We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs polishing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Danang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Danang to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Danang
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Green Island | Hoa Cuong Bac, Hai Chau District, Da Nang 59000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER HOLIDAY OFFER
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Da Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Needs polishing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My second business stay with this hotel was less than satisfactory. The staff, including porters, receptionists and room service could hardly speak a word of English - very unhelpful when I needed help communicating with the taxi driver who dropped me off. The first room I checked into smelt strongly of cigarette smoke (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room - on a privellege floor). Second try at a room did not smell, but TV hardly worked - most of the channels that did have reception did not have sound. No internet wifi. When the room service attendant brought my dinner, for some strange reason, my drink came about half an hour after my meal - very inconvenient and no explanation. No gym or salon. Not walking distance to anything.

2 redeeming stars for the receptionist who promptly moved me rooms.

Unfortunately I have to stay here for business frequently, but will try to stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room with good wifi - very hit and miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    94
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
48
72
28
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The service was slow at the beginning for this newly opened hotel which is normal for central Vietnam but it has now picked up. I have spent around 15 nights all together at this hotel. I can recommend it for any business traveler that visit Danang since it has good meeting facilities, free wifi as well as a good enough gym for a morning work out. The breakfast buffet is also above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for a day and a half and it was a great experience. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is about a year old so everything was nice and new. I used the room service three times and during the day it was quick. One time I ordered ice around 11PM and it took them a while to deliver to the room, but still not bad. The breakfast buffet was good.

I noticed that others have said the location is out of the way, but I didn't find this a problem. There were quality taxis (Mai Linh Taxi Company (green cars)) on-site every time I needed to go somewhere. I was on business so I pretty much knew everywhere I had to go and it wasn't a problem to get where I needed to go. One note on taxi's avoid the yellow taxi company (I think they're called Tien Sa). I had a bad experience with one of their drivers and heard from one of the Mai Linh drivers that that company is a bit "shady."

Anyhow, the hotel was excellent and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samut Prakan, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

front office reception was very lazy and ignore my request for transfer to airport and told me told me to take cab though I told him when the shuttle bus was parking at the hotel, very disappointed with staff service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Danang in March and from the moment we arrived every effort was made to give us the most wonderful stay. The hotel itself is great for the price but it was the staff that make this a truly exceptional hotel. We were provided with extras before we even knew we needed them, from arranging bike hire through to the smallest piece of advice. Without a doubt, the staff and service was the best we received on our honeymoon in Vietnam.
Unfortunately I have left it far to long to write this review and have forgotten the names of the wonderful staff (should have written that down!) but I would like to offer my thanks and appreciation at helping make our honeymoon. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Da Nang - Sam and Tony Hoskins.

Room Tip: As of March, 12 there was a lot of construction around the hotel so view is not as great as it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a fairly new hotel so still some work to do around the grounds but the hotel itself we found great. The hotel provided free airport transfers and we were greeted by a smiling driver who chatted all the way to the hotel. Check in was done in the lounge as we had a suite and all the hotels services were explained. Our suite was fantastic, but then being new everything was in perfect condition. The service in the lounge was great, and despite reading reviews of language barriers we did not experience this in our 4 days there. Tour information was very limited but as we had alredy worked out what we wanted to do they were more than happy to contact the companies and arrange them for us. The food was good but limited selection in the lounge for breakfast but still overall satisfying. The location of the hotel on Green Island is a bit remote so you need to get a taxi anywhere, but then taxi's are cheap so it's no big deal. Overall the hotel is great and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Danang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Danang

Address: Green Island | Hoa Cuong Bac, Hai Chau District, Da Nang 59000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Da Nang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Da Nang
#10 Business Hotel in Da Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Danang 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Green Island in the heart of Danang city, Grand Mercure Danang is only 10 minutes from the Airport. This new hotel consists of 272 modern rooms all featuring breathtaking ocean or mountain views. The hotel offers a Brasserie and specialty Chinese Restaurant, lobby bar, an exclusive Privilege Club lounge on the 21stFloor and conference facilities for up to 800 delegates in 5 meeting rooms and Grand Ballroom. Facilities also include a spa, swimming pool, tennis court and fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Danang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Danang Hotel Da Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Danang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.