We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse to your Saves list
Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse
Lane 224, Nguyen Dinh Chieu st, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 96 Phan Thiet B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view from terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Great view from the roof terrace, where the breakfast is served. great pool, clean. the owner (?) is very nice and helps you with everything you need. jacuzi is nice after a long day around mui ne. great place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice bungalows and pool. Breakfast is a little too simple for the price you pay: baguette, butter and jam, juices (not fresh..) coffee or tea but no fruits..
The owner comes to the guesthouse every now and then, not on a regular basis so if you need something, you have to call, can get expensive..
We asked her if she provides a transfer to the train station and she said yes, it would be a private driver and he would bring us to the station for 300'000 VDN. By taxi it is 550'000 VDN so we thought this is a good price and didn't look for an alternative as we akes her a few times and she always confrimed. On the day we had to leave to take the train to Saigon, there was no private driver but a taxi driver and of course, he would charge 550'000 VDN..the owner, of course, was not around, she just popped in quickly in the morning to write the bill and disappeared again and we paid to the cleaning lady... When we noticed the taxi was for our transfer, we called her. She came and said she thought it would be to a different train station however, there is only one train station where the train to Saigon stops and she knew we were going to Saigon and from that train station as the Vietnam Railways called her to confirm our tickets and the address to deliver the tickets.. She said the taxi would only charge us 500'000 instead of 550'000...We were not happy at all since we had leave and didn't want to pay 500'000 because she confirmed a transfer to us for 300'000... she didn't care a lot so at the end we managed a transfer for 400'000 VDN... Very unpleasant and again, a typical Vietnamese behaviour which is to deny any mistake and not want to make any concession... Very disappointing and wouldn't go there again because it's all about ripping of guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) before travelling to Vietnam as despite not many reviews, the place looked quirky and just what I was looking for. Upon arrival I was gobsmacked at just how perfect these bungalows were and instantly wanted to stay longer than the 3 nights we had planned. Built over two floors the bungalows are of high standard with living quarters downstairs and kitchen and chill out area upstairs complete with lazy swing and comfy chairs and area to lay down should you require a little afternoon nap - absolute bliss. The room is very large consisting of a double bed (little on the hard side but that seems to be the norm in Vietnam) complete with mosquito net, mini bar fridge (there is another upstairs without mini bar), LCD TV with digital channels, rain shower, two sinks, jacuzzi bath (FAB) - the bathroom is just amazing. The gardens are gorgeous and maintained daily and the pool of good size and in the shape of a whale hence the name. The staff members were very accommodating and delivered breakfast upstairs so it was there when we got up - bread rolls, jams, fresh juice and fresh coffee all available. We hired a scooter for $10 for the day direct with the staff members which was a good price and ideal since the accommodation is a good 40 minute walk to the 'main' area so the moped came in very handy. The moped key was sitting on the breakfast tray the next morning awaiting us :) Location wise it is towards the bottom of the strip nearer Mui Ne town but there were plenty places to eat nearby which many choices and you were next door to the market selling fresh fruit, fish etc. The accommodation backed onto the beach amidst local houses etc and if you venture down to the beach you get amazing views of the sunset....(we went down one night and a couple of locals handed us two beers to sit and watch an amazing sunset which was very kind of them). If you are looking to just chill out and stay somewhere that in my opinion is easily 4 star then this is just perfect - I already want to go back !!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very good location 100m from the beach, get a good immersion of local life. Bungalows are spacious, very clean and attention to details make are lovely (photographs in bedroom, v well looked after gardens, each chalet individualised) , good pool and very friendly staff.
Free breakfast and good Internet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janot66, Owner at Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we hope to have you again at Lang Ca Voi sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel has the best service I have ever experienced. It's not so expensive - but the staff is very well trained on being attentive to their guests. They think of everything you need. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I'm spoiled forevermore by the service, staff and setting. I highly recommend this place, good value for your money and worth the experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the whales village for a couple of night and had an amazing time. Beautiful bungalows and great facilities. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly whilst I was there. Very clean and quiet. The bungalows are surrounded by a lovely tropical garden, I also loved the whale shaped swimming pool !! Good location, across the road Mui Ne beach and walking distance from the main road, market and many restaurants. I wish to have stayed longer. Excellent all round !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Whales Village offers nice rooms, amazing bathroom, a private terrace with sea-view and a funny swimming-pool with the shape of the whale.

On top of the comfort of the place itself, it is one of the rare place which also allow you to "live" in Vietnam. The guesthouse is located near to the market of Ham Tien where you will be able to do your groceries. Back to the guesthouse, you can cook your meals on your private outdoor kitchen. If you are lazy to cook, you will be able to experience the true tasty Vietnamese food a few steps away in local restaurants.

A nice way to be in Vietnam during your holidays feeling like a tourist in your hotel and like a local when stepping out ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse

Address: Lane 224, Nguyen Dinh Chieu st, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lang Ca Voi (The Whales Village) Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.