We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Resort to your Saves list
White Sands Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for a week and had a lovely stay. We had a beach view room and it was fantastic. Cleanliness of the rooms wasn't very good. There was still rubbish from a previous guest still in the drawers and we missed getting the room cleaned twice though it was acted on very quickly once they were notified.
The breakfast wasn't very inspiring . In fact after a couple of days I gave it a miss.
The hotel is in a lovely location with a great beach. It is quiet with not much happening in the evenings but a lovely place to relax.
Give the cocktails in the bar a miss. We tried about 3 or 4 and they were all pretty bad!
We would go back to this hotel if we returned to mui ne . The management are great , they just need to sort out their staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel itself has the perfect location with the beach on your doorstep. Everything you could want is offered on site with service minded staff who are always happy to help. The family in charge of the business are always keen to help and will go out of their way to ensure the guests are never lacking anything! All in all this resort made our holiday a brilliant one and I can warmly recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Vietnam!

Room Tip: Chose beach view if you like falling asleep to the sound of the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of White Sands Resort.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us at White Sands for the second time and we hope that you will return again next year as we really enjoy having you here.

From all the staff at White Sands Resort thank you for you stay.

harry@whitesandresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I will start this review with something positive: white sands has one of the best beaches we saw in Mui Ne. It is sprawling with soft sand and very quiet and private.

I stayed here over New Year's Eve with my cousins and we chose it because it was the only place in Mui Ne not charging a mandatory exorbitant fee for a NYE banquet dinner. It was still $135 per night which is easily 3x more expensive than any other hotel we stayed in during 3 weeks in Vietnam. When we arrived we immediately expressed some concerns about the room- we were changed a large extra fee for a 3rd bed, but the cot which was provided was very poor. We were given free drinks in the bar and our concerns were never addressed. The resort is run by a British family, the older of whom were two brothers who, from the start, were drunk and inappropriate.

The breakfasts were very bad- almost inedible. Stale croissants, and I swear, the day after their NYE party they served what could only have been the leftovers from the previous night. Also on jan1 there was not a staff member to be seen anywhere on the resort except reception and the bar was closed. I asked reception twice over an hour and a half period for a beach chair and was told to wait both times, but no one ever got it for me.

Overall my stay here was not good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Alexandra for your review of White Sands Resort.

The beach at White Sands Resort is by far one of the best along the strip if not the best.

Starting with the cost of your room please understand that your stay was during a very busy period for the area and that White Sands Resort is always competitively priced. You can see from other reviews that many other guests found our rooms to be ' great value for money'. Also had you have stayed in any other resort in Mui Ne you would have been forced to pay $100 per person for a new years gala dinner taking this into account your stay at White Sands Resort was relatively inexpensive.

The price of an extra bed is written on the booking site you booked the hotel through and so you should have been aware of the extra cost you had to pay as it is made very clear when you book with us.

I would like to make it clear that the two older men you mention were only on holiday here and that it is only my brother and myself that run the resort us being two young Englishmen.

I am sorry to hear this about are breakfast as normally guests describe it as 'good' and 'very substantial'. Perhaps it was just not to your taste we will work on incorporating some foods from America.

I am very disappointed you did not discuss any of this with myself or my brother as we had seen and spoke to your several times during your stay. Had you have mentioned anything to us it would have been resolved.

From everyone at White Sands Resort we would like to thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

White Sands resort is a calm resort with a wonderful beach. In fact the best beach in Mui Ne. Several other resorts doesn't even have a beach, only rocks.
The staff are really working hard to make everyone satisfied. Harry and Jordan, keep up the good work. We spent 9 days here and it was very very relaxing. We do indeed recommend this resort to people travelling to Mui Ne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Don't waste your money on this place. There are WAY nicer resorts in mui ne. We paid $130 per night for three people. The extra bed, for which we paid an additional $15/night, was so narrow -- like a bed from a sleepaway camp. The room itself was much dingier than one would expect for $130 in Vietnam. The linens and beach chair cushions had many stains. Things just seemed unkempt.

Breakfast buffet looked good but tasted terrible. Stale breads, much-too-greasy eggs, and yogurts that were not cold. The pho was also bad.

Service also left much to be desired in some areas. While the bartender was decent, front desk service was sub par. We asked for additional beach chairs because the beach was full, but they never came, despite asking a second time. We also asked them to look into finding a larger cot, which they promised to do. We never heard about it again.

We voiced our disappointment upon arrival, and none of it was addressed even though the owners were aware of it. They promised to look into our concerns, but nothing changed.

Long story short, there are much nicer places with equally nice beaches. We spent most of our days hanging out at Seahorse Resort due to the magnificent grounds and excellent spa. We will not be back to White Sands.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlslunde, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in White Sands on our trip to Vietnam for 1 week, 2 adults and 2 children, 4 and 10 years old. The hotel lies on the end of the Mui Ne town, 4-5 km from the center. A bit far from the shops and bars, but you can reach it all by taxi within 5 min. The hotel has very nice garden, bungalows and the pool are lovely. Everything is very good maintained. The breakfast is good. The only thing I can mention is quite high prices at the restaurant. We would like to have dinner there but even if taking taxi ride to town into account, it was 2 times cheaper to eat in town

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalat, Vietnam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After spending a hectic week in HCMC we decided that we needed to find somewhere to relax for a few days. White Sands was perfect. It is a small intimate resort that only has 29 rooms and therefore there is never a feeling of being overcrowded. The food is really excellent with both local and European options available. Price wise it offers great value for money. Ocean View rooms are recommended. Would return.

Room Tip: Ocean views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#23 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and try our excellent cuisine prepared in our international standard kitchen by our fully trained staff. Once you have dined here you will surely come back. Try out our health complex, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna, massage and gym all there for your pleasure or just laze about by the swimming pool or on the beach; our staff are only a moment away should you require service. White Sands Resort looks forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Phan Thiet
White Sands Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.