We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing recreation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Am Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Am Guest House to your Saves list
Mai Am Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   148 Nguyen Dinh Chieu Street | Ham Tien Ward, Binh Thuan Province, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 Phan Thiet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zainsk, Tatarstan, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing recreation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We've stayed in Mai Am for one month. Really quiet, enjoyable place with nice and friendly service. They were ready to comply any favor. The beach was small, but nice. To be honest, the sea was pretty dirty for two days of our arrival. In whole, we we can't complain. By the way, our room was cleaned every day. If you look for a peacful and calm hotel, welcome to Mai Am. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
41
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Best of our 15day tour of Vietnam. Nice guesthouse right at the beach. Clean rooms & comfortable beds. Impressive setting. Staff are kind & helpful. Lots of restaurants nearby. Also very near TheSInhTourist office where bus drops off & where we can book tours to White & Yellow Sand dunes. Worth longer stay. Take time to unwind, relax & enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view will do. Can hear sound of waves from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Really impressive location on the beach, a small distance out of the centre of town but still plenty of bars & restaurants. The room was of a good standard especially for what we paid. Overall, It was very good value. Make sure you make a trip down to the fishing village on the end of the stripe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Mui Ne was a big delusion for me, beach and sea are terrible as i'll never attend.
Only the restaurant near the guest house could be the reason to go there. The head of the Guest house, a woman very professional, helped us with the bus to come back to Saigon and she was very kindly and useful. I think i'll never came back to Mui Ne i'm sure there are many better places...

Room Tip: Ask for a room front sea to sleep earing the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We are a couple of middle aged travellers & enjoyed our stay at Mai Am Guesthouse very much in Feb 2014. Our 2 night booking extended to 5, the rooms & amenities were comfortable & cleaned daily. With a longer stay, we got to know the staff well & found them very helpful & pleasant. Breakfasts were eaten outdoors looking out over the beautiful bay, watching the fishermen in their little round boats. The local village has a very good selection of casual restaurants, my husband thoroughly enjoyed all the fresh seafood. As the guesthouse is situated in the middle of the bay at Ham Tien, it is worth taking the time to see around the whole bay, from Mui Ne to Phan Thiet. The area is good for walking, catching a taxi for longer distances is also very easy. Fairy Stream, a local attraction, is not to be missed, advise going in the morning. This would be the perfect place to relax & unwind at the end of your trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The location was great right on the beach and near a good choice of restaurants. Our room was on the ground floor, there were many dead cockroaches outside our door and a live one in our room. I appreciate that you did get bugs in Asia but the dead ones were there the whole of our stay no one cleared them away. We did ask after the first night if we could move to the 1st floor hoping then we could get away from the many cockroaches we were told after a few minutes of her thinking about it that upstairs was full, I'm not saying she was lying just that in the time we spent there we only saw about another 4 guests so this seemed pretty unbelievable. The staff overall weren't bad but most certainly weren't good, they seemed very uninterested like everything was a hassle and overall not very welcoming. The air conditioning didn't work, it was on but nothing happened, our room was like a sauna! Very uncomfortable. We did however book a sunrise tour of the dunes with them which I would highly recommend, it was just me and my partner and the driver which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guesthousemaiam, Manager at Mai Am Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely would like to thank you for staying with us and having your review on our services.

During your stay, it is true that we have a group from Malaysia which booked us before at Standard room. Then, in the last minute they changed their mind that they will come 1 night later and would like to upgrade to the rooms nearer the beach because some of them wanted so.

You do not tell us the air condition problem, if you let us know, we can fix it immediately or arrange another room as your request. We are also sorry that we do not ask you clearly the reason why you wanted to change.

Maybe with limited English, our staff are shy or hard to explain everything in details. But if you communicate with them, tell them your concerns or ask them for any support, we are sure that they try their best and are ready to help at any time. We are always warmly welcome guests to our hotel.

All our rooms are cleaning everyday with new bedsheet and new towels. And our whole hotel is cleaning at least 2 times per day in the morning and in the afternoon.
The insects spray is also done frequently. Sometimes they appear more during the raining season. Due to lack of attention of the room attendant, and we have had some corrective measures in place.

One again, thank you so much for your review which will help us to improve our services better by time.

We do hope you will have further nice trip through beautiful and fascinating Viet Nam and do thank you for having stayed with us. We hope to see you next time when you visit Viet Nam again.

Best regards from all of us, Mai Am Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our days here - relished the peace and quiet after the busyness of Saigon. The rooms are basic but reflect the price. Also has some good restaurants nearby .. We ate at the Russian restaurant across the road a few times and always enjoyed our meals there.

Can't speak too highly of Susan, the manager, was on the ball with everything that was going on .. Such a friendly girl also!!! Loaned me her own personal laptop when my phone died and I needed to check something that was blocked on the laptop available to the holiday makers. Also produced a hairdryer each morning when I asked for it .. think it was either hers or one of the staff's!!! A beautiful, peaceful haven ... Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the room with an ocean view .. well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Am Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Am Guest House

Address: 148 Nguyen Dinh Chieu Street | Ham Tien Ward, Binh Thuan Province, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Am Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Am Guest House is a warm-hearted place situated directly on the beach by the East Sea in Vietnam.From the balcony of every room you have the ocean view and hear the soothing sound of the waves. It is a perfect place for rest. Come stay in peace and harmony for a long rest or a short regeneration.Our facilities are equipped for disabled persons of all ages. We also offer full nursing care as an option.You will feel at home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mai Am Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Am Guest House Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Am Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.