We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its still under construction, it has no real restaurant, and it is just simply disappointing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Nang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort
Save
You added Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort to your Saves list
An Son Hamlet, Hoa Ninh Ward, Hoa Vang District, Da Nang 84-511, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 123 Hotels in Da Nang
Halmstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Its still under construction, it has no real restaurant, and it is just simply disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My god this place is ridiculous. The best part is the cable car ride. first of all I am going to just say that I was there recently in january. taken there with a tour planned by footprints vietnam. I think it was extreamly stupid to send us there on a very very foggy day, I had no Idea what to expect.

Reasons why you should Visit bana hill
- The view, if the weather is clear
- If you want to waste a day

Reasons not to visit it:
1. It is still under construction until 2013 (started in 2007!!!). I find this really really retarded, I saw pictures on the plasma screens and roads and everything seem al right. This just means that either they are very selective with how they choose to photograph this place or they built everything out of low quality materials.

2. The Hotel seems very disapointing, even though I didnt stay there i had a look around and it smelt of mold and was just gritty and unapealing.

3. It is a disapointment to the land it is built on. On the top of the hill there is a pagoda, and a giant budda statue (no idea if this is old). It has real opertunity for ecotourism and self sustainable tourism if you give it chance. maybe set out some trekking routes. even though there is a lack of animals it could be such a nice place for a 1-2 day trek...

I had such a bad experience there so there might be some bias to my story. Overall if you are short on time and heading between hue and hoi an just go straight past this place. Spend an extra day in hoi an, it is much more pleasant.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    5
    5
    17
See reviews for
5
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel was presentable, although as with many new developments in Vietnam, the finishing may not be high quality, but this didn't bother us and the room was fairly spacious, clean and had a large tv. In January, the mountain resort is covered in permanent fog - and so whereas the first half of cable car ride was astonishing, we were not able to see much during the latter half, which some might find uncomfortable. Also the resort was almost deserted, as it was only days before the Vietnamese New Year, which gave us the feeling of being there as nearly the only guests. However, this is probably due to be time of year, and I would definitely want to come back during the summer when there is a clear view of the mountain valley and when the pools are open.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We hired bungalows at the L'Indochine Hotel.

1. When checking in, they tried to rip us off. The deal was 5% off 1st night, 10% off the second night; free cable car to and from the resort. Only when we showed them printouts from their own website did they show signs of capitulating; even then they tried to say the offer had expired, so we fired up the laptop and showed them their live website! A terrible way to greet customers! I felt like leaving immediately, only I was with a group of friends; that is the ONLY reason why I persevered.

2. The cable car ride to the resort was stunning, and so too were the night views. This is where the experience ends. Repeat – this is where the experience ends.

3. All restaurants at the resort offer the same bland menu; service was shoddy as they only hire young, inexperienced staff.

4. The bungalows were located down a long path littered with many steep steps, very, very difficult to get luggage in and out.

5. Our room was equipped with two beds; neither of which has seen a change in sheets for some time, so bad the white sheets had turned grey. Furthermore, the beds were hard as concrete and one bed had the springing poking through. In the bathroom there was thread-bare towels in the bathroom; again they had turned grey, probably from lack of laundering. Also the shower over the bath lacked a shower curtain, as a result everything gets wet when taking a shower. When we complained to the management, they couldn’t care less. Our friends experience in other bungalows was identical.

6. Even though the buildings are not that old, everything about the resort is showing considerable signs of decay from a total lack of maintenance. Even the concrete foot paths are crumbling and timber planks on the suspension bridge are showing signs of rotting.

7. There is litter EVERYWHERE on the footpaths leading to other attractions, and these foot paths are also crumbling from shoddy construction and lack of maintenance.

8. There is a building site right next door. The advertising in Vietnam Airlines magazine stated grand opening in 2011, the on-site billboard states 2013, although the theme park under construction is partially open to the public. Again, there is rubbish everywhere on the building site, disposal is either through burning or burying so expect the delightful aroma of smoke come drifting through! And they start work really early – before 6am, so look forward to being rudely awoken in the morning. And they don’t finish work until really late, so don’t look forward to a full night’s sleep, that is, if you can tolerate the hard-as-concrete mattresses.

9. They are destroying the natural environment which is providing their income. Overall, a very disappointing experience, and if I could rate this place “zero-out-of-five”, I would do so. Recommend go for a cable car and enjoy the views early in the morning, stay until the evening to enjoy the night views and leave before the last cable car returns, and whatever you do, don’t stay at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The long cable car ride is stunning, and the cool mountain air a refreshing contrast to the heat of Da Nang. Be warned however, this resort is currently in a state of flux while a large castle (!) building is being constructed, destroying (yet again) Vietnam's past culture. After trying two rooms (in the Morin Hotel) we gave up and settled on the third. (Ordinarily we would have moved on but were with a group...) The bedding was not fresh, there was litter under the bed, and the floors grubby and bathroom yucky. The resort site generally is a chaotic mess, and the restaurant was a poor dining experience. Monkeys chased guests, and had the run of the hotel stairways, which they freely used as their toilet. Our simple advice would be enjoy the cable car ride, have a look around at the summit, enjoy the excellent view and the cool air, but then get straight back on the cable car and go stay somewhere else. The manager/director wasn't available to discuss matters - I left email and phone number, and a message that I would file a TripAdvisor report. After four days we still have no response, so I feel Ba Na management simply don't care...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I've never witnessed such a dirty repulsive location in all my life and i've travelled quite a lot. Feces (human) everywhere, to the point you have to watch where you walk, the stench of urine overpowers the whole area and rubbish covers the whole site, it's a real eye opener to say the least. DON'T DARE EAT THERE the cutlery is filthy and meals disgusting. We have traveled Vietnam extensively from Vung Tau to Sapa ..... twice and thought we'd scene it all in this beautiful country but this place is the most disgusting place i"ve ever witnessed and westerners beware, on this mound of filth YOUR NOT WANTED OR WELCOME ! stay right away from this one guys !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

View its great, buildings sucks! Our bathroom smelled soooooo bad! Place is full of garbage, food expensive, bed was horrible, 1/3 of the lights only worked in room. Garbage from construction gets dumpped behind buildings where visitors can't see. All monkeys and local wildlife are dead and created a fake water fall...that doesn't have water! It was difficult to take pictures without garbage in the background. They are destroying nature on a daily basis.HAD BETTER TIME AT A 20.00USD HOTEL IN HUE! Never again will I visit this place. I was not an ecofriendly type of person, but what they have done changed my mind.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Keeping on the positive, the cable car rides to get here should not be missed and the location is superb if you can ignore the adjacent colossal building site with attendant activity for a future magic mountain medieval castle and village.
Having run out of positives it is suffice to say there are clearly no effective cleaning, laundry and maintenance services. The new General Manager has his work cut out.
The beer was cheap, however, if you ask for more be prepared for 8 warm ones followed by 8 frozen ones but nothing beats the 2:45am random wake up call.
The escape cable car leaves early so you can avoid breakfast.
In summary AVOID.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort

Address: An Son Hamlet, Hoa Ninh Ward, Hoa Vang District, Da Nang 84-511, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Da Nang
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Truong Son mountain range 25 km to the SW of Da Nang at an altitude of 1487m and one hour by road from Da Nang lies the Bà Nà mountains. Its temperate climate, unspoiled forest, and spectacular views over the city of Da Nang's awe-inspiring bay and the Lao mountain range made Bà Nà a past popular place to retreat for the French. Today the area still attracts locals and tourists alike. YOUR ROAD TO HEAVENLY SCENERY… Sitting in the VIP cabin, mid air, looking upon the endless tree line of the forests, guests will be able to enjoy breathtaking views of the lush jungle and waterfalls along the way. Experiencing the pristine ecological system of the Bà Nà mountains will bring you a sense of unforeseeable discovery. Beginning its inaugural service this March 25th of 2009, the Bà Nà Cable Car carries guests to the mountain tops within minutes compared previously to almost an hour by road. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ba Na Hills Mountain Hotel Da Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ba Na Hills Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.