We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place... Bed bugs and rude staff!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Hotel

Prince Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Nang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Hotel
60 Tran Phu Street, Da Nang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 114 hotels in Da Nang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this place... Bed bugs and rude staff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there because it was "specially recommended" by lonely planet, but I think we will never follow their suggestions again.
The staff was not helpfull at all and their attitude was very rude.
The room is normal for the price, but we woke up with several strange bites and we found bed bugs, disgusting!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    9
    10
See reviews for
1
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here as recommended in Lonely Planet.

Never again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

There isn't one positive thing I can say about thus hotel! Staff are dodgy, rooms filthy & smelly! We didn't get the room paid for & then got into an argument when we brought it up with the 'manager'. We didn't even stay one night. We ended up going to the hotel next door (can't remember name) which was much better. I would not trust any good reviews of this hotel as I would be pretty certain they are either paid for or staff have done them. Don't stay here, whatever you do!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is almost nothing positive that we can say about this hotel. We stayed there in late October 2011, and at that time, neither of the receptionists spoke very good English. The room was quite musty, the towels and sheets were stained/dirty, the floor mat to the bathroom was filthy, and there was a large, dead cockroach in the middle of the floor when we walked into the room.

When we asked if we could get a street map of Danang, we were told by the Manager - "you just go out into the street"!! Great service - not!! In fact, the Manager seemed to place a much higher priority on spending his time talking to (presumably) his friends, either in the lobby or out the front on the street, than providing a service the hotel's guests - of which we think we were the only one's at the time!!

Needless to say, we checked out the next morning, and moved on.

The Internet access was very, very slow, and kept "dropping out".

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, the rooms at the back are away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The rooms are clean, but overpriced. The staff are incredibly rude and completely unhelpful! When you ask for how much you should be paying for bus fares etc, we were told that the local buses have recently massively raised their fares (which wasn't true), so you must take their bus tour or hire their driver, which seemed excessive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011 via mobile

We probably paid more than we should at this hotel, as the guidebook said it was up to $25 but when we got there they said that because we hadn't pre booked they would charge us $30. I think it was quite overpriced as they didn't provide breakfast and we had a big room but it had no window!

I have to mention the that the lady on the reception was most unhelpful and pretty rude to us. I think she needs to learn some customer service!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Wow. May be the last time I use Lonely Planet for anything. My brother and I were on our way to Hoi An but got in late and decided to stay in Da Nang. Prince Hotel? Why not? Now we're asking ourselves, "WHYYYYYYY?" The creepy night manager showed us to our room and, within 3 minutes, was offering to hook us up with a prostitute with "big coconuts." Seriously. It was like out of a Vietnam War movie. "#1 boom-boom" was another quote of the night. He also offered us a bus ticket for a "good price" (100,000 VND) to get to Hoi An the next day. We said we'd look around and, after some time, finally got him to leave us alone and leave the room.

The next morning at 7:00, he called us up in our room, waking us up, to tell us he had booked the ticket for us and it was all ready to go. "NO!" and just hung up. That seemed like the most effective method of dealing with this particular man. We decided to leave immediately and figured out the rest on our own but, before we left, we had to pass through the gauntlet of tours that hang out right outside the entrance. Probably friends of the night manager.

There is a local bus that runs from Da Nang to Hoi An which operates just a couple blocks down from the Prince on the second street inland from the water (not the beach) and it only costs 30,000 VND. If I saw correctly they were charging the locals 10k but we didn't care at that point.

On the only positive note, the shower at the Prince is SUPER cool! It feels like you're taking a shower in a space ship from the future.

Like I said, great story to take home with us but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay. But if you want "#1 boom-boom," the Prince is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hotel

Address: 60 Tran Phu Street, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 114 hotels in Da Nang
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Da Nang
Da Nang Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prince Hotel to your Saves list