We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Livingstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Livingstone to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Livingstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 2110 Mosi-o-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights to see Victoria Falls from the Zambia side. It is a very good property with clean rooms and a good restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location on the southern end of the main street is quiet but well positioned next to a strip mall. There are good food choices nearby - we tried Olga's and Cafe Zambezi. Both were very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ducimus,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments after your recent stay with us and for giving us a 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your compliments about the restaurant and the rooms being clean. We will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, gm@phlivingstone.co.zm,for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
34
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was there for an evening before catching a bus to Lusaka. The room was great, spacious, clean, and free wi-fi. The staff was very helpful, and the restaurant served great food. The water feature around the bar is beautiful, but makes for uncomfortable evenings as large mosquitos have made their homes in the feature. Also, you must go outside to get anywhere from the rooms and this makes for a wet journey during the rainy season, umbrellas were not always available in the spaces needed. I would also advise that the hotel is a bit overpriced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and have taken note of your comments regarding the mosquitoes.

Your interest and concern and therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Lived there 3 nights in November, alone. Room 211, pool view. Advantages - big rooms, Unreally perfect (!) service, food, quite and clean hotel with all required for 4 stars accommodation facilities, good free wifi all over the territory, taxi and travel service! Disadvantages - location (near railways and in 10 min driving from Victoria falls - 10 usd by taxi in one way, no any tourist infrastructure around).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Denis,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The lobby, restaurant, and bar area are open air, which gives quite a unique and pleasant atmosphere. Rooms are ok, not large.The dinner food was good. However, at lunch when we arrived, we were told that the only option was an expensive full hot meal buffet: Take it or leave it. The staff had no interest in providing a menu, or just doing a simple sandwich.. all we wanted. Maybe they were just following restaurant management's direction. They could certainly benefit from a "satisfying customers" seminar. The hotel is adjacent to a small shopping mall

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the pool area, not the brick wall and industrial buildings behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced as a result of you not being able to order from the a la carte menu. Your experience certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that we at Protea Hotel Livingstone are usually proud to offer. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best and we look forward to hearing from you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

For a business trip, this hotel was excellent. Free wi fi, clean rooms, no bugs/mosquitoes. Easily accessible to the airport and town. Breakfast was good. staff was friendly and very helpful. would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued GUEST,

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm glad others enjoyed this hotel; however, my 6 night stay for business was not so charming. We contacted the hotel and asked for a car to meet us at the airport. We paid 3x the price of a normal taxi, but the hotel neglected to mention that when we called. The mosquitoes around the hotel were horrible. Whoever thought a water feature was a good idea, should have done something to prevent it from becoming a mosquito breeding ground. We tried several evenings to sit around the pool, but could not enjoy ourselves because of the swarms of mosquitoes. There were also mosquitoes in the rooms, and even though each room comes with a complimentary can of bug spray it was of minimal help.

The room clean and the shower had hot water. At one point during the week some horrible was coming from the bathroom drain but the staff was able to correct it. Food at the restaurant was very good for breakfast, but dinner was over priced and of poor quality. Food was sometimes cold.

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Maybe we were there on a bad week, but if I ever return I will look for other accomodations.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool. The internet is at least somewhat adequate and train is not as loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and disappointment you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the drain in your bathroom and the food does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Livingstone is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that none of our GUESTS are inconvenienced in this way again. Please be assured that we are making concerted efforts to significantly resolve the problems with the mosquitoes.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS' expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly when we are doing wrong. Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

I can assure you that should you take the opportunity to stay with us again, you will receive our very best care and attention from the TEAM at Protea Hotel Livingstone. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, if you wish to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Protea in late January 2013. The hotel was very nice and had everything that you would expect from a 3-4 star place. It reminded me of business hotels - nothing mind blowing in the rooms, but they were clean and had access to the expected mod cons like air con, cable TV, pool, gym equipment etc. The hotel also had quite a nice bar (that unfortunately closed pretty early - possibly just due to it not being peak season) and a decent restaurant.

There was a souvenir store on site but I found it more enjoyable (and possibly useful) to buy some handicrafts from the local artisans around Livingstone at various markets. There was a very helpful activity centre which I could organise all my day trips from and made a lot of use of. Staff were all really nice and very helpful when my credit card stopped working!

Hotel is walking distance to town centre and a short cab to the falls.

There was also a small shopping strip about 200 meters down the road on Mosi-Oa Tunya that had a few take away restaurants. I didn't eat at the take away joints but did have a really fun couple of evenings at a bar in the same strip - one was quiet and I just had a couple of beers and some dinner, the next night it was absolutely packed with hundreds of Zambians cheering the national football team on in the African cup!! I made some new friends and shared some beers, it was a really great evening!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Livingstone, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly valuable to us. Please fee free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Livingstone

Address: Plot 2110 Mosi-o-Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Livingstone 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Livingstone is located on the outskirts of Livingstone, the tourism capital of Zambia. The hotel is adjacent to the Falls Park shopping and entertainment complex, so there is never a shortage of things to do at and around the hotel. Protea Hotel Livingstone offers deluxe rooms with air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, electronic safes, electronic door locks, telephone and DSTV. There is an in-house restaurant, bar, swimming pool and two conferencing facilities. The famous Victoria Falls is a mere 10kms from the hotel, making Protea Hotel Livingstone the perfect venue for sight-seeing and more. Nearby leisure activities include bungee jumping, white water rafting, fishing, helicopter rides, golf, game viewing, gorge swing, a crocodile park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Livingstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.