We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Resort

Save Saved
You added White Sands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 97 hotels in Phan Thiet
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

This is a hotel that iwas under a management and staff transition during our stay. They are trying very hard to improve, but have some way to go in the customer service area. The restaurant was particularly poor for the one dinner we had there. The rest of the trip we went to Mui Nui strip to eat in the evening. Breakfast improved in the time we were there and was Ok.
The rest of the hotel was fine with great beach location, clean rooms, pleasant grounds.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
te awamutu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We travelled around Vietnam from Hanoi to Saigon and found the Hotel in Mui Ne, White Sands Resort, to be the most friendly and helpful of the places we stayed. The kitchen and Restuarant staff, the Chef and the Hotel Manager were excellent in terms of service and help and making us feel welcome.

great place to stay

Hogster from NZ

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Firstly, let me start off by saying that I hope my comments are taken in a constructive way and that they are not meant to discourage people from visiting this resort. My review is based on the knowledge that we were there at the quietest time of the year and there were only a few guests in residence.
We intended to stay at the White Sands for 13 days to have a relaxing break by the sea, but this unfortunately only lasted 3 nights before we decided to leave.
If you intend to visit this part of the world, be aware that the journey from Saigon ( +/- 200kms) can take by car between 4-6 hours depending on the traffic ( 5 hours forty mins to get to the airport on a Saturday).
I found the staff very helpful, polite and friendly and Glenn, the manager,an ex pat Australian a very nice and helpful man. The check-in, with a welcome drink was quick and efficient, but be advised they keep you passport for the duration of your stay.
The grounds are pretty and well kept and the sounds of the ocean that can be heard from most of the rooms is very relaxing.
I reserved a 2 bedroom bungalow for my stay and this was a let down.The overall feel as I entered the door was that it was drab and in need of a re-furbishment. The net curtains were full of rust coloured stains from dead insects and the lamps in bedrooms were frayed and rusted. The rooms were not so clean and I had to show the maid the cobwebs, dead insects and dust to clean. As I said earlier it is the quietest time and maybe the room had been closed for some time without being used.
All the rooms are "bungalows" and as such have a thatched roof so there are no ceilings to the rooms.
This is a haven for insects and as expected mosquitoes are a major problem. You must keep yourself covered in repellent at all times. Even after spraying the room with insecticide, insects were able to get into the room as there was a gap about 2cm above the door which was no deterrent to anything that can fly. Mosquito nets are placed around the bed, but it is still advisable to put on some repellent before retiring for the night.
As there were so few guests I did not expect a big buffet breakfast, but what was on offer was very poor indeed and I was not impressed with a plate of cold meat sitting un-covered on the table in the hot and humid atmosphere. A sure case of food poisoning waiting to happen.
The resort has a lovely secluded clean beach and that is what we went there for so we could just chill out and recharge the batteries. This lasted just 2 hours as while sleeping we were bitten by sand flies and I ended up with close to a hundred bites on my body and my wife about 50. This apparently is a problem throughout Vietnam during this time of year that we were not aware of, so once again cover yourself with repellent before going to the beach. This was the main reason for leaving White Sands earlier than planned as we were prepared to accept the shortcomings of the accommodation for the nice quiet beach.
The resort does have wi-fi but does not reach all rooms. A short walk to one of the bars and the reception is fine. not really a problem.
In summing up, this resort falls short of the mark,but with a little tender loving care
could be a real little gem .
Bazza

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We returned to this resort for our second stay whilst touring Vietnam. It was by far the best place we stayed at and offered a ocean front bungalow, good food, and fantastic hospitality, for a very good price. We were particularly impressed with the open freindliness of the staff and there desire to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.
The immediate beach reminded us of the Thomas Cook advert as it was swept and manicured every morning. The South China sea was like a hot bath to bathe in. On our last evening, as returning customers, we were invited to dine with the chef (Duc) and managment in typical Vietnamese hospitiality. The waiting staff were keen learners of English and good teachers of Vietnamese particularly Tra. Our advise to you is if visiting Mui ne do not miss out on this resort.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

After having had a great trip through Vietnam i've decided having a few days "off" at the beach.. and - following a recommendation - i've found "White Sands Resort"!!
The very best place for reflections about your trip, walking along the unforgettable white beach and just relaxing..
Having such a charming, helpful hotel crew around you, whenever you need anything, makes the whole impression nearly perfect.
The oceanview rooms are directly located 3 meters away from the beach and the nice gardens at the backside are sourrounding the whole area!
In the nights it's a little bit too calm, but you're reaching overcrowded MuiNe per taxi in 5 minutes!!
Excellent place to stay, because the relation of price and offered amenities is unbeatable!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

My wife and I spent the Tet week holiday (Jan. 23 - 30) at the White Sands and here are the bullet points;

1. Beautiful beach. Very clean and nice.
2. Room with a view - right at beach side - spectacular.
3. Everything worked nicely in the room thank you.
4. Room was spotless and kept that way throughout.
5. Proactive "green" program with the linens and towels.
6. Restaurant - above average food and service.
7. Location - very private, very quiet, perfect for relaxation and getting rid of the HCMC stress. It's about a 50,000 VND taxi to "town" (5 minutes) and a plethora of restaurants. Perfect for us.
8. Glenn the resort GM. Well, what can I say. A holiday saver for us. Long story but suffice it to say he bailed me out of a very tight 11th hour spot. Thanks yet again Glenn.
9. Staff. The only real interaction we had was with the F&B crowd. Lovely, personable, talented and their only real desire is to be helpful and wonderful. Loved each and every one. Great kids that go out of their way for guest comfort. Give yourselves a giant pat on the back and a "job well done"! One of the nicest bunch of hotel staff I have ever run in to.
10. Hotel is wired for wifi for all you workaholics (we include ourselves in that crowd) bring your laptop and enjoy a two hour breakfast by the sea with your e-mail.

So, the White Sands has just given us the perfect "decompression" week from our very complicated lives. Stress free, worry free and just comfortable all 'round. Very, very cool place to kick back, read a book, lie in the sun have a drink and forget about the real world.

Very cosmopolitan clientele. Guests were from Japan, Korea, Vietnam, Russia, Belarus, France, Austrailia and the US.

  • Liked — Room with a spectacular view
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Ok, so we took the train from busy busy Saigon to Phan Thiet. We were looking forward to a nice relaxing soothing break by the beach after the crazy Saigon.
Taxi from Phan Thiet train station is 100,000 Dong. Not bad at all, takes about 15 minutes.
White Sands resort does feel and look like it's in the middle of nowhere but that's why we chose it. We took a taxi in to Mui Ne a few times which involves telling staff at hotel to call up one and waiting around maybe 15 minutes. It's a about 50,000-65,000 Dong depending where on the strip you get off. It's ok, the strip with it's bars and food joints. That's about it. Few massage places and tourist offices.

Back to White Sands. A summary then.


Peace and quiet.
Clean rooms.
Lovely beach to look out on from beachfront balcony.
Friendly staff.


Ok, so it's Asia you expect bugs and geckos.
But you have to know you will share your room with geckos. And unfortunately if your partner is a bit squeamish about this, it makes staying in the room a bit stressful at times.
I think people need to know this if this could be a problem. The roofs are so high and thatched that holes are inevitable and the two doors have big gaps a the bottom.
We wrapped the net around us each night and unluckily a gecko fell on it scaring the life out of my wife!
There are frogs, big moths and bigger lizards around too. I don't have a problem but as I said some people do!
Beach is ok but as someone else mentioned, lots of little crabs under foot! The wind blows very strong in off the sea too.

Pool is nice if not very very cold!!
Sauna/steam room very nice also.

Food could be improved. The western dishes are very poor.

Staff very friendly but very poor English and they have a few etiquette issues like 3 or 4 of them crowding around you at a time when dealing with paying bills etc. Strange!

We stayed over Christmas and it was pretty quiet. A bit too quiet. I came to my own opinion over this trip that I need a bit more life. And I think I can get this and relaxation with a hotel more in the midst of things.

If I was to this coming from bustling Saigon and needed a few nights peace I would possibly stay here again but then move onto the strip where it would be a bit more lively and still chilled out as Mui Ne is not that crazy at all.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#23 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and try our excellent cuisine prepared in our international standard kitchen by our fully trained staff. Once you have dined here you will surely come back. Try out our health complex, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna, massage and gym all there for your pleasure or just laze about by the swimming pool or on the beach; our staff are only a moment away should you require service. White Sands Resort looks forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Phan Thiet
White Sands Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.