We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Betel Garden Homestay - Villa to your Saves list
Betel Garden Homestay - Villa
161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Fort Lauderdale FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We tried to book a villa with Betel during our previous trips to Hoi An but they were always sold out. This time we hit the jackpot. The staff truly treats guests as if we are staying in their homes. They even threw a party for all the guests and treated us to a meal as good as many we've paid for. We don't usually mingle with other guests at hotels, but the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of this place encouraged us to get to know fellow travelers. The breakfast is delicious (no buffet -- order from a menu), the rooms are clean, well-decorated, and spacious, and the pool and foliage are lovely. Book this place early, and you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    111
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
130
295
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and regret that we did not stay longer in this lovely green little haven. We had the villa which was spacious with a lovely firm bed. We tried breakfast, lunch and dinner which were all good meals at good prices.The pool is delightful on a warm day and the welcoming complementary dinner is a great way to foster interaction between guests. We used the bicycles (free) and the scooter ($8 for the day) to explore the town and beach. The staff are friendly and very obliging which gives the whole place a warm atmosphere. We can recommend Betel as great value for money.

Room Tip: Bungalow is spacious with a large bathroom and no adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. Located in the neighbouring village to Hoi An this gem of a hotel is absolutely beautiful. A small cluster of villas set in a tropical garden and away from the big crowds of Hoi An, this hotel is where you must stay if you want to relax in peace and quiet but be within an easy 10 minute bike ride of the hustle and bustle of Hoi An. Our room was large, extremely clean with fresh fruit brought every morning. We had a large mosquito net hung from the ceiling over our bed which worked a treat. The bed was comfortable and we slept really well despite the noisy air conditioner unit. The large bathroom had a bath and separate shower. The water pressure was quite weak in the shower but it didn't bother us too much. The staff were extremely polite and friendly addressing us by our first names throughout our stay and would literally go out of there way to help us with whatever we needed. On the first night they reopened the kitchen at nine thirty in the evening because we hadn't eaten dinner yet and the food was fantastic. The included breakfast was also very good. We had a bottle of wine that was foul tasting and after we told them. the staff informed the owner in the middle of the night and she met us the next day and offered not to charge us for it (something I have learnt not to expect in Vietnam). There are free bikes to hire that make getting in and out of Hoi An a breeze. The environment you stay in at this place (which is more hotel than homestay in my opinion) is so tranquil and peaceful. If you want a few days to relax in the middle of a busy trip through this amazing country then this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was great and the plants/flowers around the homestay were beautiful. The highlight of our stay was the swimming pool - definitely appreciated after a day of sightseeing in the heat. It's a bit of a walk to Hoi An centre, but the pool made up for that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

TA had left us with high expectations. Sadly they were not fully met. (But maybe that's not really the people at Betel Garden's fault... )

We had a bungalow, which was spacious enough but getting old and worn. Bathroom also big, with both shower and bathtub. However water pressure is very weak, and the bathroom a bit old and gloomy. 

The nicest feature of this hotel is surely it's garden and pool. There is plenty of trees, plants and flowers everywhere and caged birds signing beautifully. A really nice place to relax.

We especially liked: 
- very friendly staff that seem eager to really take care of you
- nice pool and garden
- cheap minibar in the room
- always fresh flowers and fruit in the room
- invitation to (free) welcome/family dinner 
- the relaxed and quiet atmosphere

We were a bit dissapointed with: 
- drinking water was only complimentary on the first day
- (restaurant) staff were sometimes difficult to find and always forgot something we ordered (one feels rather stupid always having to remind or ask again)
- bathroom towels had seen their peak period

All in all a very good place to stay in Hoi An, but not excellent in every way.

Be aware that it's a bit outside town, 20 min walk, 10 min bike or 5 min taxi. We didn't try the bikes however - how we would have loved if they had a baby/child seat! 

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Betel Garden offers a unique experience compared to a traditional hotel. The rooms are reached by path through beautifully maintained gardens. We stayed four nights and were invited to the family dinner. It was a nice opportunity to meet some of the other guests and enjoy a well prepared meal. The breakfast is excellent and made to order from a large selection.

The rooms are spacious but could use updating. In particular the bathroom. However, this was outweighed by the location, free bikes, easy walk to town, short ride to the beach, a well maintained pool, the gardens and an attentive staff that was accessible, helpful and interested in making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our family stayed here for four nights and what a wonderful experience. The accommodation is spacious and well set up, we had adjoining rooms for my husband and I and our teenage daughter, perfect. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful and the family dinner which is put on for free is a fantastic way to meet other travellers. Tuon is a fantastic host who remembers everyone's name and is very helpful. Easy walk in to the town centre or borrow one of the bikes (for free). Can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Betel Garden Homestay - Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Betel Garden Homestay - Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betel Garden Homestay - Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.