We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Rainbow Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow Hotel
220 Bach Dang | Hai Chau District, Da Nang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 216 Da Nang B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Rainbow at end of Feb, unfortunately only for 1 night in a standard double room at the price of $23. The location is right on the riverfront & within easy walking distance of several good restaurants. Evening on the riverfront is beautiful, check out the alabaster statues on the promenade. We had a back room facing the city. The room was clean & the bed comfortable with really nice modern bathroom. The breakfast was served under the reception area in what appears to be a parking place for the staff bikes. Anyway -- it was ok as breakfasts in Vietnam go -- but dont expect much from breakfast time!!! All in all a clean comfortable hotel in excellent location -- would definitley stay again- good value for money.

Room Tip: Tip for British travellers -- banks in Da Nang are not keen on £s -- one of the banks had not seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Slightly above average for a budget location. The rooms were clean, the bathroom very modern, the sheets could use a little better washing but still acceptable... There`s also VIP rooms, which promise better standard, but we stayed in the normal room and actually can`t complain at all considering that it was slightly cheaper than the other hotels and the rooms defiinitely were the freshest, least moldy of all the ones we looked at in da nang...

Staff is generally helpful but the boss is an angel no doubt for helping at any time under any circumstances (we needed prints and he came in especially to help us fix this).

Recommandable!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I find it laughable at the vastly different reviews this hotel gets. My twin deluxe room wasn't facing the beach; I had a back room but it was well-lit, spacious, AC worked very well, no ciggy smoke in the air, bathroom very clean and the staff did their best to communicate in English.

Breakfast is so-so but it's location is great, Bamboo Bar 2 across the road. Also, noise seems to reverberate and as I had a typically noisy Vietnamese family in the room next to mine, it was a bit noisy but all in all, a very good cheap hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had booked a Deluxe room at Rainbow hotel for one night at the rate of 35$. It was not Deluxe at all! It was way below the standard you can expect for such a price.

The room was rather spacious, but it had a tiny window facing a wall. As a result, it was dark and very gloomy. The bathroom was shabby. The hotel has no dining room, so the staff brings you your breakfast in the room. That could be nice if the room was pleasant, but it is definitely depressing in such an unwelcoming room where half the light bulbs are not working.

It seems that some Deluxe rooms face the river, in which case the 35$ can maybe be justified. But for the room I had, it is definitely overpriced.

The staff was rather nice and did their best to be helpful, but they spoke very little English, so communication was a problem.

The location is very good, close to the Han River and the Cham Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

we were booked in the tourane hotel resort, but after seeing the filthy room with shower that was no more than a trickle, ants in the bed, lizards falling out of the curtains when opened, not to mention the cigarette smell, we searched for something better and found the rainbow hotel. At less than half the price this was an excellent choice. I would reccomend this place to all. Clean, friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed here a few nights and would recommend to anyone, close to everything in da nang, bamboo bar, red sky, le funk and great veiw in the morning of the river while enjoying a coffee in my room, enjoy..

Room Tip: ask reception for river veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The receptionist was very rude. And try to cheat our money.
She promise the room will be ready in 10 minutes. But after 20 minutes, the room still not ready.

We ended did not stay in this hotel and walked up stream to another hotel. we made the right decision

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: 220 Bach Dang | Hai Chau District, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.