We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Danang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Danang to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Danang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Green Island | Hoa Cuong Bac, Hai Chau District, Da Nang 59000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Da Nang
Warragul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, enjoyed the very short overnight stay very much, a little bit out from the main area, but caught a taxi & toured around , there were 4 of us & Taxi' s are very cheap. Best breakfast I've ever had, I'm an Accor member, so Price was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    81
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
60
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for 5 nights.
Reasons why I choose to stay here was because of the good price in a relatively brand new hotel and to accumulate accor points.

Location: somewhat not convenient at all for people like me who dont travel on guided tours. Its a good half hour walk (or more) under the sun to the main city center/ market. Hardly any eateries within the hotel area. only one expensive restaurant that served poor vietnamese food at a high price opposite the hotel. I would say its pretty isolated. No convenient stores at all!

Room: stayed at a twin room. Room size was good. not too small. however, if you're staying with a friend, the bath room was bad.. been asian, we need our privacy. But the bathroom has a large glass partition to the room itself and provide a translucent screen for privacy only! imagine we have to dim the lights in the bath room so that one cant see into the bath room from the room area! its a good idea for couples, but not for traveling with friends.
the single bed was really single. i guess bigger size guests tends to fall off their bed at least once during their stay. hahaa..

Free wifi from lobby to rooms was a great!

Breakfast: Better than expected range/ varieties. however, there were flies hovering the fruits.

service: free airport transfer (both ways) was a good catch. albeit the hotel is very near to the airport (at most 5mins drive). Staff served with a smile and were helpful when needed for local information.

Dinner: happened that we got a package that comes with free dinner on the 1st night. We knew it was free, however, it doesn't have to be food that looks cheap and taste cheap with poor quality. it tasted and looks like some left over food.

As a accor le club gold member, I think this mercure hotel doesn't have any standards to be upgraded from mercure to grand mercure! More need to be done if they need the status of a grand mercure.

FYI: This hotel was just called mercure in 2012 and only recently upgraded its brand to grand mercure in 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Noelloke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
It gives me the opportunity to share that so many things have changed since your stay 10 months ago.
Since the bridge construction is over, we are very well located and accessible.
The single beds were changed for the biggest single bed size on the market and the quality of the food has increased tremendously.
We still offer however complimentary airport transfers and free WI FI plus a myriad of new standards offering local hospitality with a unique french touch.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and showing you all the improvements.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here on business and overall had a really good experience. The staff are very friendly and speak fairly good English. There are good places to eat near the hotel. For about $4.00 you can get to a few restaurants like The Lake Shore or Rachel's. the Chinese restaurant is also very good at the hotel. The breakfast buffet I found was good, you could get eggs made the way you wanted them. Fresh fruit every morning as well

The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable for Vietnam standards. You are a short cab ride away from Da Nang Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent Hotel, new, well decorated. very nice stay. We recommend this hotel and the family package through Accor is very attractive.
The Chinese restaurant is excellent and the price is not more expensive than downtown.
The service in F&B is good but the junior staff need more training and experience.
A shuttle is available to go to the beachor downtown or airport which is very appreciated because the taxis in Danang are very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth Town
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at Danang Mercure. We were originally going to stay in Hue but with the airort closed and with very little time we decided to stay in Danang. We were very fortunate to get the accor sale price and stayed in a Privilge room for 80$ a night. At that rate it is very good value.
The mercure has all you would expect from a lowe - mid range 4 star hotel. It is relatively new so all of the fittings are in good order. the shower was very good, the bed ok, a little firm and room size smallish but good enough if you are touring around most of the day. Our 17th floor room had good views of the city. The pool is located beside the restaurant and thus has little privacy. It looked good but as it was not warm we did not have a dip.
The staff are brilliant, many have good english skills, they are attentive and good memories. The privilege room waitress new exactly each time what our preference for drinks \ coffee were after our first order. The free transport to airport and shuttle to town is also appreciated. the privilege lounge for a hotel of this standard is excellent. very large, very well fitted out and brilliant views of the city. drinks were wine, beer and cordials with 3 -4 types of canapes. Very pleasant pre dinner drinks.
My only real negatives are. 1. We were greeted ib our room by a big very red centipede type insect scuttling around on the floor. It went under a cupboard before I could get it. we did not see it again. On the window ledge outside our door there was a dead bird, not a good view! The location also is a bit out of the way. We enjoy strolling around our hotels area. the small island is quite pleasant and has two restuarants on it. The main city area though is about 30 - 40 mins walk away. a cheap taxi fare though.
Overall we thought this hotel has a lot going for it. If the location was better we would give ita 5.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors as the views are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I came here again for the Pool BBQ buffet. The food selection in this buffet is great, I enjoy it.
From the Pool, you can have a wonderful view of the colorful Tran Thi Ly Bridge.

In the restaurant, they also have the live music. So if you want to have a relaxation weekend, come here every friday night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hi my first time staying in Mercure Danang, very impressed with service, to the rooms with fresh flowers, and views overlooking the river, the gym is amazing, the touch screen for the treadill, the ability to record your level and the cycling (wish my own gym had this sought of equipment).
We also tried the Chinese restaurant , some quite impressive dishes such as the chicken feet, the crab dumpling soup, our waitress Kim Tuyun provided us with a flawless experience at the restuarant.
I would definetly recommend this to others who are staying over night in Danang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Danang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Danang

Address: Green Island | Hoa Cuong Bac, Hai Chau District, Da Nang 59000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Da Nang
#8 Business Hotel in Da Nang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Da Nang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Danang 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Green Island in the heart of Danang city, Grand Mercure Danang is only 10 minutes from the Airport. This new hotel consists of 272 modern rooms all featuring breathtaking ocean or mountain views. The hotel offers a Brasserie and specialty Chinese Restaurant, lobby bar, an exclusive Privilege Club lounge on the 21stFloor and conference facilities for up to 800 delegates in 5 meeting rooms and Grand Ballroom. Facilities also include a spa, swimming pool, tennis court and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Danang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Danang Hotel Da Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Danang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.