We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but pricey.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best but pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there from 10 - 13 Sep 13. Very pricey. They charge per person per night for B&B. The rooms are not that great. Some of the floor tiles were broken. The bathroom shower kept sipping water out on the floor. The flat screen TV was hanging on the pathway to the bathroom. Knocked my head twice!!
The good part was the food. The chef was excellent. We had breakfast and dinner and it was excellent. It is quite disappointing that for the price they charge per day per couple, they don't even have free airport transfers. If you are really bored than go on the sunset cruise. Service and quality of the resort doesn't match the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
51
102
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for just one night as our hotel of choice was fully booked over the long weekend.

Our travel agent organised a communal bus pick up from the airport which is fine but we had to wait for all the other people to come through immigration which is a bit of a hassle, and luckily we were the first hotel on the route, so recommend taking the private transfer.

Hotel reception is very helpful and the staff are extremely nice and genuine.

Overall there is nothing wrong with the hotel and the rooms are comfortable enough with a nice view of the river but agree with other reviews that the floors are v dirty and despite washing my feet, some more walking around made them look I had been out playing with the monkeys.

Shower was great though and the bed was very comfortable and there is a big tub but more than a night and you may feel a little cramped.


We went on the sunset cruise - unless you have never seen hippos and are unlikely to ever see them I wouldn't go. Perhaps it was just my interpretation but I thought this was the only boat on the river but clearly not so I'd prefer to wave goodbye to the other guests and enjoy a drink in the pool or on the deck.

Restaurant was incredibly slow for lunch and sandwiches very average - almost missed the sunset cruise, perhaps an opportunity lost? We had an a la carte menu for supper and the food was average (both tilapia and local bream oily and lacking flavour) except the puddings were quite good - trying to find a waiter can be tough. Breakfast is buffet and average,some fresh fruit but not great, no freshly squeezed orange juice, the hot stuff pretty oily and no soy or skim milk. They had a nice rye type loaf which was the highlight in an otherwise underwhelming selection. You have to pay for all water except for a bottle in the room.

The upside is that the hotel is v close to the falls and the town and they have a free shuttle to both.

This place is fine for a stop over on the way to somewhere better but I wouldn't make this ur home for more than a night or 2. We are now at Royal Chundu which is in a different category and feeling a lot more relaxed and pampered.







Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have flown up from Cape Town via Jo-Burg for a 3 night stay, included in the package we had booked were 2 "free" trips, one to Victoria falls, the other a Sunset cruise. Arriving at the airport, there was a slight mix up with the transfers, once these were sorted, we arrived at the hotel, and were given a wonderful welcome. The view looking onto the river was just brilliant. Our room was comfortable, I have stayed in better, but it had all the amenities required for a short stay. The first evening we dinned in the restaurant upstairs overlooking the river. The choice of menu was good, and the food quality fine. Drinks seemed a little more expensive, compared to South Africa. The issue came the following morning when booking our 2 "free" trips, firstly we were told that as we were in a "Conservation area" a $10.00 charge would apply per person, per trip, thats $40.00 . No previous mention of this anywhere on the booking confirmation. Not wishing to cause a fuss,we paid up. Both the trips were great, and well worth the $40.00 extra bucks. That evening we looked around the Hotel for somewhere else to eat, as we did not fancy sitting down to a semi formal meal, but preferred some "finger food". There is no where else to eat in this hotel, and that they appeared not to serve bar snacks, so we hiked next door to a backpackers hostel, and managed to get several beers, a pizza, and potato wedges for $20.00. Excellent value. The next day, we when out on a combined lion, and elephant safari ,which is better value than booking individually.On the morning of check out, I was a little surprised to see that we have been charged.for the room key card, and also an additional $10.00 due to hotel being in the conservation area, which begged the question why we were charged twice for the trips if we were already in the conservation area in the first place, also they had charged service on all the drinks, despite leaving a gratuity on each bar tap. Again on leaving there was some kind of mix up with the transport back to the airport, and to avoid missing our flights, had to bunk in with another minibus. Overall we enjoyed our stay, The hotel is well situated for all the sight seeing trips etc. Was it good value for money NO, I can't honesty say I would go back. More than a little disappointed with all the little extra's being charged.

Room Tip: Check to see what extra's you will be billed for, over & above the rate quoted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A beautiful and wonderful to start to our African adventure. Both my sister and I enjoyed the atmosphere and ambience , the hotel was located along the Zambezi river which was stunning with the evening sunsets, the staff was very accommodating and even the Chef Darren Warren did his best for vegetarians . The spa was divine and the treatments were local, thats was new for both my sister and I, sundowners and cocktails by the pool while the hippos and crocodiles enjoyed the afternoon dip was spectular , the sunset cruise and the elephant back safari and all the activities at the devils pool, too much to describe, thanks to Charity at the Hotel activities desk, our days were filled with adventure. Besides the heat and the few Mosquitoes, all was good. Thank you to the staff for their kind African hospitality, I will return with my other half.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Zambezi river and are air conditioned , rooms must be sprayed before you sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The place is ok, can't rate it more. The only big plus is its location overlooking Zambezi river that let you meet colorful Zambian sunset. All positive finishes here. The room needs some maintains and definitely miss a good clean, our floor was dirty all the three days. The main restaurant is a place to avoid...starters and main courses were absolutely disappointing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On first appearance, all looks good. Entrance is impressive, nice open air view to the river. meals are all buffet,,,, but the worst part are the rooms. We had a suite with a zaccuzi tub right in the floor between our bed and living room, odd! Decided to try the zaccuzi one day and came out immediately smelling of very strong metal??? Worst part is the overall lighting in the room, there is about as much light as if you have a night light on, really bad. One more thing, they only give free internet to 1 computer in your room, so if you and your partner each have one, you pay for second one. We went over to the Royal Livingstone and it looked amazing, we would check that out another time.
We did the boat ride to the falls and did the swim to the edge, amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a great place to start our African adventure. The accommodation, looking out on the Zambezi River, was fresh, clean and very comfortable. Both management and staff were warm and friendly and they could not do enough for you! The meals were beautiful and it was a delight, sitting at our table and looking out on the tranquility of the river. We even had a visit from a herd of elephants, not into the grounds but at the boundary fence! On our arrival we did the Sunset Cruise on the Lady Livingstone, which we thoroughly enjoyed even though we had been travelling for a day and a half!
Whilst at the David Livingstone, we also did a "Walk With The Lions" activity, an "Elephant Safari" and flew over the Victoria Falls in a helicopter. All very worthwhile activities.
We can honestly say that this was one of the most warm and welcoming places we have ever stayed. Hopefully we will return one day. A big "thank you" to all the wonderful management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The Lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.