We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth, truly amazing and unique.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Da Nang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth, truly amazing and unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of InterContinental's best properties! The place takes you away to a mythical world where you are surrounded by beautiful and unique design concepts. You are where rainforest meets the sea. Food and beverage is amazing, the Sunday Brunch is a must! Staff and service is the friendliest and most welcoming and The Spa is unforgettable. I will be recommending to everyone and looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear 0tram,

Thank you very much for your compliments on InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. We are glad to hear that you have a great experience with us and we too look forward to welcoming you back to the place where myth meets luxury in the near future.

Best Regards

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    144
    38
    24
    11
See reviews for
184
348
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Without question, this resort has the "wow" factor. It's design, specification, location and an army of groundsmen result in a stunningly beautiful resort. We stayed in an Atrium Suite, which has a huge open-air area with awesome views across the secluded bay and hillsides where the hotel is situated. The beauty extends beyond the rooms, the whole place has been exquisitely designed with many hideaways to relax throughout the property. I would be surprised if you could find a better standard of "hard product" in the country.

It's not total paradise though (although the management team seem hard at work to get it there). The resort has been open for just over a year, and is still a bit of a work in progress:
- construction is still underway (more villas and rooms, a club intercontinental lounge, karaoke facilities, hotel shops, etc)
- there are very limited water-sports facilities: they have a few wind-surfing boards for which they have lost the fins / dagger boards, they don't have catamarans, sailing dinghies, etc
- the "activities" on offer are fairly limited and could certainly be developed a lot (for example, the snorkeling "trip" involved swimming along some of the rocks on the beach)
- the English language standard is quite variable
- the Buggy service can be unreliable: when checking out we ended up waiting over 15 minutes for a buggy we had booked the previous day, which isn't great when you have a flight to get and a car waiting

The resort is located in a national park, which is about 30 minutes drive on a peninsula north of Danang (USD 15 - 20 taxi ride each way). There are no local restaurants or shops. There is a shuttle service, but it's not that useful. It only runs twice per day (10:00 and 15:00), so you can't use it just to go into town for dinner.

The location means you will eat and drink most of the time in the hotel, which is very expensive by local standards and has a limited menu. The food is good but not outstanding (we ate at Citron and Barefoot), and we couldn't help feeling that it was very poor value after our two previous weeks of eating fantastic Vietnamese food for far less in other parts of the country. Even simple things like a pizza for lunch is over USD 20 by the time you include all the taxes. So you will be spending a lot per day on food.

In particular we were disappointed by the cost of drinks: a glass of coke will set you back USD 5++ anywhere in the resort. I don't mind paying high prices for a luxury resort, but I do resent paying more than 10x mark-ups on basic commodity products where there is no value-added. And as there are no local shops, you can't just walk down the road and buy drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. Quick run down: soft-drinks USD 5, juices and beer USD 6, mocktails and milkshakes USD 7, cocktails USD 9. And then add 15% on top for fees and taxes.

Fortunately they do provide complimentary water (although not for dinner, when if you want water you need to buy French bottled water!).

On the theme of high priced extras, we didn't try the spa services because the cost was outrageous, even by international resort standards. My wife normally would have quite a few massages, but it felt ridiculous to pay over USD 125 per hour in Vietnam! The signature treatments are all over USD 300.

We gave La Maison (the in-house Michelin star style restaurant serving French cuisine) a miss as (i) we suspected that quality wouldn't match the hype or cost, (ii) we live in London and have access to a lot of Michelin starred French restaurants, so it wasn't really something we needed to do in Vietnam!

But gripes aside, this is a beautiful and relaxing resort. We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a two week trip in Vietnam. This felt like the right balance. This resort is most certainly not representative of Vietnam or even Vietnamese food. But it was great as a place to relax before flying back home and returning to work.

Management estimate that work will be completed in another 3 months. So let's call that 6 months. If you want more water sport options, I'd wait until they've actually acquired all the equipment. But as a place to relax it's good to go now.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Snobs_Travel,

Thanks for your kind feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments are very valuable to us and we will definitely look into it. In fact, we recently received another 23 new buggies and soon will be in operation. Rest assured that we are trying hard to improve our services to serve our guests better.

We hope that this will not hold you from coming back to stay with us. We will make sure that your next stay will be more enjoyable and memorable.

Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks with my wife and 2 year old. Found it to be a fantastic hotel that really offers something different. If you want a squared planned resort on flat ground then this is not for you. If you are after something that is a bit special and fun, this is a great option.

Food - we ate at La Maison one night which was really nice. Meant to get back there one evening but just felt too warm to dress up. Citron is set in a great position at the top of the hill and commands stunning views. Sunday brunch is great value with the free flow champayne. The staff are very attentive across the restaurants. Ian who is the exec chef, is forever present mixing with guests while keeping an eye on the food. Good bloke.

Kids CLub - staff were great. We hired a babysitter for some evenings from there as well. The team in the kids club are great with the little ones and our daughter loved her visits. Facilities are great as well.

Rooms - We stayed in a beach side pool villa which was great. Lovely view with good space inside and out. There is construction work at the top of the resort, which did not impact us at the bottom. I would have been let down in a room next to the workers, who are at it 7 days a week! Our room came with a Butler, which to be honest was the first time we've had a personal one and was confused as to what they are supposed to do. Tony proved himself really helopful and always attentive in making arrangements for trips, reservations and so on.

Management Team - The team including Arnaud, Melissa, Ian....... were great. They seemed to know the names of everyone in the entire hotel.

Room for improvements - Service is still a little patchy at times. That is hardly surprising given it is such a new hotel and has c. 700 employees. Read some negative comments about the reception and tend to agree - nothing was ever a simple request from that part of the hotel. Construction.... there is some work going on still at the hotel so avoid the highest rooms close to Citron.

Overall - great hotel and smashing people.

Room Tip: Until construction finished, low level rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Holja,

Thank you for choosing our InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort for your vacation with family. We are delighted to read that all of you enjoy your time with us. On behalf of our management team and colleague, we would love to thank you for your recognition and feedback for improvement. Please rest assured that we are working on your supportive comments to have a better service.

We look forward to welcoming you and family back in not too distant future.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It was a great surprise to have such a beautiful hotel in Vietnam. Every details of the resort is finely built. All three restaurants are nicely designed with amazing architecture. The room and bed are super comfort with panorama ocean view. The went often to Citron for breakfast & dinner because of the good food and nice atmosphere. La Maison is somehow disappointing and overpriced compared to their restaurant La Gavroche in London. But the ambience is very good. Food standard is sometimes unstable. We ordered spaghetti carbonara at poolside for my grand-daughter and was surprisingly good but the spaghetti bolognese at Citron was absolutely tasteless. Even we received very different mango juices in different restaurant. The staff are most of the time very friendly at the lobby and restaurants but the house-keepers are not well trained. We requested on our second day for bath salt refill but they brought us shampoo. They apologised & promised to bring it next morning but at the end even the bath salt container was taken away instead. They threw away my husband's blood pressure pills in the aluminium packing on the night table, also the last unused baby pamper placed in the washroom next to the washing basin. The buggy service is somehow inadequate. Our room is at the very end of the resort and far from the cable car that we often need buggy to the restaurants, pools, kids' room & lobby. We forgot the swimming suit for the baby in the room after breakfast and I have been waiting for almost 30 minutes exposed under the sun. We seldom see smile on the face of buggy drivers. They look exhausted and over stressed from carrying the heavy luggages up and down the stairs. Overall we still love this hotel very much and hope to see the improvement next time we come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Agnes A,

Thank you for your review and supportive comment. Please rest assured that we are working on these with relevant departments and appropriate training will be provided to improve the service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience our resort again.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent overall experience. One of the most beautiful resort ever seen. We highly recommend to visit.

Pros: Amazing and very innovative design; great beach with an excellent complimentary service; a real peaceful retreat; friendly and very kind staff; good free shuttle service to Danang city and Hoi An; extraordinary care for details.

Cons: Food needs to be improved in terms of qualiy and variety (referring to Citron and Bare Foot restaurants) as well as the service which is not sufficiently caring even if the staff is very kind; Inspite of the many "market" signs (map including) no market exists; Just one cable car out of two working; a personal preference: latin disco music so loud at the lounge on the beach doesn't fit and it is quite annoying; men at work on construction site were very noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Elybon,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
It is great to know that you really enjoy our design, clear beach, and friendly staff. Otherwise, your comments are well noted and we are working to make it better for your next visit.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Upon reading all of the comments on Trip Adviser before we booked, the Intercontinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort received largely positive comments. We therefore decided to book 2 rooms for 2 weeks at the resort as we were prepared to pay for the quality if we were going to get quality. By being a Gold Class Ambassador we were under the impression that as we booked 2 king ocean view rooms we would be given free upgrades to 2 atrium suite rooms, and I later confirmed this with the hotel by e-mail. We were picked up swiftly from the hotel and upon arrival we were amazed by the architecture and design of the hotel. However, our first impressions soon turned sour when the staff told us that we were only subject to an upgrade on only 1 room which wasn't mentioned on any of the emails I sent to them. We were also given no welcome drinks, cool towels or flowers (which were previously mentioned by other guests). We then asked to see the manager who offered to show us the two rooms and then make our mind up as to what we wanted to do. Our children, although older (15&18) were halfway across the hotel. Not only that but our room wasn't even ready-so much for a 2:00 check in! We then decided to pay for our children to be upgraded to an Atrium suite room but this was only available 2 days later. By the time our room was ready and we had unpacked we decided to have an early meal and went to Bare Foot restaurant. Although the staff were very kind it was clear that they were undertrained and there was a huge language barrier. Furthermore, the manager who was western went round to every table and had a long conversation with all of the guests except us even though we were one of the last people sitting there.

On the next day we decided to go to Citron for breakfast but the disappointment didn't stop here. As soon as we walked in it was very obvious that much of the staff didn't know what was going on. One told us that we would have to wait for 20 mins for a table and the other showed us to a table straight away. They then took us to an area completely separate from others which, to begin with, we appreciated as we were away from the hustle and bustle of a very busy breakfast. However, we soon realised that we would be totally forgotten about, we asked for 2 coffees and 2 teas which both came 20 mins later-freezing cold. Furthermore, the plates were not cleared once when we were there but we were lucky that the table was so big so we could continue pushing the dirty plates into the centre.

The beach was extremely beautiful and was most definitely the highlight of our trip. Even though there were no lifeguards we were lucky that we were all strong swimmers. The attendants were also somewhat attentive and they offered us some unique services such as a sunglasses cleaning and cold cucumbers for your eyes. Although at one point, one of the women offering the sunglasses cleaning service had the audacity to ask us to mention it on trip adviser!! The idea of free kayaks, body boards, snorkels and paddle boards was a great idea however when my husband wanted to go with my son out for a trip on the kayaks we were told that the 2 person one "had a problem" &only 1 single person kayak was available yet again as a family we were unable to do activates together.

As we were at the hotel for such a long time we decided to go on the trek which was mentioned in the book in the room. We spoke to a receptionist about it and we asked what the difficulty was like-she said it was very easy and so we booked it. We then met the guide at the concierge who spoke little English and kept mentioning 'buggy'. When we queried this with the woman behind the desk she told him in Vietnamese that we wanted to walk but he insisted we took the buggy, Compared to most families our fitness levels were between average and above average so we knew we wanted to walk there. However, soon after weset off we realised why the guide wanted us to take the buggy. The hill was a vertical incline for a good half hour and my son felt faint. The guide, Viet was clearly very concerned and from what we understood this was a common occurrence however we made it back with our lives! Overall, they should have made this more clear in the book that it is an extreme hike and not for everyone to do. Furthermore, Viet was one of only
few staff who welcomed us and had a proper conversation with us day to day.

For dinner we decided to go to Citron for the Vietnamese buffet. Much of the food was unlabelled and because I had a fish allergy I had to go around with the chef and ask him what each dish had what, although he was very helpful this would have been unnecessary if all the food had been correctly labelled. Furthermore, the executive chef Ian was also very welcoming and gave us more information about what to do and what was going on more than all of the staff in the hotel!! Another night when we went to Citron my husband asked for the Vietnamese Braised Beef, the waitress then 15mins later came back and said that they had literally just sold out, fair enough he ordered another dish. However, the following two nights he attempted to order the same dish again but yet again they said that they had just sold out. They did however have all of the other Vietnamese beef dishes, so what makes this dish so different? Surely on 3 different occasions if they don't have it in stock they should just take it out of the menu or let the customer know before hand.
Mateo the floor manager of Citron was very professional and always said hello. However, it seemed like he was doing all the work and there was a lack of support from the other staff. Furthermore, one week when we went to Citron in the evening at 4/5 tables there was one staff having a long conversation with the guests. Fair enough if we didn't have plates piling up on our table. It was then Mateo who was clearing up for them rather than pulling them aside and telling them to do their job. One couple didn't even have to get up once during the buffet because they were being waited upon personally by one of the staff who worked there! By the end of our meal we weren't even asked if we wanted coffee or deserts which we wouldn't mind to have looked at but having to try and explain what we wanted and how we wanted it was exhausting so most evenings we went without.

On the following day we then moved our kids into the room on top of us as planned. Reception didn't seem to know what time the guests were leaving or whether they had already left or whether they were leaving at all. After finally getting to the bottom of it she said she would call when the room was ready which, yet again, was extremely unhelpful. We wanted to lay beside the beach but instead our day was put on hold for their incompetence and at our cost. Once we got our children settled in their room it was evident that it wasn't set up for kids, they couldn't put two single beds in and only offered a camp bed, furthermore the fan was broken outside and the tap dripped constantly and the plug didn't work.Furthermore on several occasions there were mushrooms growing in the shower which you wouldn't expect in a 3 star hotel let alone a 5 star hotel. When we called reception to get the fan fixed half an hour later they sent two men up who fixed the fan. However, once they had left we soon realised that the fan couldn't be turned off but by that time we were so fed up we left it and went into Da Nang and by the time we had come back it was broken again. (Probably the motor had burned out!!) Furthermore, the cable cart in theory was an amazing idea but in reality at least one of the cable carts were being 'serviced' every time we went to use them and in the end we decided to walk most days.

One morning we decided to go to Bare Foot for breakfast as the Executive Chef Ian told us it would be extremely busy and we couldn't bear slow service and cold coffee again. He told us we could order as much as we wanted as ala carte and so we did. My husband wanted an omelette with a steak and bacon on the same plate. About 15 mins later the plate arrived with an egg white omelette and mushrooms. We then explained to her again what we wanted. She then brought an omelette with bacon which was, yet again wrong. She then brought out sausages, bacon and fried eggs-god knows where she got that from!! By this time we were so frustrated we asked to have another waitress who spoke better English and she got it right first time. Yet again, the lack of service, training and the language barrier got the better of them which I wouldn't expect from a 5 star hotel.

One day me and my family decided to hire a car to go to Hoi An however, most drivers only accept dollars and as we only had big notes ($100) we needed to get our money broken up. I went to reception and asked for some change. At first she said that she needed to ask whether this was possible so I decided to come back later. The following day I visited again and I was told that this was not possible which didn't make any seance as lots of people had asked for dollars to be changed into Dong so surely some change should be available. Therefore I asked-one of the many managers at the hotel-Melissa why this was. She said that apparently it simply wasn't possible and that "its not that they won't it's that they can't" . As a paying guest surely she should have taken this into account and perhaps looked into the problem rather than shutting us down entirely. As I turned around to say goodbye she ignored me and was on to the next guest! Not only does this make me feel inadequate as a guest but it also makes me question as to why we were paying for a five star hotel when we weren't getting five star treatment. Another problem I found was transport for tours. The hotel offered expensive 4X4 private cars which were grossly overpriced for a hotel which is so out of the way. Fair enough they offed a free shuttle service into Da Nang and Hoi An. However, there was either one early in the morning or one mid afternoon which was too early or too late and you had to book at least 2 days in advance. We were lucky to be staying for 2 weeks but I feel sorry for those who just stayed for 3 or 4 days or weren't told that you needed to book. If the shuttle service is so busy surely you should provide more times or more mini vans to cater for your guests.

The final straw was on check out. When I asked for my final bill they had the wrong rate for my room, fictional mini bar items being purchased, & a hotel transportation bill to the airport even though we had arranged our own transport. If my husband hadn't gone over the bill with a fine tooth comb, we would have been overcharged by around £300!! To rectify these mistakes took over 2 hours (it was a good job we had a late afternoon departure.) Miss Be finally rectified the mistake (the same duty manager that fixed the mix up with the rooms) so she deserves a special mention, again the Guest services manager Melissa was more interested in carrying out small talk with guests in the lobby, rather than fixing REAL problems.

Luckily the good side does outweigh the bad points. The people are lovely but they just need more training and more english lessons, the hotel has the foundations to be great it just needs tweaking. The excuse of 'being busy' and 'teething problems' is unacceptable. You should never tell a paying guest the excuse of it being busy. It was a shame that parts of the hotel ruined our experience of Vietnam which was a truly beautiful and dynamic country. To improve I would suggest the managers observe all of the occurrences on a busy day, perhaps even 'undercover' to find out where they are going wrong. At one point we went to citron for breakfast and the managers outweighed the guests, the question I would like to ask is where were all these managers on our first day when it was packed? The ideas of cleaning your glasses and cucumber for your eyes is a great idea but surely you should fix the major problems such as bad service and then come up with innovative niceties.

Room Tip: Try for Atrium Suite or Premier Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Maria P,
Thank you very much for spending your time in reviewing your recent stay. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. In regards to the room upgrade, unfortunately it is only applied for the card holders. We apologized for not mentioning out clearly to you on the emails.
Rest assured that all your feedbacks are well noted and had been highlighted to the department concerned, for us, guests’ feedbacks are very important and we will definitely look at ways to improve the services to serve our guests even better in the future. We truly wish to welcome you back to experience the full service from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort.
When your plans bring you back to Danang, Please let me know, I would be more than happy to assist with the necessary arrangements.
Best Regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

One word, flawless.. It is beyond my expectation. From the interior to the exterior.. this resort is just simply amazing. Staff was very friendly; I like the welcome host where they were wearing the traditional Vietnamese clothes. Very nice! It is just so much of attention to the details, from the design to the services. Staff of the Nam Tram also very pleasant.. Also I love the beach too. It is clean and quite
I had been staying at many resorts but I could say this is my favourite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear VionaL,

Thank you for your good review. We are happy to know that you have chosen our Resort to be your favorite. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve where legend has it that fairies were so attracted to its beauty that they came to the beach to play, sing, dance and bathe, the five-star InterContinental Danang is a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 197 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred chef Michel Roux, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set around a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzales and global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre that comes with its own 3D cinema, nightclub and cabaret/karaoke lounge. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to the cultural and historic treasures of central Vietnam. Opened in 2012, this iconic beach resort has already been named one of the best new hotels in the world by Conde Nast Traveller USA; included in the Luxury 50 List by World Spa and Travel; awarded Best New Luxury Hotel by the World Luxury Hotel Awards; and voted Asia's Leading New Resort and Vietnam's Leading Resort at the World Travel Awards 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.