We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some tips before you book this resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Resort & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Resort & Residences to your Saves list
The Cliff Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Some tips before you book this resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It was a wonderful 4-day experience. Just leave here some tips for other travelers:
- It was almost fully booked at weekends of December, only lowest type of the room available. But even though, our room was spacious and clean. Ask for top floor if possible, we had a stunning view of sunset and sunrise everyday. Book earlier is another advice.
- Room service was amazing, they cleaned out twice and when we came back at late night, a lovely card "Good night" and two bars of chocolate were placed on our bed.
- Dont forget to check out the swimming pool: it was sooooo beautiful. But again at weekend the resort was packed, so come down early to get your benches! some benches give you better view than others.
- Dont miss the spa too - a bit hidden in one corner but once you find out, you deserve it. I've been to Phuket several times but this spa can easily beat those spas in Phuket.
- And check out their own beach, i believe it has the best beach among resorts there.
- The restaurant was truly DISAPPOINTING. That's why i give 5/6. In short: food doesn't taste right. And service sometimes good, sometimes bad, staffs need more training.

Because the food there wasn't great. So we decided to eat out more: and we found some wonderful places: on the same street, you can find a restaurant name Vietnam Home (they have a website too). Even better, they serve grilled crocodile - and it tastes good! At late afternoon, find your way to Tuyen Quang Street in the city nearby (Phan Thiet), we picked some street stores packed with local people and the food was amazing too.

Anyway, if I ever return to Mui Ne, will definitely stay here - and willing to try out the restaurant again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Darren_Le_Singapore,

Thank you very much for your good words and for taking the time to share your
experience at the Cliff Resort and Residences with others.

Our team is delighted to bring its best to satisfy your needs, offer a good service and the
attention you deserve.

I was however most disappointed to read that our Vista Restaurant clearly did not meet
your expectations. We welcome all feedback which allows us to continually improve our
services and standards, and I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfall in food
service

I have addressed the issue with our Food and Beverages division, we are working on
improving the quality.

I apologize for our shortfalls on this occasion. We are always improving our activities
as complete satisfaction is our goal and it would be our pleasure to have the chance
of welcoming you back at the Cliff Resort and Residences and make your stay
unforgettable once again!

Sincerely,

Joan Casadevall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
102
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas and loved it. Not sure what type of room we had as it was booked by other family members. Room 141 looking out onto the ocean was beautiful, huge bathroom, big balcony.
Great choice at breakfast. Pool area is amazing. We stayed on the night they have the BBQ buffet down by the pools and it was fantastic value with a great choice of food.
The Zest Spa was one of my highlights. My husband and I both had 90min Thai massages for 1,155,000 dong which is approximately $60 AUD and we got 20% off this.
Staff very friendly, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Susan H,

Thank you very much for your good words and for taking the time to share your
experience at the Cliff Resort and Residences with others.

Our team is delighted to bring its best to satisfy your needs, offer a good service and the
attention you deserve.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our Zest Spa and our weekly BBQ buffet by the pool.

We are always improving our activities as complete satisfaction is our goal and it
would be our pleasure to have the chance of welcoming you back at the Cliff Resort and
Residences and make your stay unforgettable once again!

Sincerely,

Joan Casadevall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for one week hoping for some time in the sun relaxing and eating delicious Vietnamese food. The resort itself is lovely: spacious, modern rooms a huge pool area with plenty of space for both families and couples to relax and enjoy and pretty tropical gardens to look out at. The beach is average with murky water so we just enjoyed the pool. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The most disappointing thing for us was the food, it was terrible which for a country with such great cuisine was sad. The local options were bad and the western options were bad. We ended up eating at other restaurants in town every night which was fine as it's only a few minutes in a taxi, but still disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Sarah R,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of The Cliff Resort &
Residences. I appreciate your comments and review of our rooms, views and most
importantly, our staff.

I do apologize our Vista restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please be
assured that we are very grateful indeed for the point you brought to our attention,
your feedback has been discussed in detail and actions are in the process on being
implemented to improve our food offer and quality

I do sincerely thank you for taking the time to review The Cliff Resort & Residences
and again, I apologize for our shortfalls on this occasion. I hope that we can welcome
you back to the resort in the near future though, so that you can experience the
improvements we have made.

Kind Regards,

Joan Casadevall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in an Azul Sea View room on the ground floor. The room has a good size with comfortable beds and a good desk and chair for working on a computer.
It featured a large, new 3D TV for which you could rent 3D glasses and movies for a small extra fee which was great source of entertainment for our son.
From our room we had a view on the nice infinity pool, but it was not possible to walk from the terrace directly to the pool.
The Cliff features some activities for kids, e.g. a small movie theatre, table tennis and pool billard.
The breakfast buffet is really fantastic and offers a good variety to suit everyone's taste. It was really a highlight of the day for us and worth to get out of bed for in time.
The beach area is a bit small but nice to lie down and relax. The currents are quite strong though and the black flag was out whenever we went to the beach.
We did not like that the room did not have a bathtub, we would have enjoyed a hot bath from time to time.
It is also not close to the major shopping areas, which means a taxi ride is always required to get to and from the plentiful shops and restaurants along the main beach road. Luckily taxis are easy to get, cheap and no hassle.
What also disturbed us was the noise coming from the other rooms, especially that of chairs being moved over the tiled ceramic floor probably by children playing in the room. The hotel should see if they can put felt pads under the chair and table legs which would help a lot to avoid this issue.
Check in and check out was quick. But one thing which put us off is that the front desk staff tries to keep the guests' passports with them until check out. After complaining about it, we got our passports back. But this is highly unusual and definitely not acceptable for us. It's not at all appropriate for a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor to avoid noise from the rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Thai-German-Couple,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of The Cliff Resort & Residences. I appreciate your comments and review of our rooms, views and most importantly, our services.

Our team is delighted to bring its best to satisfy your needs, offer a good service and the attention you deserve.

I was however most disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations in a number of areas during your stay.

The unfortunate noisy experience you experienced have been discussed in detail and we will considerate the best solutions to avoid it in the near future.

I am sorry the way you felt about the passports being kept upon check-in, we need the information in order to register our guests to the local police as Vietnamese law requests. We would have been happy to make a copy and return your passports immediately.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfalls during your stay at The Cliff Resort & Residences.

We are always improving our activities as complete satisfaction is our goal and it would be our pleasure to have the chance of welcoming you back and make your stay a real pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Joan Casadevall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time.

Room - spacious, very comfortable and tidy. Balcony with jacuzzi, seating area to enjoy the magic moment (sunrise and sunset)

Spa - price was reasonable after used the voucher (20% off), the staff with good skill. We had a good message in here.

Swimming pool - big enough and clean

Staff - nice, friendly and helpful

Restaurant - not bad, the price was reasonable

Need to improve:

There was insufficient hot water for the jacuzzi.

Air -condition in the room was not cool enough and the remote couldn't changed the temperature

Wi-fi for internet was very weak and slowly

A good hotel and would stay here again.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear mlawet,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of The Cliff Resort & Residences. I appreciate your comments and review of our rooms, views and most importantly, our staff.

Our team is delighted to bring its best to satisfy your needs, offer a good service and the attention you deserve.

We appreciate your feedback regarding some technical issues such as hot water, A/C, and Wifi. We already have had plan to improve regarding these matters.

We are always improving our activities as complete satisfaction is our goal and it would be our pleasure to have the chance of welcoming you back at the Cliff Resort and Residences and make your stay unforgettable once again!

Sincerely,

Joan Casadevall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Amazing hotel, great staff, great rooms, great location couldn’t ask for more. We stayed in a terra king with ocean view as a treat during our travels. We were not disappointed and couldn’t believe the standard of our room for the price we paid! Our room was huge (bigger than our house!) it had a kitchen area, massive bathroom, 2 double bedroom, a terrace with a Jacuzzi, seating area, sun loungers and amazing views. On our first day we treated our self to room service for lunch, prices were reasonable for room service and food was lovely.
Staff were friendly, pool bar was excellent, all the facilities was excellent.
We arranged a trip to the sand dunes with the hotel, while it was on the expensive side for us, our tour guide was excellent, great English and very knowledgeable.
A lovely hotel, I would recommend it to anyone especially the terra king room with a sea view it was worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Go for the Terra King Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear liamkitty2,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of The Cliff Resort & Residences. I appreciate your comments and review of our rooms, views and most importantly, our staff.

Our team is delighted to bring its best to satisfy your needs, offer a good service and the attention you deserve.

We are always improving our activities as complete satisfaction is our goal and it would be our pleasure to have the chance of welcoming you back at the Cliff Resort and Residences and make your stay unforgettable once again!

Sincerely,

Joan Casadevall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The rooms were clean spacious, very comfortable beds.
The breakfast included had a great choice from western to Asian style.
Most days we relaxed by the beach and then in the afternoon chilled by the swimming pool. The food and drinks pricey and I wouldn't recommend the over priced bar food, it's not good.
The hotel has great views And you pay around 2dollars in a taxi to the main strip.
Would stay here again, the friendly and helpful staff makes the best!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Cliff_Mgmt, General Manager at The Cliff Resort & Residences, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 1chlo,

Thank you very much for your good words and for taking the time to share your experience at the Cliff Resort and Residences with others following your recent stay at the resort.

We are glad to hear that the accommodations and services were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Cliff Resort & Residences.

I was however disappointed to read that our restaurant did not meet your expectations.

We welcome all feedback which allows us to continually improve our services and standards across the resort, and I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfall in food service.

Please be assured that we are very grateful indeed for the point you brought to our attention, and your feedback on Trip Advisor has been discussed in detail and actions are in the process on being implemented to improve our Vista restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Yours sincerely,

Joan Casadevall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Resort & Residences

Address: Zone 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prime location of Mui Ne, The Cliff Resort & Residences is a brand new 4-star plus resort complex offers a majestic oceanfront setting with breathtaking views and sophisticated services. Situated on a 3 - hectare picturesque piece of land, The Cliff consists of:- 128 Rooms with 95% sea view( Beachfront Bungalows; Panoramic Sea View Condos & Penthouse; Beachfront Villas with private swimming pool). - Meeting room for up to 200 people.- Vista Restaurant managed by famous Hoang Yen Restaurant Group.- Luxurious Zest Spa. - The Den Entertainment: Mini-cinema, karaoke, billiard, ping-pong... - Recreational facilities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, fitness center and a variety of beach sports: jetski, kayak, kite surfing, wind surfing...Business category: 4-star plus Resort & ResidencesEmployees in Vietnam: 250 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your The Cliff Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.