We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Hai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Hai Resort to your Saves list
Phu Hai Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 8, Mui Ne Road, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

It's a very nice and quiet place for the reasonable price with the friendly staff. They have everything for the good rest: nicely designed pool, wide clean beach, good cuisine, gym, spa center, fine and neat green territory, worthy accommodations, tennis courts, karaoke, girls' musical band to sing popular songs every night in the restaurant, etc. It is really a bit far from tourist center in Mui Ne with its plenty of restaurants and shops, but there is no problem with the cheap taxi. It was only one night we could hardly call the taxi, but that was because of the New Year's fuss, I guess. Besides they have shuttle bus to drive hotel guests to Mui Ne and back. The beach is very large and clean with no people from other hotels. This was a good advantage for us. The breakfast was good. We usually had lunch in the hotel and sometimes stayed for dinner as we liked their cuisine. Frankly, I can’t remember anything we disliked about this resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
35
36
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We booked here as it was quite difficult to find family accommodation in Mui Nie. The resort is just outside the main resort of Mui Nie but only a couple of dollars in one of the many cabs.
The resort itself is stunning, but it does seem a little souless and took a day to get used to the lact of atmosphere.
We had a fabulous two bed cottage right on the beach, it couldn't have been more perfet. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean, with a fabulous outside shower, however the decor was a little sparten.
The resort has the most amazing pool, the biggest we have seen so far on our travels.
The staff were very helpful when you needed them although a little shy initially.
Having looked at other accommodation in Mui Nie I think I would stay here again if I returned.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

we stayed in a beachfront 1 bedroom villa only feet from the ocean.
Our villa was fabulous, especially the outdoor/indoor shower which we loved.
Looking up at a coconut palm whilst showering is really something.
Breakfast is good. Also had dinner a few nights and enjoyed our meals.
They have a great pool area with a bar/food hut. However most of the guest are in the surf . Beach is clean and safe and local round boats and trawlers move around just a little way out. They are wonderful to watch. Staff are really sweet and will do what they can to help you. Although it is not on the "strip" at Mui Ne (which we are happy about) there are taxis just at the resort entrance that will whizz you there in two minutes for very little money. So we will be going back again next year.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Our decision to stay at the Phu Hai resort was based on trip advisor reports, that it had 2brm accommodation for families and it could accommodate our group of 23. We wanted a beautiful relaxing resort to celebrate our 40th birthdays, and we found it.
Walking into the gorgeous Phu Hai Resort was well worth the 4 1/2 bus trip there (wish there was an easier way). We were greeted at reception warmly and were given complimentary vouchers for massages.
We loved our 7 night stay at the Phu Hai and this is why:

SERVICE:
from the moment we checked in til we left the service was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, Tran at reception was great, always happy to give advice and answer our many questions. Whenever we had room issues they were fixed promptly. The breakfast/dinner staff were also good and seated us promptly. The pool bar staff were also great. Yes there is a language barrier but that is to be expected. The staff try very hard to help you out and you do get there in the end. The staff were great with the children. the resort is kept very clean, and you will see the staff always sweeping the path or raking up leaves.

ROOMS:
The accommodation styles at the resort are villas or low level hotel style. We stayed in the 2 brm sea view villa. The villa was gorgeous. We liked that the children had their own room and bathroom upstairs. Our only gripe would be that it did get quite hot at times upstairs, as the A/C did not cool the area upstairs efficiently. The hotel staff did come and fix the reoccurring issue promptly. The A/C worked extremely well downstairs. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh fruit and bottled water were left for us. We all loved the outdoor shower, and the sunken bath, nice touch. The hotel staff spray the room with raid just before tea, so we found minimal mosquito issues.

BEACH/POOL:
the beach is nice, but not amazing. Our stretch of sand is raked every morning and kept clean from rubbish. The beach does have waves and can be choppy, it is ok if you don't go out to far. There is a pontoon, but you do have to be a good swimmer to get out there and back. There is rocks, but they are not an issue as they are used as a boundary. Plenty of sun lounges. I recommend you go to the beach in the morning as the breeze picks up in the afternoon. When i heard about the wind at Mui Ne i was a little concerned, but when i was there i welcomed it in the afternoon as it was a relief from the very hot days.
the pool is wonderful, very big, waterfall area, shallow and deeper areas. A bit more shaded areas would be good as the water does get hot by the afternoon. Plenty of sun lounges, where you are able to eat your lunch that you order from the pool bar. Life's hard sometimes.

LOCATION:
we loved the location, it was peaceful, it is away from the main strip which we liked. The main strip of Mui Ne is a 5 minute taxi ride, so not too far away if you need more action. We would often go for dinner into the main strip and highly recommend the Guava Bar for a great seafood BBQ, especially the tiger prawns and the Forest Spa for a great foot massage. If you want to go to Phan Thiet for supplies it is about 10 mins in a taxi the other direction.

LIKED:
breakfast - the Pho was yummy, but there were also plenty of western options as well
service
pool
massage near beach
Taxi ride to see the Mui Ne fishing village, looks great, smell is not so great
sunsets

DISLIKED:
walking along the beach, as further up the beach where there were no resorts, the beach had lots of rubbish. This rubbish seems to wash up on the beach from the many fishing boats.

Hope you enjoy as much as we did

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbacanuck
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We had been traveling around Vietnam and Cambodia for two weeks with out two daughters (ages 7 and 9) and were looking forward to a week on the beach to cap off our trip. There were few reviews on the Phu Hai resort so we weren't sure what we were going to find upon arrival.

Overall, we had a super experience. We stayed in a 2br beachside villa which had a terrific view of the ocean and was just steps away from the pool. The outdoor shower in the villa was fantastic.

The pool is very large and provided endless entertainment for our girls. We were at the hotel during the Christmas to New Year's period so the hotel was very full but we never had a problem getting chairs by the pool. There is also a gym on premises with a modern fitness bike and treadmill in case you don't want to run on the beach.

The beach does not have the white powdery sand you find in Mui Ne central but the descriptions from other travelers that the beach is "rocky" is inaccurate. There are some rocks that are part of a breakwater stretching out away from beach to protect the beach area. Depending on the way the wind blows (most days there was a 10-20mph breeze which kept the bugs down), there were some fun waves to bodysurf in that were manageable by both our girls. Even at high tide, there was at least 40-50 ft of beach between the water and the hotel property rockwall.

The breakfast buffet was terrific. You could go Western or Asian or both depending on your appetite... plenty of hot and cold dishes, eggs to order, a different "pho" each day, freshly made baguettes, and incredible trays of fresh fruit. Some hotel guests were on a meal plan and ate many of their dinners at the hotel... the setting is spectacular as they set up a large buffet on an outside terrace... we tried it once and found the dinner entrees to be average/mediocre but at least our girls were amused by the live entertainment (3 vietnamese singers working through a catalog of 70s and 80s hits).

The hotel is 2-3 km from the main hotel/restaurant strip in Mui Ne. You can get a taxi at any time that cost approximate $2-3 for the 5 minute trip. To some, not being in the middle of the action is a negative. To others, like us, being a bit outside of the strip was a real plus... we could easily and cheaply take advantage of the Mui Ne restaurants but get away from the traffic, noise, bustle, etc. the rest of the time.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My family and I have been there for almost 1 week and it was ok.

Positive points
Nice garden
Beautiful pool suitable for little children
Free tennis court
Free vouchers for massage and cocktails
Clean and quiet.

Negative points
Far from Mui Ne (not a bit far, really far!)
Average breakfast, we would have expected more for this kind of resort.

  • Liked — Great pool
  • Disliked — Far from the city
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

I stayed with my wife for 14 days to this resort. I found many positive
points as well as many negatives. When we arrived we found a very
nice Hotel, excellent gardens, very good swimming pool, kind staff,
nice dinner buffet in good price (I think 12$ p.p.). To the negatives
points we found, the distance from the Mui Ne center (10' with the
shuttle, 1-2$ p.p. one way, twice only per day) this makes you feeling blocked. The internet is very expensive comparing with the cafes in Mui Ne. Wireless free at the lobby.The Beach is not so nice as shown to the pictures, generally is very rocky with big waves and to small.The staff as a said is very kind but to "language", some of them they do not understand the word "passport".
This year we will return to Mui Ne but to the No 1 Resort (my opinion) Teraccota Resort. The main reason was the fact that Phu Hai is almost isolated.

  • Liked — Excellent Rooms, cleanliness, amenities
  • Disliked — Location, Beach
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Hai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Hai Resort

Address: Km 8, Mui Ne Road, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#13 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#15 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Hai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phu Hai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Hai Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Hai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.