We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steaks and Western Comforts in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sky Bar & Restaurant

Red Sky Bar & Restaurant
248 Tran Phu Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
0511 3894895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 206 Restaurants in Da Nang
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Best Steak House in Town
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Steaks and Western Comforts in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

When we are craving some good Western Comforts we lash out and go to Red Sky.
Their steaks are by far the best in town. The menu is great as you can choose your own sauce and side dishes.
With the owners all being qualified chefs with vast experience in the hotel industry there is no wonder why this is the best Western Restaurant in Town.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    65
    26
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DaNang, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Really, there are very few good Western food restaurants in Danang, so Red Sky is a good reliable choice.
As in all Vietnamese restaurants good service is a major challenge for owners, so, so lousy ie: slow, no English speaking, returning after 5 minutes to tell you they don't have what you ordered today ( really typical in VN), all happens a lot. If this happens to you, don't be surprised, it happens EVERYWHERE in VN. Just be happy you managed to get some good food.
The chicken dinner is the most popular dish for the local Danang Expats.
Red Sky is a reliable, consistent, inexpensive ( by Western standards) place to have dinner. The owner/chef was trained at Furama resort and does a commendable job.
You are not going to find great cuisine in Danang - it's not here yet.
Street level bar seating is lousy. Big, plastic and uncomfortable seating in the dark. A HUGE bar on one side. Mixed drinks are always debatable in Vietnam as bars tend to refill the liquor bottles with lesser quality, mix it with rice wine (which is super cheap) and add color. Best bet is order a local beer served in the bottle - Local beer is good, rarely served good tho.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Food was nice, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We arrived about 7:30 at the restaurant and had a seat upstairs. It took them quite a long time to bring our drinks order, even longer to take the food order and it was 9pm before our food arrived.

Two of the party ordered 'surf and turf' which turned up without the prawns and under cooked for the level requested. One person sent their near raw steak (asked for medium) back, the other person was so hungry by then that they weren't prepared to let it go back to the kitchen. Having said all this the quality of the meat was great and the dish was nicely seasoned. Plates were polished off.

One of the party picked up the bill and it wasn't till the next day that we realized we had been over charged on the alcohol. Not a significant amount from western standards but from an ethical perspective not good.

We were told by our host (ex-pat living in DaNang) that the owner didn't appear to be there. This review will probably make no difference to the popularity of the place, which seems to be frequented mostly by ex-pats. If you are staying here on your way through, it is worthwhile going to, just be aware.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Lovely Food, great value,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Wonderful little restaurant and bar in Da Nang, friendly staff and delicious food & drinks, if your visiting this city, i highly advise dropping in,(especially if you want to get away from the heat of the street, they have aircon) lovely place, enjoy yourself, i certainly did 5*****..

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Choice for Seabrook Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Red Sky is consistent and delivers high quality seafood. I wish there were a few more non-seafood options, though. No views of either the marsh, or the ocean, but a great date night after a day at the beach.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Sky Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sky Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.