We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special autumn offer
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

The trip from Ho Chi Minh is more than 4 hours which can be exciting if you look out the window and take in the cultural adventure of the Vietnamese life. Make sure your driver is aware to give you a bathroom stop on the way and eat beforehand if you are hungry as the stop on the way will not suit much more than a cold drink and packet of chips.

The resort was remote and very quiet on arrival. We thought that we were there with very few guests. As the days (6 in total) went by we realised that there was many more guests but the resort is very spaced out giving you the feeling of privacy and individual attention.

The staff were very attentive and beautiful and the added extras were very much appreciated. We enjoyed the personalised service of everyone, especially by the poolside.

The dining area is in the most beautiful spot - overlooking the main pool and the beach. The menu, although changes each evening is limited and does not cater with local dishes.

Although the resort is very remote, we were pleasantly surprised with the fair price of food and most beverages (all wine is expensive in Asia compared to Australia so don't expect to drink it without paying much more for it).

All pricing is in $US, so be aware and take either local currency or $US with you if you plan to visit the local area or take a taxi to the town of Phan Thiet or Mu Nei.

We had a wonderful foot massage and lovely walks along the beach, giving much attention to the local fishing village bringing in their daily catch.

There is a well equipped gym (if you feel the urge) and several pools to choose from.

Let go, enjoy and relax. This is the place to not do much but enjoy being away from it all.

If you are looking for action and adventure, this may not be the place for you.

  • Liked — PEACE AND TRANQUILITY
  • Disliked — LIMITED CHOICE OF FOOD IN THE EVENING
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    35
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
116
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AbuDhabi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We arrived at this hotel after a 3.5-4 hour drive from Ho Chi Minh. It is an interesting drive and good to see the countryside but very little in the way of amenities on the way. Our toilet stop consisted of stopping at a small cafe at the front of someones house and using the toilet at the back of their home!

Vietnam is still very poor but the people we found very welcoming. The hotel was about 30 mins drive from Phan Thiet and another 30 mins from Mui Ne the nearest holiday resort. We went there one evening and the taxi cost around $40 return. Mui Ne is still quite quiet at night but the Vietnamese told us that the tourist trade had been quieter this year.

The resort was very luxurious and we were very pleased with the Mandarin villa. The bathroom was exquisit and our villa had a plunge pool directly in front of our balcony for sharing with the other guests. The resort was very quiet and there were plenty of staff on hand to wait on our every need.

It was obvious that some of the larger villas had not been completed yet but work on these was discrete and unnoticed and did not hamper the peacefulness of the resort.

The spa was lovely but treatments averaged around $80 each.

The food was very nice although choice was limited in the evening menu. There were two restaurants to choose from. Little in the vicinity to choose from although developments in the nearby road to Phan Thiet were evident.

Princess D'annam was very luxurious and service excellent although some of the staff struggled with English. The weather in December was very warm although somedays the sky was a bit overcast but still sunbathing possible.

  • Liked — Service and check in - taken straight to the room for check-in.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed for four days. First impression was of painters working overhead in the Main entrance hall. In fact, the resort is not completed. Work is still going on in the larger villas and the spa building and the dining room. Service was excellent but this is partly due to there being only a dozen or so guests! We did have a swimming pool outside our villa to ourseves, as a result.
The resort is a long way from anywhere else --34 kms to town --and there was no hotel shop so bring all you need. This should include books as there is not much else to do.
Dining was of a very high standard but rather pricey by Vietnamese standards. The wine list was prohibitive -- $55 and upwards for Australian white!
However, we did have a good relaxing holiday despite the above!

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — unsafe bath
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

I booked Princess d'annam in January based on the fact the soft opening was sceduled for April 2007. In September 2007 i received e-mail advising the resort is not open and probably will open in january 2008. I think the resort has problems because they are trying to open since 2006.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Address: Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phan Thiet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#5 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
#10 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess d’ Annam Resort & Spa is seated on the pristine bay of Ke Ga 35 km away from Phan Thiet city, Vietnam’s most southeastern province of Binh Thuan. Spanning over 45 acres on a long stretch overlooking the South China Sea, it is famed for its natural beauty – stunning mountains, red canyons, sand dunes, rich ecosystem – and its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a wide range of outdoor activities from four-wheel exploration on dirt roads or spectacular mountain raids, to playing at one of Vietnam’s best par-72 18-hole golf course at the Ocean Dunes Golf Club. Princess d’Annam is Vietnam’s first all-villa luxury boutique resort, designed with a mix of post-colonial ambience and modernist sensibility.Within the grounds, the “Princess” (as it is affectionately known amongst the locals) plays host to 57 exclusive villas, four palatial-sized pools, restaurants that elevate cuisine to an art de-vivre, 1,800m2 spa complex, and a management team supported by well-trained Vietnamese staff to give personalized attention to the discerning traveler. Stepping out, the Princess’ guest is readily offered the private beaches and the beauty of unspoiled nature."Princess d'Annam is a luxury boutique resort with traditional Vietnamese hospitality and French chic. It features a new contemporary Vietnamese tropical style of design" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess d`Annam Resort And Spa
Princess d`Annam Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.