We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When I booked this hotel for the Chinese New Year, I just thought it would be a nice, relaxing beach holiday. As somebody else wrote below, I somehow expected to be pleased but not overwhelmed. But, I was so wrong. The Princess' D'Annam is not about superficial luxury, instead it's about tranquility, attention to detail, TOP service and perfection. It is expensive, but it is well worth it if what you want is a relaxing holiday where you feel everything is taken care of. I was shocked to find out the hotel is fully booked and I can't tell.... Further more, it is kids' friendly in the right way. There is no Disney or Donald Duck entertaining the kids, but there is a well-stocked kids' club that comes in handy when the sun is scorching hot, a kids' menu and the staff is all attentive to kids. Congratulations. My best beach resort-type stay in South East Asia since 2006. Only drawback, at least for my husband, no diving. But the catamaran and kite-surfing are good alternatives for those looking for some some adrenaline release.

Room Tip: Walk to the tip of the beach right in front of the lighthouse - great picture spot -- and in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Best regards.
Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    40
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
137
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days over the Christmas holidays as part of our wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very attentive and warm. It was a nice break from noisy and chaotic HCM. Although we prefer to venture out to explore and eat, however it was just easy and more relaxing eating our meals there. The prices were pretty reasonable for a resort and most of the local dishes like pho, clay pot fish were very good. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the resort following a fantastic 2 week tour of Vietnam. Arriving at the resort after a long but interesting 4.5 hour journey from Ho Ch Minh City, we were welcomed by friendly faces and a refreshing ginger tea.
The friendly faces from all the staff are something that will linger long in the memory. The resort has a policy of using a large proportion of local people, training them and also teaching them English. Wherever you walk around the beautiful gardens and buildings they all offer you a smile and a warm welcome.
The resort is probably one of the best we have ever stayed at, especially in terms of its design. The food was excellent and we cannot understand the comment that said that the menu would be limiting for a stay longer than a few days. We opted for the Degustation menu on our last night to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. It was stunning! Yes, it cost - but much better value than the equivalent meal in the UK.
The beach is beautiful and do get up early and watch the fishermen bringing in their catches. Keep an eye out for them catching large 'shrimps' at low tide using a conical shell suspended down a hole. Amazing!
We cannot thank everyone enough for our stay - from the lovely waitresses and the lad who laid out our towels for us around the pool and brought us chilled water and fruit everyday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Mandarin Suite which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wonderful cabins are scattered between numerous swimming pools. Each room has an enormous bathtub, a walk in shower, and a large back porch overlooking a pool. The morning breakfast is a fantastic all you can eat of anything on their menu including petite steaks, pho, fruit plates, eggs any style, cappuccino, or anything else imaginable. There's also a wonderful gigantic swimming pool with endless edges which is wonderfully relaxing.

Two drawbacks to this visit -
1. If you do not have a car, it is difficult and expensive to go anywhere to eat other than the resort restaurant. The restaurant is excellent, but the pricing is more similar to western fine dining prices, so be prepared if you have calibrated yourself away from that price range.
2. Getting there is a $100 taxi ride each way from Saigon. Call the resort and they will send a car to pick you up. Other options are taking a bus to Phan Thit and then taking a taxi (not recommended as it is a long bus ride and isn't all that convenient). There are also local bus companies which locals use that are more direct, but still a bit convoluted as they drive all over Saigon picking people up and then all over the shore dropping them off. Price is moderate, but coordinating is not easy even if you speak Vietnamese.

Room Tip: All Rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spa
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at PRINCESS D’ÂNNAM Resort & Spaand have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well when the hotel manager goes above and beyond and turns what at check in, looks to be a horrible mistake, into a great experience you have to give these guys 110%. We used a travel agent that indicated we were getting a villa with "a bedroom and a living room" We arranged for another bed trying to save on cost for my 23 year daughter. When we arrived the villa with two rooms turned out to be one large room with the additional bed at the foot of our bed and virtually no room to go around it - the living room was part of the bedroom- the bathroom not very private. Our travel agent just avoided us and basically said nothing could be done. When I talked with the hotel manager he graciously gave us another villa for my daughter at no additional cost. That was way over and above.

The rest of the stay went exceptionally well. The restaurant had excellent - excellent food. When we complemented the staff on the food the next thing we know the chef is out talking to us and then made a point of each night coming out and talking with us. It was so good my daughter said he should write a cooking book. We ate almost every meal there. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all phenomenal. My mouth is watering thinking of some of the meals we had.

The resort is a drive to get any where so you should plan if staying here for walks on the beach, dipping in your own private pool, and relaxing. The beach is your own besides the locals and a couple of cows, there are no other resorts in the area.

This is a photographers dream in a fishing village just a few hundred yards down the beach. The village is not much but the fish trading on the beach, the round fishing boats going in and out, and the sunrise or sunsets, make for a whole bunch of film.

Pricing for food and drink are pricey for vietnam - but then the food was outstanding - if you don't mind paying for outstanding food and service, then you'll love this place.

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty much the same in the "princess villa class". They are private walled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at PRINCESS D’ÂN NAM Resort & Spa
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at PRINCESS D’ÂN NAM Resort & Spa and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Though its location and the transportation from Saigon there is a big turn-off (you need to have your own car to get there), the resort is indeed well worth a visit. Out of 3 villa types, the cheapest one Mandarin Suite is definitely the best with much better layout & view. There are plenty of pools around the resort with not many people so don't be fooled by the idea of a private pool inside the more expensive villas because they are tiny and surrounded by walls. Phan Thiet is around 1 hour drive from there and beside that there's absolutely nothing worth getting out of the resort for. Food at the resort's restaurant is pretty good but if you stay there for more than 6 meals (2 days), you might be bored of the options. I love their breakfast offer that is inclusive in the room charge. You can order all you want from the menu so it's not just the simple buffet you normally find at other resorts. Spa services are mediocre if you have to pay full price. There are discounts of 50% off the spa menu and 30% off the food so prices are reasonable for 5 star services & facilities. Beware, there is absolutely NO activity at night though there's a bar, pool room with chess boards and other board games. All in all, it is definitely the nicest resort to totally unwind and relax if you are thinking of going to Mui Ne - Phan Thiet - Ke Ga area for a mini getaway.

Room Tip: Mandarin Suites are definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Princess D’Annam.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princess D’Annam and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As the GM of a tour operator I see many hotels and resorts in Asia and habituation kicks in easily. So I somewhat expected to be pleased but not overwhelmed by this resort as there are so many in the Far East. I was wrong. The Princess' D'Annam is not about shiny doorknobs, the largest flatscreen TV or iPod docking stations, instead it's about perfect tranquility, delicious and almost therapeutic Vietnamese food (try their fish soup, best we've had in Asia), considerate and non-intrusive service. The massage treatment we had was better than any we tend to get in China. If you're high-end but not necessarily 'bling' and are looking for a reinvigorating stay outside of HCMC as an expat or traveller, there is no better place.

Room Tip: If you can, do upgrade to a Princess Villa, the additional privacy and plunge pool will really add t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princessannam, General Manager at Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Princess D’Annam.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princess D’Annam and have communicated your comments to all our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in future,
Best regards, Jean-Philippe Beghin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa

Address: Ke Ga Bay, Hon Lan, Tan Thanh Commune, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#3 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phan Thiet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
#11 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess d' Annam Resort & Spa is seated on the pristine bay of Ke Ga 35 km away from Phan Thiet city, Vietnam's most southeastern province of Binh Thuan. Spanning over 45 acres on a long stretch overlooking the South China Sea, it is famed for its natural beauty - stunning mountains, red canyons, sand dunes, rich ecosystem - and its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a its historic lighthouse built by the French in 1899. The region offers a wide range of outdoor activities from four-wheel exploration on dirt roads or spectacular mountain raids, to playing at one of Vietnam's best par-72 18-hole golf course at the Ocean Dunes Golf Club. Princess d'Annam is Vietnam's first all-villa luxury resort, designed with a mix of post-colonial ambience and modernist sensibility.Within the grounds, the "Princess" (as it is affectionately known amongst the locals) plays host to 57 exclusive villas, four palatial-sized pools, restaurants that elevate cuisine to an art de-vivre, 1,800m2 spa complex, and a management team supported by well-trained Vietnamese staff to give personalized attention to the discerning traveler. Stepping out, the Princess' guest is readily offered the private beaches and the beauty of unspoiled nature."Princess d'Annam is a luxury boutique resort with traditional Vietnamese hospitality and French chic. It features a new contemporary Vietnamese tropical style of design" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess d`Annam Hotel Phan Thiet
Princess d`Annam Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess d'Annam Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.