We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class five star stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First class five star stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Princess D'Annam is a beautiful resort, but very remote from the nearest town of Phan Thiet, which is 35km away. There are no other facilities or restaurants in close proximity. Nonetheless, one does not need to leave the resort. And why would one want to? It has everything.

Check in at the arrival/departure lounge is very efficient with cold towel and fresh cold drink on arrival. We were shown to our room which was a large Mandarin Suite with a view of a pool. The bathroom was enormous. The room was very tastefully decorated.

It was a bit of a walk to the main lobby, restaurant and main pool and beach but this walk was through extremely well maintained and beautiful tropical gardens. There is a large free form pool in the middle of the resort which was protected from the prevailing winds. This pool was my 6 year old daughters favourite.

Meals were served in the restaurant next to the main pool. We spent 5 nights in the resort, and as it was low season, staff outnumbered guests, so staff almost fell over themselves to look after us.

The GM visited the restaurant on a daily basis and chatted to the guests to check that everything was to their satisfaction.

Service was outstanding. Breakfast was ordered from a really good menu when there were insufficient guests to warrant preparing the buffet. The breakfasts were superb and very well presented. One outstanding element was the quality of the pastries. I travel to France on business regularly, and I must say that the croissants, pain-au-chocolat, etc were the best I have ever had. Kudos to the French trained Vietnamese pastry chef.

The lunch and dinner menus were very comprehensive with western, Vietnamese and Asian noodle dishes. There was enough variety for us to be able to have a different Vietnamese or noodle dish for every meal. The meals were reasonably priced, for a Five star resort. If one has reservations about the prices, the superb quality, presentation and sufficient quantity should dispel any such reservations. Complementary warm mini baguettes, cheese or sesame seed rolls are served with lunch and dinner.

Because it rained a fair amount while staying at Princess D'Annam, we ordered room service a few times. Excellent is all I can say. The used cutlery and crockery was cleared within an hour on each occasion.

Princess D'Annam provides a free shuttle service to Phan Thiet a couple of times a day. It is a slow, but enjoyable trip to the town. There is very litte to see and do in Phan Thiet, but perhaps it can be used as a staging point to get to Mui Ne and the red dunes. Phan Thiet may have been quiet because it was low season, the sea was a bit rough, and not as clear as one would hope.

I have only one reservation about my stay at Princess D'Annam. The beach. At low tide it is huge as the slope of the beach is gradual and the sea travels a long way out. There are no rocks and shoes or flip-flops are not necessary. BUT, the amount of jetsam and flotsam that finds its way onto the beach is very sad. There is nothing that the hotel can do, short of daily cleaning of the beach, which is a losing battle. Perhaps the amount of rubbish is a function of the time of year and the roughness of the sea. Anyway, this is my only reservation and I would not be put off by this.

We can strongly recommend Princess D'Annam as a very worthwhile resort to spend several lazy days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and have communicated your comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Best regards,
Jean-Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    40
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
137
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014


Reception
- the reception on arrival was very friendly and helpful
- we received during our stay of all of the front desk staff always friendly and competent support. Restaurant
- the combination comfort, views , intrest and immediate response
- arranged dining and indivudal care shows us the hospitaly we enjoyed during the stay Overall very impressive beach/ location/garden and staff
@ It is recommended to consider the remote location.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We came back a resort every year for my family relax. We love this resort so much because good service, beautiful room, nice swimming pools...Check in and check out quickly and smoothly. The beach in this season was not great but ok for our family. The beakfast was excellent for all guess, delicious and dishes vary.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here during our honeymoon in mid May 2014. We were very impressed with the service and quality of the resort and staff. It was low season and the resort was virtually empty of guests. Despite that, staffs were plenty, always at the ready and all facilities were open and staffed all the time. The main pool was closed due to maintenance but we were ok with it and the manager+staff actively apologised about the inconvenince.

We stayed at the princess villa, which was spacious and very clean. We especially loved the immense outdoor bathroom and the plunge pool was a nice addition. Dining at the restaurant facing the beach was superb. Staffs were attentive, spoke fluent english and although we were the only table, served us very well. We were also given a complimentary 60min massage voucher, which was a nice surprise. During our final dinner, the manager personally came and served us free champagne and said good bye.

The only down side was that the location of the resort was remote and took 3.5 hrs drive from HCMC. Transfer from HCMC costed quite a bit ($370USD return) as well.

All in all, this was certainly the highlight of our honeymoon and we were glad to have picked Princess d'Annam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Erment,
First let me congratulate you once again on your recent marriage. It is always wonderful when newlyweds choose to stay at Princess D'Ân Nam Resort & Spa during their honeymoon especially as we are in a remote and tranquil location. The trip along the scenic road indeed takes just over 3 hours to reach our resort but we are very happy to read that you found it well worth the trip. We again apologize for fact that our main pool was under construction but we hope that the 2 other pool areas and the beach made up for this.
Once again congratulations and we wish many happy return of the day.
Best regards,
Wessel Z. Krauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was in HCMC for business for about a week and came here for a very short trip to relax. Chose resort based on photos and sense of isolation/relaxation. Certainly delivered that as I was one of very few guests at the time. Despite that the staff took their roles very professionally and service and food (no limitations on extensive menu) was excellent. Staff also very helpful with transportation options, I had taken a shared private car there but chose to take a public bus back - made much easier with staff assistance.

Greatly enjoyed sailing a catamaran around Ke Ga (island with lighthouse) and running on the beach. Watersports area well organized and serviced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Mehmet K,

Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and have communicated your comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Best regards,
Jean-Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at this resort earlier this year, and I have to say, this resort was stunning. The landscaping, architecture and scenery was beautiful. I wasn't expecting anything much, but the resort was much better than what I could have dreamed. Thinking to stay only one night, my family and I extended our stay to three nights.
I've read many reviews regarding the location of the resort, but if you go biking like my family did, you would see a lot more. Biking around I got to experience the culture of the village and see the dragon fruit farms. If you want to see truly spectacular coast lines I would recommend going around the area. There were some abandoned houses and resorts a couple of kilometers away, and although it might seem creepy, I liked passing by the buildings and watch the waves crash by on the rocky shoreline. My family even crept into a buddhist temple which was another incredible experience.
The food was good, and the staff were really friendly, one comment would be that if you are traveling with young children, there is no kids club and there isn't much for little ones to do. I was traveling with two teenagers that had fun hanging out and playing volleyball with the watersports instructors.
Overall, this place is modern, friendly, the food is great and the beach is beautiful. Even though the location might not be the best, this is a quiet, relaxing place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jade906

Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and have communicated your comments to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards,
Jean-Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our family with three young children (now 6, 4, and 2 years old) have stayed at this beautiful resort since our oldest was barely 1 year old. The resort has been through various changes in management since, most notably in the F&B operations. The unique buffet/à-la-carte breakfast has always been one of the best we've experienced, though somewhat less refined now than when we first came 6 years ago. On the other hand, the F&B staff have remained extremely professional and attentive, making our dining experience a first-class pleasure. Same kudos go to the guest facility staff (beach, pool, housekeeping, maintenance). However, our most recent two stays revealed a weak link in the guest services chain. Both times, though we made our reservation in advance with a request for assignment of specific units in the resort due to the need for easier access to the restaurant and beach for our young children, we were told both times that those units were all taken up. As it turned out, this was not true. We made a point to pay close attention during our most recent stay regarding this issue. Upon checking in, we repeatedly asked the check-in staff person to give us one of the eight units instead but she insisted they were all taken and that the one we were given was just as nice! (as if we couldn't tell the difference after haft a dozen stays and despite our explanation of why we wanted the change). She also passed the buck to the reservation staff, saying it was not her responsibility, without offering to work it out with whomever responsible for our benefit. Tired after the long road trip getting to the resort, we gave up. On any of our three nights there, of the 8 desirable units we saw 1 to 3 occupied making a mockery of the excuse given to us. When we brought this up with the GM on our last night there, he was gracious and apologetic but merely passed us on to the reservation manager. This gentleman's explanation was at best incomplete, saying that 4 or the 8 units were taken out of service for scheduled maintenance. No explanation on why none the remaining four was offered to us. In any case, this explanation did not conform with those given to us by the reservation and check-in staff. Which was the truth? The GM never got back to us. We were left with an unsettling feeling that there might have been some yet undiscovered reason why our wishes were not honored despite being loyal guest over the years. In summary, apart from this disappointing experience, the Princess D'Annam remains our top choice for a relaxing, pampered stay at the beach for either adults or families with young children and thus our five-star rating. Keep up the good work and try to work out this uncharacteristic wrinkle soon!

Room Tip: For easier access to the main restaurant and beach and still have a nice view, try to get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Cal N

Thank you for your patronage and your insightful observations. One week before your family arrives, when this particular villa request came to our attention, our Reservation Manager convinced you to stay in another location, as your preferred room location was not available. These rooms were already reserved for a yearly deep cleaning program, but also as you have three young children and we had already guests at near proximity, whom had requested a very quiet location. On arrival to our resort, your family insisted to get the earlier requested location, our receptionist informed them that these rooms were occupied but they were in fact blocked for special cleaning. I am apologizing for this misunderstanding, so as my Room Division Manager, however at the time, there was nothing we could do as these rooms were clearly not ready for sale but also because we did not want to locate a family with young children next to guests whom had specifically asked for a quiet villa. On departure, I farewell your family and they said that they will be back soon and therefore, I was on the impression that this mater had been resolved to their satisfaction. I apologize for the incident; we will certainly endeavor to satisfy your room requests in future, the best of our abilities.

Best regards,
Jean Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Address: Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#3 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phan Thiet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
#11 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess d' Annam Resort & Spa is seated on the pristine bay of Ke Ga 35 km away from Phan Thiet city, Vietnam's most southeastern province of Binh Thuan. Spanning over 45 acres on a long stretch overlooking the South China Sea, it is famed for its natural beauty - stunning mountains, red canyons, sand dunes, rich ecosystem - and its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a wide range of outdoor activities from four-wheel exploration on dirt roads or spectacular mountain raids, to playing at one of Vietnam's best par-72 18-hole golf course at the Ocean Dunes Golf Club. Princess d'Annam is Vietnam's first all-villa luxury resort, designed with a mix of post-colonial ambience and modernist sensibility.Within the grounds, the "Princess" (as it is affectionately known amongst the locals) plays host to 57 exclusive villas, four palatial-sized pools, restaurants that elevate cuisine to an art de-vivre, 1,800m2 spa complex, and a management team supported by well-trained Vietnamese staff to give personalized attention to the discerning traveler. Stepping out, the Princess' guest is readily offered the private beaches and the beauty of unspoiled nature."Princess d'Annam is a luxury boutique resort with traditional Vietnamese hospitality and French chic. It features a new contemporary Vietnamese tropical style of design" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess d`Annam Hotel Phan Thiet
Princess d`Annam Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.