We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel with a nice natural private beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 114 hotels in Da Nang
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel with a nice natural private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family spent 5 nights in this resort end July this year. We loved the private beach where the water was clean and could see school of fish swimming around you. There were water sport facilities, such as kayaks, provided free of charge, . The 'Long Bar' was very relaxing and provided a great place for happy hours. The gym was near brand new and was a hidden gym since not many guests came and used it. The resort is huge and actually has cable cars serving guests in between lobby, guesthouses and the beach. The hotel room was spacious with great balcony and one nice touch was that there was a lot of great movie selection in-room, free of charge ! The breakfast selection was great and Vietnamese Pho was our favorite. Some tips and hints here. The resort is about 45 mins by car from airport and is about 30 mins from down town. Taxi from resort to town costs about 15 USD one way, quite reasonable and you do not need to negotiate. All taxi are charged according to meters. The French Restaurant inside the resort is Michelin-star-rated, food was pretty nice and service great.

The overall hotel service is nice but could be improved, if you compare with those in Thailand. Definitely will consider coming back to this great resort in Da Nang!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Tony268,

Glad to hear that you have a good experience with InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. We really appreciate your time spent in reviewing us here!
We continually improve our service and hope you will find our service even better than those in Thailand on your next visit!

Thank you & Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    86
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
109
218
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This resort would easily score a five star until our horrendous afternoon tea session, hence i could only give it four star. Having been to many 5 stars resorts in the world, ranging from the ritz in maui, four seasons in bali, and others in california, this breathtaking gorgeous resort took my breath away when i first set my steps there. All the staffs are professionally trained and all have compassionate attitude towards customers, which is extremely rare in vietnam. We first had our sunday brunch at citron and it was a real feast of high quality seafood as well as some delectable cooked dishes, plus the ambiance was enhanced with some nice live jazz music which we both enjoyed very much especially with alcohol running high :). We had our dinner at Le Mason and i have to say this restaurant is totally up there with all the nicest restaurants in the world, both food, decoration and service wide...i am talking about alan ducasse, thomas keller, gary danko, eric ripert level....now come the saddest part, right before we were bout to check out of the resort, we decided to try out the afternoon tea course, which cost about 20 dollar per person, not cheap but we are willing to slurp but we do expect a 5 stars quality experience. It turns out that the whole course include literrally 6 pieces of some sort of dessert hastily put together as if the restaurant just took the left over from the breakfast session and put them on the tray...totally not worth it...and i just cant believe after how much of money and effort the resort has spent to pamper its customers, it could let itself ruin everything with this horrible tea session...really hope they would take a second look at this

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Trungtranquoc,

Thank you for the review and I am regret to hear about your Afternoon Tea experience.
We will definitely look into your feedback and improve it to enhance our guests experience.
Your feedback is very important for us to continually improve our service as well as product quality. We hope that this will not hold you to come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Come for family trip, my kids just love it so much. They keep on saying not to leave this place. After the whole week of busy life in Spore, It is always good to relax and chill ourselves. I do find this resort is just so good to be the place for a great relaxation. They have plenty of kids activities which can keep the kids happy and they also have plenty for adults as well. HARNN spa is really great, the masseur is very professional and well trained, worth the value! Long bar is so relaxing after swim.. many stuffs that make my trip such a memorable one. I will come back very soon for another weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear christinewilliam,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you choose our iconic resort as the great destination for your perfect weekend getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stay in this beautiful resort end of July. This resort is truly amazing starting from the airport transfer by Fortuner. There is cold towel n water prepared for us. Driver was very engaging..showing us n telling us about the surroundings.
When we reach the resort, check-in was smooth and our room is beautiful; I really give thumbs up to the designer! He did extremely great for this resort.
We reached quite late, so when we arrived they had turn down our bed and placed a flower. When we went to the beach, the staff offers us cold water and sliced cucumber to refresh our eyes. How sweet is that. Citron food is good! Didn’t manage to try La Maison. The private beach is so clean.. Especially when there is not many guests around, you will feel that the beach is just yours. Not to forget, the cable car (Nam Tram) is really something very unique. I don’t think you can find something like that in any resorts ☺
We really had a great time there and wish to come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Lingmung,

This is one of the best comments that we received for our resort, thank you so much for sharing your wonderful journey with the worldwide travelers. Hope that you will visit us again for a greater experience in a place where myth meets luxury and also to try out La Maison 1888! Thanks again!

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the InterContinental Danang in beginning of March this year. I can remember the moment we stepped in the hotel, and later in the room - we couldn't close our mouths, as it was so unbelievable. Our room was very spacious (although a standard room), with incredible design elements, and a bathroom that my girlfriend wanted to take and put in our home. Everything in the room was so well thought off - the bed was like sleeping in heaven, the enormous terrace was perfect to chill out and enjoy the spectacular view.

Also we liked the fact that the hotel is built into mountains, where you have to use their own cable car that brings you from one level to another (in total 4 levels).

Also the food was very, very good. Breakfast was great, with a lot of choice. The hanging terraces of the main restaurant are unbelievable - you really must eat their once. Also the more chic "La Maison" was fantastic, although a little to stiff for us - but food and service was perfect.

Although the total stay was amazing, there are some major lacks.

The main problem is certainly the service. The people are really nice and trying hard - but they are not trained hotel staff. We were told that it is very hard to find vietanmese staff, that are trained on one hand, but also speak English on the other hand. It will take a while until the service level of this kind of hotel are where they should be - but then, the hotel is certainly of the best in South East Asia (or even the world).

The other problem is the weather. Although beginning of march might not be the perfect time, we were told that it is rainier in the area of the hotel (maybe due to the location in the mountains) then in Hoi An. In our stay, we only had on nice day (out of 6).

I would highly reommend to stay here, but probably not before April/May if you want to relax on the wonderful beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear W0rldTravellerBerlin,

Thank you for spending some of your time to review us on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you do enjoy your stay with us and thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers. Please rest assured that proper training will be provided to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Recently stay in this resort, both myself and my boyfriend love it so much. The room was lovely, with a big private balcony overlooking the sea. You really feel so relax and don’t feel like leaving your room.
Breakfast was so good especially when you get the best seat – alfresco seat with the shape of conical hat (see the photos in the hotel website). So lucky there was no rain at all and our short getaway are just too perfect. Many activities host by the resort such as fishing, boat, yoga etc.
Most of my 3 days time, I spent in the resort and I still feel it’s very short. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Wachie89,

Thanks for sharing your great experience and we are so happy to hear that you do enjoy your stay at our resort. We definitely look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future and to provide you even better experience!

Best Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned this week from the best resort we have ever stayed at. From the moment you arrive you will be amazed as each corner you turn there will be a surprise. The architecture and attention to detail is 2nd to none. From the pillows to the cutlery,glassware,furniture and colours it was all thought through very carefully. You really feel special staying here. The Long Bar was a real chill place after spending hours at the infinite pool on the roof above. How many resorts hand out cucumber slices to refresh your eyes while lounging at the pool !!!.
The Sunday Tattinger French Champagne long lunch sitting in the Dining Pods is really something else. Breakfast is a banquet start to the day. We met the executive chefs Ian and Phil on day one. They always made themselves available for a chat during our stay and were very informative about the culture and resort. We found the Vietnamese staff always courteous and friendly. Despite the fact that English is not their first language and some of the staff were not fluent, they would initiate greetings and endeavour to converse. We had expected this and feel it adds to the cultural experience of being in a foreign country.
We look forward to planning a return to this magnificent resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear RobboBlenheim,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for sharing your journey in a place where myth meets luxury to fellow travelers. Our team would love to send a big thank you for your recognition especially from Chef Ian & Chef Phil.

We look forward to your return in the near future

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 hotels in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.