We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Paradise in Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Save Saved
You added Betel Garden Homestay - Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Betel Garden Homestay - Villa
161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Frankston, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Garden Paradise in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I simply loved Betel Garden Homestay.
Right from check in, where we were sat down with amazing fresh passionfruit juice & "Tuan" (the main guy at reception - talk about service with a smile! He really is an exceptional man, such an asset to this place!) went over everything we needed to know about the place.
We had a room with 2 Queen sized beds for myself, my husband and our two daughters, 13 & 20 years. It was such a lovely room. Very comfortable beds & we had massages as well as manicures/pedicures (very cheap) in re room which were great.
When I booked I was a little upset that the villas were all booked out but the room we had was perfect...I really don't think there's any need to go for a villa, unless you're a big group of singles or you particularly need a seperate sitting area?
The pool was lovely. & very clean. The restaurant had great brekky and the other meals we ate there were all good too.
A highlight for us were the pushbikes you can ride into town for free. They were a heap of fun for us...we certainly got a lot of use out of them.
The ONLY downside was this: we had $50 go missing from our room one day. It was definitely there before we left to go downtown and not there when we arrived back after they had cleaned the room....but I don't feel that I can give them a negative review for this as it could have just been a dishonest cleaner...plus, I didn't have it in the safe as they recommend. We brought this up with them & they "asked all the cleaners"...but of course nothing was found...
We loved the fact that we were a km or two out of town too - the ride into town was really lovely and Betel was so peaceful, being just that little bit away from everyone.
Another lovely staff member was "Hien" (spelling?).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    105
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
126
275
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The grounds of the Betel Garden Homestay are beautiful, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the staff very welcoming and helpful. When we were checking in, we were advised that the homestay would provide a free dinner that evening for the newly-arrived guests. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed, as I'd heard so much about the fabulous food in Hoi An, and I didn't want to waste one of our evenings on a hotel meal. I needn't have worried - the food was great. (Only in Hoi An - foodie's paradise - would the food served by a mid-priced hotel be memorable.)

Our children enjoyed the swimming pool. The breakfasts were very good - only wish I'd realised earlier how good the muesli was!

We appreciated the fact that nothing was any problem for the staff. For instance, after we all went mad at the tailors' shops, we had to quickly arrange to send a couple of big parcels home. The hotel organised for the chap from the postal service to come to our rooms to pack the clothes and help us with the form-filling. (And the box we sent airmail was waiting for us when we got home, about 16 days later.)

The Homestay is located a short drive from the centre of town. Taxis are so cheap that this was never a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

4 older New Zealanders chose to go here rather than the beach resort picked by our travel agent. Very friendly and helpful staff, food great, lovely swimming pool, surrounding garden ideal and not too far to walk to town. As this was in the midst of a residential area there was a degree of noise which disturbed the sleep but part of living in that situation--eg dogs barking a lot in the night, cockerels crowing from the very early hours and builders working on the house opposite from 7am. Loved the free meal provided one night so guests and staff could get to know each other a wee it.Laundry could not be done in the room but a very cheap(cost by weight not per item) and fast service provided. Was a great choice although a few pointers would help make it even better.
My bathroom had a locked partially glass(frosted) connecting door through to what seemed to be the family quarters so a bit disconcerting to see a light on in the bathroom when not in use by me or my husband. Suggest putting some kind of blackout curtain up on the glass of that door.
Need to be a bit more consistent when doing the rooms--eg first night no spare toilet roll, rest of the time--3 more nights-- flask of hot water for making tea was not replaced and there was not a kettle/jug provided to boil our own water. There was also a bit of confusion re the drinking water--we assumed, as had been the case every where else we went, that the bottled water was complementary but on checking out saw it was on the bill.The fruit provided was free.
Despite the points made above we all loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone wanting away from the more sterile large hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the one with the connecting door through to the family area unless the problem of the glass do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We liked the grounds, the free use of bikes (not in the best condition), the helpful staff, the family dinner, the breakfasts

The location is good, but a bit out of town. Taxis were inexpensive and readily availabale. Room servicing was spotty unless you asked

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Together with our friends, we spent six nights at this beautiful little oasis just outside the old town. We wnated to stay here 2 years earlier but there was no vacancy, so were determined to get in this trip.....and we were not sorry. From the moment we arrived on New Years Eve to the moment we left, we were welcomed and looked after as family. We spent a very special NY Eve with other guests, staff and their families with complimentary dinner and drinks, Karaoke and games! What a night. We were all given an arrangement of flowers the next morning for 'Happy New Year'. Breakfasts were hearty and staff always knew your name and what you had previously ordered. There was complimentary water and fruit platters daily. Dong, Tuan, Vang and Hien, ?Le and all her staff (Gardener and security guys) are the best you will find. Nothing is too much trouble. The villas have everything you need and our serviced daily. If I had to find fault, it would be that beds are a little hard for our liking, but this would not deter me from staying here again and again. The gardens are beautifully kept and there is a lovely pool area (bit cold for us). Thanks to Marianne and Perre (Swedish guests) they showed us the quiet way into town on the bicycles via the river. A short ride out the front gate direct to the quay, and then we rode along quietly beside the river to town each and every day. It was a lovely ride, and we felt a ltitle part of the neighbourhood of sorts. On our last day we were offered a complimentary river cruise, which was an unexpected delight. Betel Garden really is the most beautiful setting and with only small number of rooms, you will get to meet and swap notes with fellow guests. Be sure to book early.....and enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Agree with the reviews, this is a great place and great value. Situated an easy 15min walk outside of Hoi An the Betel Garden Homestay is the ideal place to chill out. This is an opportunity to experience the culture and village life. Take the time to walk around the streets, have a coffee or beer in the local bars. Borrow a bicycle and ride the 2kms to the beach. If you go early in the morning you should miss the traffic and ox. Take timeout for a massage in your room. The dinner here with the other guests and family last night was wonderful. Thank you again to our wonderful hosts for such a restful and peaceful stay.
Alyssa and Ken

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of 5, including 3 young kids, had a wonderful stay at the Betel Garden. We booked late at a busy time, so weren't able to get a family or connecting rooms. So we had a double downstairs and a triple upstairs, which was still good value. The staff are lovely and just great with the kids. Small but beautiful pool, lovely gardens for leisurely breakfasts, and lots of bonuses like free bikes, fruit and wifi. The location is walking distance to town, but probably a bit too far for young kids in the heat. But transport is cheap and easy. It's also an easy bike ride to town along the riverfront bike path (much quieter and safer than the main roads).

The charming hosts put on a lovely Vietnamese dinner for all the guests one night. We all shared one big table and it was a generous and charming way to get to know our hosts and other guests. The food was delicious too.

We would have loved to stay longer but we moved to stay with friends as Betel Garden was booked out. I accidentally left my credit card at reception on check-out, and the hotel staff tracked down our friends to make sure it was returned safely to me. Great service!

This is not the place to stay if you want to be right in town with cafes and shopping at your doorstep. But if you want a lovely oasis with charming hospitality within easy reach of town and beach, Betel Garden is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betel Garden Homestay - Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Betel Garden Homestay - Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betel Garden Homestay - Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.