We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but a bit far from the action.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Am Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Am Guest House to your Saves list
Mai Am Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   148 Nguyen Dinh Chieu Street | Ham Tien Ward, Binh Thuan Province, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Phan Thiet B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit far from the action.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in January. The place itself was quite nice, peaceful and right next to the beach which although was very small, was a great place to relax and we always managed to find a sunbed easily. However, although the staff were quite friendly and helpful compared to the service we received elsewhere in Vietnam, it was a bit of a letdown and our room wasn't cleaned while we were there. Also, it's certainly a bit out of the way from the main area, you have to rent a motorbike or bicycle to get there as walking in the day is not advisable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
32
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Pros:
-Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean just steps from your door
-The restaurant will run a tab and charge items to your room
-The rooms are very big and nice (we were ina garden view room)

Cons:
-Our room was not made up during our 2 night stay, but if you asked I'm sure they would.
-Although this property is ocean front, the water is dirty here, and the beach is non existant. The hotel has build a ledge up from the water that has beach chairs and umbrellas to relax in, but if you want to jump in the water, it's not nice. We rented a bicylce from the hotel for $2 for the day, (or you could rent a scooter for $6 per day) and drove down the road in search of a better beach. Luckily, there is one, A MUCH BETTER ONE about 20 minutes down the road. There is plenty of accomodation and much better restaurants/shopping in that area as well. So as nice as the hotel is, if a beach, and being able to swim in clean clear water is important I would search further down the road. I can't tell you exactly the are other than there is a resort on the nice beach called Palmira Resort & SPAm, and this is it's address: 14.Nguyen Dinh Chieu Phan Thiet, Binh Thuan, Vietnam. I'm sure that place is super expensive, but I would search out budget accomodations in that area.

Mui Ne is beautiful and exploring the one main road that really exists there is a fantastic and beautiful time. You will not regret your visit here and 3 days would be nice.

Room Tip: Garden view or Ocean view doesn't really matter. Both are just steps from the 'beach'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The location is excellent, though if you are a shopaholic, you are pretty far from the center of Mui Ne(taxi to the center costs ~50k Dong), the garden is absolutely great and the beach is a bit narrow but otherwise very fine!
We had a bit of a problem with the reservation, because we did it for 2 garden-view rooms and one with sea-view and when we get there, the sea-view room was not available and neither one garden-view room, but we obtained one night for free for their mistake.
So please make sure after you book the rooms(via Booking.com or Agoda.com), to write them an email with your request, in order not to have any surprise.
Otherwise, the personnel is very kind and willing to help if any problem appear( no hot water or no AC running).
Anyway, the location beats our minor problems!
One big advantage: an excellent restaurant, Lap Thao is nearby the guesthouse!!

Room Tip: Choose Sea-View room if available and make sure you confirm with the guesthouse directly the booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The rooms are nice but Mui Ne has plenty to offer in the price range where you get more bang for your buck. At $30 the breakfast is really pretty poor. A few doors down and you can find places with a better breakfast, swimming pool and rooms just as nice for $20 & $25.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

That was my second stay there and I gotta say, it`s always great there!

The staff is friendly, speaks little english, the garden and the beach are wonderful, the rooms are basic but clean!

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, thats the place to go! And one of the best restaurants is just across the street, right beside the massage parlor!

Room Tip: Far as I know, all rooms are equal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This no frills guesthouse offers a good option for budget travellers. The location is right by the sea and on the main Mui Ne strip, although a little further down from the busy section. The beach is very small, its not the large expanses of white sand you find at some of the resorts. But it is peaceful and pretty, with nice sunbeds allowing for relaxation and unwinding. The rooms are very basic, not much in terms of style or decor. But the bathroom is nice and big. The service was good. The staff speak English well and are very helpful.The outside garden area is very charming, a nice place for breakfast or an afternoon beer. You can hire motorbikes here, or anywhere else outside. The place has a nice atmosphere to it, so if you're happy with just a basic room, it offers everything else you could need.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My friend and I didn't arrive until rather late at night and the staff welcomed us with smiles and a lot of patience. Our booking didn't work out, but they had rooms available and gave us a great room close to the ocean. They speak some English but put a lot of effort into helping you out!
Mornings started with a beautiful breeze and ample sunlight along with their wonderfully sweet coffee. Their menu is surprisingly full of great eats! I had the coffee several times, the greens with soya cheese, fruit plate all during my stay- but the best dish is the vegetarian (vegan) spring rolls. Instead of wrapped in a solid flattened rice wrap, it is wrapped in vermicelli noodles, creating a great texture.
Mai Am offers bike and motorbike rentals for reasonable prices and were really helpful and once again patient when we asked for a semi-automatic versus the available automatic and full on manual.
There's the given location that makes this place wonderful. Right on the ocean, swimming is easy, tanning is a breeze, and just taking a stroll or jog is no problem! But the greatest part about my stay was that my friend and I felt welcomed and like we were coming home. The staff hung out with us and got to know our names. We were greeted with smiles and a genuine comfort. We even played soccer on the water with them nearly every afternoon!
Mai Am is paradise, very relaxing, very peaceful, and beyond comfortable. I am so thankful and happy that I went to Mui Ne and stayed at this particular guesthouse. When my friend and I left, everyone wished us love and great travels, we felt cared for here!

Next time I go to Mui Ne (which will be for sure) I will be staying here again. I highly HIGHLY recommend Mai Am, you'll feel at home, eat well, and experience more than just the environmental beauty that Mui Ne provides!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, very close to the ocean. Higher prices though mean closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Am Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Am Guest House

Address: 148 Nguyen Dinh Chieu Street | Ham Tien Ward, Binh Thuan Province, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Am Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Am Guest House is a warm-hearted place situated directly on the beach by the East Sea in Vietnam.From the balcony of every room you have the ocean view and hear the soothing sound of the waves. It is a perfect place for rest. Come stay in peace and harmony for a long rest or a short regeneration.Our facilities are equipped for disabled persons of all ages. We also offer full nursing care as an option.You will feel at home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mai Am Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Am Guest House Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Am Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.