We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to think about!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cao Dai Temple

Cao Dai Temple
Long Thanh Bac Commune | Hoa Thanh District, Tay Ninh, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Cao Dai Temple like an insider
Private Tour
$56*
and up
Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple...
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Tay Ninh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something to think about!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Three religions in one? Would perhaps like to immerse myself and observe their way of life in their community.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    301
    180
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cao Dai a fascinating religious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was unaware of the Cao Dai religion until we arrived at the temple during our recent visit to Vietnam. What an amazing experience it was to be allowed to watch the service take place from the 2nd floor balcony. We were on the same level as the musicians and the women whose mantra like singing was calming as well as pleasant o listen too. From our vantage point we were able to observe the entire gathering and watched with interest the roles being played by the various members of the temple. The temple itself is a fascinating mix of styles, colour a symolism. The adjacent community within the complex is interesting and the town outside the fence offers a number of cafes with good local food. For those interested in the various religious practices around the world the temple at Tay Ninh is certainly worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most colourful church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Coa Dai temple really is worth a visit. Not only do they have 3 million followers, it is also the most colourful religion I know of. A combination of Buddism, Taoism and Confusionism, this religion is very tolerant but also stand for its visions. For example they refused to take part in the Vietnam war, because they believe one should not kill, not even the enemy. Their churches are very colourfull and full of phantasy. Try to visit whenever a service is going on. Services are charcteristically four times a day, at 6, 12, 18 and 24 hrs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cao Dai Temple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Colorful decorative/ornate temple with hundreds of white-robed worshipers going inside to pray (only open to the public certain times and days) for a little over an hour. Various colored robes of the leaders stand out as they pray. You can take photos from the balcony and exit at any time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place, quiet far from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's 3 hours drive from HCMC. Better arrive during the noon pray (40-60 minutes). You can enter to the hall, to the second floor. You can see the band there, and watch the pray of ~400 monks (with different colours, most of them dreesed in white clothes), sitting on the floor of the temple. After the pray all the monks leave the place, and you can meet them ourstide. Most of them live at the area,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cao Dai Temple also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cao Dai Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cao Dai Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.