We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Betel Garden Homestay - Villa to your Saves list
Betel Garden Homestay - Villa
161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only left Betel Garden this morning and already we miss it. It has been our favorite accommodation so far on our trip to Vietnam and would highly recommend it to all our friends and family. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The meals the best and cheapest we have has so far. The food was very fresh and tasty. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The swimming pool very welcoming after a hot days shopping.
Betel Garden is a pleasant 15 mins walk into town and we always felt safe wherever we went. Hoi An in general is an amazing place. We will definitely be back and we will be staying at Betel Garden home stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    112
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
130
297
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This past July my wife and I stayed at this home-stay for six days. It was undoubtedly one of the highlights of our trip to Viet Nam. The entire staff of Vuon Trau were friendly, kind and courteous. The rooms are quite spacious and meticulously kept. The food was definitely a high point. We never had a meal we didn't like - the food was delicious and the service friendly! Airport pick-up and drop-off were easily arranged (as were the flights themselves). We were looking for a tailor in Hoi An and they recommended us one that we were quite satisfied with. Overall, it was great to be a little outside the hustle and bustle of Hoi An (15min walk) in a quiet oasis of lush vegetation after a long day touring/shopping et cetera.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are large and individually spaced apart in a lovely garden. The bed was comfy with a good net and the ensuite bathroom OK. The hosts are professional, very used to dealing with tourists and very friendly and hospitable.They invited us to a delicious dinner with them one night. This was a lovely thought and gave us a chance to meet the other people staying. I really enjoyed it here and I'd recommend it, but be aware it's a short taxi ride out of town (too far to walk in the sun). You will be able to find slightly cheaper places in town. Breakfast is very good here too. They offer trips, but they looked like you were just subcontracted out to larger operators. The trips we did were fine, but again, you may be able to find cheaper in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is basically a hotel rather than a homestay but the staff were extra friendly. The rooms were dated but perfectly clean and adequate with air-con, tv, internet etc. It also had a better swimming pool than we were expecting which was a bonus. However it was slightly more out of town than we were expecting, about a 15minute walk which can be a bit scary at night as the homestay is off the beaten track however they provide free bikes which we used to ride to the beach one day. The breakfast was ok but nothing special and the airport pick up from Danang was overpriced. We also asked them to book us tickets for a bus to Hue which they said would be non-stop and for tourists but it was actually a bus for locals that had lots of stops and was dirty and hot - not worth the money we paid for the tickets!
Overall, a nice place to stay however you may consider somewhere closer to the town. We absolutely loved Hoi An, it is beautiful at night with lanterns and great restaurants, we also got some great tailoring made in less than 24hours!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Betel Garden Homestay for 4 nights in July, and we found it to be one of the best hotel experiences ever. Tuan, Dong, Vang and Hien were the most hospitible and cheery bunch of hotel staff we've ever met. From the moment of arrival, we felt like we were staying with family; the staff all spent so much time getting to know us and we were privilidged to also be able to get to know them.

Our first experience with the homestay was Vang's helpfulness over email helping us to organise suitable accommodation for our whole family which required 4 rooms and had to accommodate 3 children from a small baby to 7 year olds. Arrangements were also made for airport collection and also a car to Hue at the end of our trip for very reasonable prices.

On arrival, Tuan and Hien were standing right in front of the car door as it opening with huge smiles and delicious passionfruit juice to greet us and get us inducted to the homestay.

The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, well-appointed and, while a bit chintsy and twee for my normal taste, suit the image of the homestay. The rooms are quite dark and while I would normally complain about this, it kept them cool and was also useful for getting our baby to sleep for her midday naps. And because the homestay is very sociable, we spent most of our time on our front porch, in the garden, in their restaurant, and in their pool anyway rather than in our rooms.

The new swimming pool (completed only 2 weeks before we arrived) was an added bonus, especially for the kids. While the water is a bit bath-like in terms of temperature (I prefer my pool water a little cooler, especially in the summer temperatures of Vietnam), the location of the pool means that it is in the shade and so is a great place to hang out with the kids and babies without risk of burning and overheating.

The food at the homestay is delicious, authentic, and has all the regional specialities. Breakfast was made to order and is included in the room rate. The only minor complaint was, because of the style of coffee-making in Vietnam (ie slow drip), it often arrived warm at best and required a bit of a microwave to get it hot again. We were fortunate enough to be invited by the owner of the homestay for a free dinner with her, the staff and the other guests who were also staying for a minimum of 3 nights (the requirement to be invited to the free dinner). It was a wonderful event, with over 20 people chatting in to the wee hours.

As I already mentioned, we had a young baby with us (8.5 months old). She immediately warmed to the staff at the homestay, who frequently took her on walks around the garden and played with her at their own will. We felt so comfortable with the staff that they offered to do a couple of nights baby sitting while we went to a couple of restaurants in the evening after our baby went to sleep. They were extremely loving and responsible and let us know when she had woken up (she had a slight cold while we were there and so wasn't sleeping well) so we could come home. When we got back to the homestay, she was sitting smiling with all the staff in the reception area. She was well taken care of.

When we left, I am not embarrassed to say that the entire family of 8 were all a bit teary as we drove away. We miss Betel Garden Homestay and we will definitely be back. I fortunately live in Saigon so it is just a short flight away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here for 15 nights in July and it was amazing. The staff (Mrs Le, Ms Vang, Ms Hien, Mr Tuan, Mr Dong) treated us like their own family members. Nothing was too much.

The gardens were very peaceful and welcoming. The restuarant food was very tasty and reasonably priced. We ended up eating here half the time. The two free family dinners that we attended were a chance to meet all other guests and to talk with the staff and family in a comfortable setting.

The rooms / bungalows (only eight) are all comfortable and roomy with fresh fruit provided daily.

The free push bikes come in handy to get to the beach and into town.

Nothing was too much for the staff and they arranged a river cruise, cooking lessons and motor bike hire for us at more than reasonable prices.

We look forward to returning to Betel Garden Homestay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We spent over three weeks at the Betel Garden Homestay and loved every minute of it. The staff is so caring and thoughtful. The facility is absolutely beautiful, especially the new swimming pool. The food is excellent and very convenient. The staff can arrange car rental and other service on short notice. They can get a much better price than you can get on your own - because they do repeat business with the drivers, vendors, etc. Betel Garden takes all of the stress out of staying in Vietnam - and lets you enjoy the wonderful foods and sights of Hoi An. It is a little outside the city, and you do get some local noise, but that really is part of the appeal of charm of the place. It is the caring owners and staff that really make Betel Garden Homestay so special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betel Garden Homestay - Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betel Garden Homestay - Villa

Address: 161 Tran Nhan Tong St.. | Cam Chau Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Betel Garden Homestay - Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betel Garden Homestay Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betel Garden Homestay - Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.