We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danang Cathedral

Danang Cathedral
156 Tran Phu Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 Attractions in Da Nang
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Danang Cathedral is reminiscent of the old churches and its high ceilings and arches bring one to stand in awe of God and the rich history of Catholicism in Viet Nam. We attended the English mass at 10am on Sunday and we later enjoyed walking around the pleasant grounds.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    25
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Decent, not upkept well”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I could have done without going to this cathedral on my trip, but I was in Da Nang for a month so I thought why not. I attended a service in Vietnamese and it was a fun experience, but if you are looking to just tour through I'm not sure I would recommend this one. Definitely not St Patrick's Cathedral (New York).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I could be biased since my wife's uncle serves here,but i had been led to believe the churches were run down.this one is not!Beautiful exterior,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Catholic Church in Da Nang”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice building and interior. But as a Catholic church, then the building is almost the same with other cathedral, only smaller

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaNang, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“English Mass 9AM on Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Sunday services in English at 9AM. young Vietnamese priest gives surprisingly well thought out relevant sermons. Most attendees are Vietnamese but there always seem to be some foreigners who live here, or travelers. Arrive early and you may be asked to do a reading by the very friendly nuns, or stay after and you may talk with the young friendly members of the choir. Be sure to pick up the colored paper (usually in blue) in the front so you can follow and read the readings of the day. A very welcoming church, but not more friendly than you want.
Nice shop in the back ( accessible by the gateway on Yen Bai Street) sells religious items, seasonal decorations ( Christmas, Easter etc) motorbike parking in front or back entrance on Yen Bai Street.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danang Cathedral also viewed

Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Danang Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danang Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.