find out more information about their unfortunate delay. When they were so anxious about the return flight we discussed at length the problems with driving to their next destination (too far) and contacted the airline specifically to reassure them that the plane that caught fire had been taken out of service. We were completely sympathetic to their very real fear of flying. The 'schedules' that they refer to were our attempt to put into their single full days stay all the activities we had been told they wished to do before they arrived, particularly a trip to the local village to meet the children there. We had organised this on specific request from their tour operator, but in the end the family decided they had done this elsewhere and it was not necessary. In the end the family achieved all they wanted to achieve in terms of sightseeing and shopping in spite of a curtailed visit because of the flight problems. Our lodge is 30 minutes from Livingstone - it's no secret, it's the first line on our website - the distance from the Falls is a trade off - peace and quiet and a bit of a drive to the Falls, or noise and bustle of the activities while staying right by the Falls. It's a choice. Fortunately other reports support our own view that our staff are so friendly and keen to please and do indeed retain the 'enthusiastic friendliness' for which Zambians are famous. This review shows that no matter how hard you try, you can't please everyone. We are sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay with us as much as they could have, and particularly sorry that it started off with such a fright for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My roommate and I spent two nights at the Waterberry Lodge after nine days of photographic safari. We were both exhausted (lions roaring outside your window nightly, baboons cannon balling onto the canvas of your roof, hippos bellowing at the foot of your stairs, etc.). We were delighted to find this little slice of peace and friendliness half an hour outside of Livingston. The grounds are manicured, the food good and the service excellent. While the staff did request that we stay away from the pond after dark, I did not required a guide to walk me to my room in case a stray lion or hippo was on my doorstep. We both enjoyed the respite after a week and a half of bouncing around the Kalahari in a vehicle that was engineered by persons who do not believe in coddling their passengers in thirty degree weather. Lots of fun actually but had not slept much and, with the night drives the schedule was grueling.
The lodge provided us with a Sunset boat trip complete with drinks and nibbles. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. A fun hour.
My roommate is a birder and took advantage of the expert they have on staff whose grandfather took him out as a child and taught him the names and habit of all the birds around their village. My friend went out for over an hour and was delighted with the experience. This tour around the lodge is a must for bird enthusiasts.
The room was spacious and comfortable. Mosquito netting nearly drove me crazy getting in and out of bed several times through the night but I used it anyway just in case.
I loved the campfire and drinks every night before dinner. Lots of interesting people with fascinating stories of their travels in Africa. It was a small group so we got to talk to everyone at least once.
The lodge provided us with a driver, a picnic lunch and a catapult for out day at the falls (we did not actually use the slingshot--we just waved it at the baboons who scurried away). We had a great time at the falls and enjoyed out lunch while the driver waved the slingshot at the baboons who wanted to share it with us. The driver then took us into town to the marked. There were very limited choices of native crafts. The people were friendly and helpful and we came away satisfied with out purchases.
The Lodge also supports the community pre-school in the local village for children too young to walk the 8-12 km to the nearest school. The school has grown to three teachers and up to fifty children. You can visit the school and village by boat from the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterberry Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Address: Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, family-friendly lodge in the heart of the wild on the banks of the Zambezi. Good food, lovely en suite rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Come here and enjoy river cruises, fishing and birdwatching plus all the activities around Victoria Falls, or just sit back and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Waterberry Zambezi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberry Zambezi Hotel Livingstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterberry Zambezi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.